3.3

Created with Sketch.
33 reviews
61%
would repurchase
3.5/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


3.0
Created with Sketch.

6 months ago

It took me very long to recognize this as a rose scent. I generally have difficulty picking up rose as rose in perfumes, but this one was more like a dusty powdery scent with discernible pepper. Pretty close to the old lipstick smell that some reviews mention. It wasn't bad, and I don't mind powdery scents, it's just that this felt like an abandoned, cluttered, dusty and musty old house. Doesn't smell like one, but there's that feeling of stale and dusty, to me anyway. The pepper note is quite nice, not very sharp and not hot. After a good while, I started to perceive it as mostly rose and pepper. I like the simple bottle. It isn't unwearable or horrible. I think I just expected more, so I won't purchase. A bit pricy for a pretty unremarkable scent.

About reviewer (82 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinVery Dry, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel



4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

First off: I don't think this is a scent for summer, warm weather or a warm climate - it's quite a powdery, warm scent, which I think smells cloying is such an environment. Also, I don't think this develops well in warm weather - it smells quite boring then. For me, this is definitely an autumn-scent. I would describe this as a powdery scent with a flowery-fruity base. I can't say I've had any other perfumes that combined powder and plants in this way. The iris and rose creates an old-school lipstick smell - I love that! This is also the smell that has the longest silage in this. However, close o the skin, this smells fresh and fruity: almost like a citrus and dried peach. The vanilla, patchouli, wood and moss add a lot of warmth and depth to this. I have skin that makes everything much more sweet than on other people, which I often find to be a problem. This smells sweet on me, but not overly gourmand, which I enjoy. I also like that this has a freshness that goes so well with the sweetness.

About reviewer (567 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

I got this as a gift for my birthday in 2013 and I instantly fell in love with it! This is my absolute favorite perfume ever. I would describe it as dark with a little touch of powdery sweet in it. It is strong and distinctive, but not invasive (like Kenzo Jungle) it has persistence and it evolves very nice on my skin. Although I am deeply in love with, I find it a bit too heavy for summer.

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBlack


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

To me, this has the smell of expensive make up... I love it :-)... it is a little bit of a powdery smell, but I think that makes it fresh. I love :-)

About reviewer (127 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Kinky, Fine

EyesGreen


2.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I generally like Givenchy fragrances and have been wearing them for quite some time. I don't particularly like this one, but don't hate it either. The issue was more it isn't my style. This is more of a classic, old-Hollywood, feminine, rose-y scent. Think Chanel No 5, except this fragrance is much newer. The packaging is very nice, but the product itself is a bit expensive compared to this brand's other perfumes. Nice scent, wouldn't throw it out or give it away, but definitely a little too powder-y, not subtle or sexy enough for my taste. Try this if you enjoy a traditional, classic and mature fragrance.

About reviewer (286 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairRed, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


2.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

Why anybody would want to smell like baby powder for the price of this is beyond me. I love the packaging, the name, the colour, longevity, basically everything but the smell. Weirdly enough the baby powder smell wasnt as obvious in store but that may be due to smelling other fragrances. Supposed to be a powdery rose smell, my mum has tried every rose smell under the sun but the powdery smell overpowers any rose in this one. You either hate it or love it. Smells ok on clothes because the smell is clean. Love givenchy wanted to love this, sadly I cannot.

About reviewer (78 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

HairBlond, Other, Other

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

Givenchy Dahlia Noir EDP has somewhat startled me. Thrown me back into the past. A friend of mine gave me a few of her samples (as she doesn't care for powdery scents) and I've used it twice - I just ordered a large bottle. For some reason, this scent reminds me of when I was a 10 year old little girl and my very wealthy aunt would pick me up in her brand new BMW for a day of shopping. I could smell the new car scent (new leather), along with the spearmint gum she always chewed, and the opened bottle of Perrier sparkling mineral water that forever sat in the cup holder. My family had little money, but being with my aunt, smelling my aunt, I felt rich just being near her. I yearned to smell like her one day. That's how this perfume makes me feel. It's just lovely. I can't see this ever being offensive to anyone. It may not work with ones body chemistry, but I can't see if offending from a distance. It's the ultimate daytime office perfume that is soft, but will definitely get you noticed. I do get a bit of the powder but I've smelled far stronger before. It's a fluffy, breezy, soft powdered sugar, not baby powder, in my opinion. If you're looking for baby powder in a bottle or have never truly smelled it before, try Lolita Lempicka Lolita Lempicka.

About reviewer (33 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel


2.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

Has a really old-school vibe, and I'm having flashes of Old Hollywood actresses -- esp Audrey Hepburn, because of the L'Interdit which was made for her and was quite powdery (I had it once) -- and it was also made by Givenchy. Yes, this does have a baby powder quality in the drydown, as so many have said -- but the scent itself -- at first -- smells to me almost like black cherry. It's a bit medicinal, or wine-like (fermented), and fairly strong, if not sprayed with care. Lasts very well. I checked the note list, and there is nothing to reflect black cherry, but that's how it strikes me -- it may be just the way the notes combine (mandarin w/ patchouli?) Here are its notes, per parfumo.net: Top Notes: Mandarin, Mimosa, Pink pepper Heart Notes: Iris, Patchouli, Rose Base Notes: Sandalwood, Tonka bean, Vanilla Notes, per Sephora.com: Pink Pepper, Mandarin, Cedrat, Rose, Peach, Cedarwood, Sandalwood, Vanilla, Amber. Strong & a bit dark & wine-like at the top -- then it turns baby powdery in the drydown. It smells Old Hollywoood and therefore "mature" to me. If they were trying for a 40's or 50's retro, I think they achieved it. To my nose, it dries down to a sweet pretty smoky black-cherryish baby powder scent -- and that smoky dark-fruity note gives it a subtle sultriness underneath the sweet baby powder. It's growing on me -- I'm actually finding myself craving it at times. PS -- I later bought the EDT version, and it's missing that dark "black cherry-ish" vibe I got from EDP. I find the EDT to be nicer and more wearable.

About reviewer (285 reviews)

Age

SkinNormal, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I have been wearing Burberry Brit Sheer exclusively for 10 years. My husband got me Dahlia Noir for xmas and I was really surprised by how much I loved it. It's strong yet mellow at the same time. I wonder if it comes in a rollerball so I can throw one in my car...

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Olive

HairBrown

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I really wanted to like this perfume. I read about this in Vogue Paris a long time ago and it really sounded like it would be a "different" and "cutting-edge" perfume. I have been on the hunt for a unique perfume for the longest time, you see. Well, it fell short in real life. It was a dusty pale rose scent which had a very powdery texture to it. It's not bad but it's not as special as I was expecting it to be. The Angel & Demons scents were definitely much more unique but I didn't like it so much. I couldn't imagine myself wearing this perfume so I never bought it in the end. Such a pity though, i loved the name and the idea of it.

About reviewer (19 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesBrown