4.2

Created with Sketch.
67 reviews
85%
would repurchase
4.2/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Where have you been all my life! I can't afford microblading, and anyway I like the control and ritual of doing my brows, and this is pretty much the perfect tool. One can draw perfect tiny hairs with a flick of the wrist, and more controlled strokes for targeted placement. It's also (importantly) a liquid product that is buildable; even some cream and gel brow products pick themselves up on the brush after a few strokes. This liquid pen starts a little sheer (I use the darkest shade) and the first application is enough for realistic opacity. For darker hairs it is easy to layer and build, which was surprising! Fair warning, the liquid retains a bit of shine. Some YouTubers noted that this may hinder flash photography. IRL, it's barely noticeable, but if you must, I powder down with a similar colored shadow. I have not experienced any premature drying of the pen, or hinting at a short lifespan despite the small product amount. Even when left in hot cars the brush tip hasn't started drying or skipping. There may be a tiny (pinhead amount) of buildup after regular use, but it doesn't get in the way of application. If you encounter this, just slide off with a sharp tweezer or a pin. Other than that the brush tip is minuscule and perfect. For anyone wondering, compared to the felt-tip liquid liner (the actual liner for eyes and not brows) it is more sheer and buildable, which I think is the point, but most importantly you get more product for the same price.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Tan, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I had to make an account just so I could review this! I'm very new to the world of eyebrow pencils, crayons, gels, etc., etc. I decided to purchase this product after reading these reviews because it was readily available at my local Shoppers Drug Mart. And holy cow.. I'm blown away. These ease of use, the precision, the colour, and how incredibly natural it looks. I'm sold, for life. I can't imagine their is a product out there that is easier with the same flawless results, plus long lasting colour(which I haven't really tested out yet). I have medium brown eyebrows with a cool undertone, I bought this in medium. It is a very faint cool brown colour, but it's just enough to make my eyebrows look perfectly natural every time!

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinNormal, Olive, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

When they say waterproof, they mean waterproof. I can actually blot my oily/sweaty brows and it doesn't budge. Light is the perfect color for my ashy blonde hair. (Not sure why the other light one is called Light Ash, as it's more golden/reddish. I think of "ashy" as greyish and Light is definitely more greyish than Light Ash.) My one complaint is that I've used it for a week and it already seems to be drying out. The cap snaps tightly so make sure you hear an audible SNAP when you recap it. It's possible I didn't recap correctly the first few days.

About reviewer (32 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOther, Other, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I have backups of this brow pen at all times. I have tried everything out there for brows. I have dark brows and brunette hair. As I age and my brows have thinned, the darker shades we’re looking heavy and unnatural. In comes this blind but to save the day! I got the medium shade which when I first opened I thought was a huge mistake as it looks so light. However, this perfectly fills in sparse areas particularly my tails which have the typical issues associated with a lifetime of Thyroid issues, thinned out immensely! I do put Benefit Gimme Brow in my brows after this for a bit of hold and thickening but this pen fills in my brows naturally and perfect for those of us who fing the IG Brows to be aging or too much effort. Highly recommend. I’ve not texted this in the gym or swimming but it’s winter here, rain and snow and it’s never ran or smudged. Highly recommend if you want a natural way to fill in sparse areas in brows.

About reviewer (21 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinVery Dry, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Curly, Coarse

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I have pretty thick eyebrows with some pretty extreme sparse spots from past illness and eyebrow abuse over the years. I am also microbladed. However, as amazing as microblading is (life changing when done right), it isn't perfect, it doesn't always fade evenly, or start perfectly even (because you're brows are perfect and not identical to begin with), or look like the brow definition you want when you want to be extra polished and made up (although, they look amazing for everyday with nothing but a brush through). This product allows me to literally create a few extra lines and even out where my microblading or eyebrow hairs aren't exactly what I want/need them to be. And, it doesn't budge or smudge! I love this! I used to used Stila's eyeliner of the same name for this purpose (I didn't know this existed yet), but this is even thinner and more precise. It looks like I just got a microblading touch-up every time I apply it (which means, virtually undetectable and natural). LOVE! ❤️❤️❤️

About reviewer (269 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Olive, Warm

HairBrown, Kinky, Medium

EyesBlack


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I picked this up because I needed something to help me extend my brows slightly and pencil and pomade just weren't cutting it. My brow tails are so thin most products didn't look natural. I picked this up in Light. I wasn't sure it would work at first because the first swatch was so sheer. However, it is buildable so this actually can be an asset to some. You can get a very sheer, light colour if needed. It can however, be a little tedious when filling in some spots. I really only noticed the sheerness with lighter shades. This product LASTS. The swatch on the back of my hand lasted an entire day. It does have a little bit of a shine to it but it's nothing anyone would notice. It's perfect for fine, precise work and it doesn't budge. The tails of my brows look natural and they don't smear off part way through the day like pencil did. If you want a very precise brow, a more natural look or want to draw in individual hairs, this is the product for you.

About reviewer (25 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I have finally found my HG brow product!!!! All hail. Seriously though, this is amazing stuff. I have naturally thick, brunnette coloured brows that are sparse in some areas. The shade in dark was perfect. When I was swatching I tried roughly rubbing it off, it only faded a tiny bit, so that's wonderful. The applicator is something I haven't seen before. It's something to get used to, but im willing to practice. It kind of forces you to use a light hand to apply because it's a very flexible wand. I love this more than any pencil I've tried or even my trusty Brow Extender II, because it looks SO natural, with amazing colour payoff. I used to get my brows tinted, but this product actually makes them look like they already are. One extra thing I do is brush them out right after application (this dries fast) especially at the inner brow, just to blend it out more naturally and because Im a bit sparse in that area, so any mistakes I make with it are noticeable. I'm so happy I picked this up! Honestly for the performance you can't go wrong with the price either.

About reviewer (9 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I have tried this product in two colors: medium and dark. Medium was too light for me and I bought it because it looked darker on the website. Dark, however, is the right color. This is a great product for filling in, although it is not the product to use if your want your thin, sparse eyebrows (like mine) to look thick. Because the tip is great for precision and it good for filling in, I use the product with in combination with others. It has a pretty natural look and I have found it pretty waterproof. It has held up against sweat and humidity and sleep. If you shower with it on the outline will remain, but it will mostly come off. The good news is that if you are exposed in the rain it should last. Many reviews have complained that the product dried out quickly, but I found the opposite to be true: With extensive every day use on my thin, sparse brows and without the combination with other products, this thin brow pen lasted me several months! It costs $21 from Stila and I would recommend it.

About reviewer (334 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Fair, Cool

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


3.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I really loved this at first... but after only a few uses it was already completely dried out. Not worth it, although it did give a great natural looking brow during the time it was still usable. Not for someone wanting a crisp, "instagram" brow.

About reviewer (52 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Olive, Warm

HairBlack, Curly, Medium

EyesBlack


2.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

This is my fourth eyebrow liquid pen experience (tried Suqqu, Maikohan, and Excel from Noevir) and I`m not impressed. At first I was happy to see that I don`t have to blow 4000JPY every time I need an eyebrow pen (talking about Suqqu), but Stila`s just don`t cut it for me. I use the medium stain and while I do find it waterproof (it lasts all day on me in a hot & humid environment plus a gym workout) and the color is a good match for me, that`s where all the good points end. I don`t think the tip of the marker is fine enough for drawing hairs and the product is drying up really quickly in the tube so the color payoff is noticeably less just after a week!(I did store it upside down). Used it side by side with Suqqu and Excel and I have to say I will only be buying Excel in the future because: 1) Costs only 1400 JPY (about 14 US$) 2) Comes with a liquid/powder combo (the other end has a powder tip the same color as the liquid) 3) Lasts longer (been using that little pen for 2.5 weeks and it`s still going strong 4) The quality is superior: Man that brush tip is so fine and stiff that it actually draws realistic looking hairs! With Stila my brows look too fake, the stroke marks are too coarse and obvious. 5) The color range is pretty nice, covering everything from redheads to blondes and brunettes and everything in between. So, nope, I won`t be repurchasing Stila.

About reviewer (916 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlond

EyesHazel




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us