Redken Rewind 06 styling paste texturizing hair paste

Redken Rewind 06 styling paste texturizing hair paste

4.1

59 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS


Start your review


on 4/3/2016 11:42:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This paste didn't work for me at all. The thing that bothered me most was how sticky it is, both in my hands and in my hair. It isn't easy to distribute, even though I warmed it in my palms, so I ended up with big sections completely doused in product. My ultimate goal was the piece-y separation that's so popular right now. I have a layered lob that I wear in waves so I wanted that tousled bedhead look. But this product did not deliver good results for me. I can't stand it if my hair feels sticky and once I went outside into the Florida humidity, my waves totally fell flat, like this paste melted. Moreover, it completely weighed my hair down so that any volume I had initially was totally gone. I really don't like the feel of this paste in my hands and I certainly don't like its effects in my hair. I couldn't wait until the end of the day when I could finally wash this crap out of my hair. True, it added some texture (but in clumps) and has a matte finish, but I'm not convinced it's intended for longer hair. It seems to me that it would likely work for a short spiky hairdo but certainly not for my shoulder length tresses. It's not only messy to work with, it also made a mess of my hair. All in all, I can't stand this stuff. I used it once and that was enough for me to know that I absolutely hate it. If you have hair my length and it's fine to medium in texture, this isn't going to be the right product for you so save your $$. For a great alternative, I'm loving Bumble and Bumble Creme Contour, which does everything I want it to. It gives me piece-y separation, some thickness and volume and my style lasts for several days when I use it. It only takes a dime size amount scrunched into the midlengths and ends (definitely avoid the roots) to give me the light texture and shine I want without any stickiness. It's an amazing product and far superior to Rewind. Yes, it's considerably more expensive. However, I use so little that it will last for months. You can read my complete review of Creme Contour here on MUA. Suffice it to say that it's the perfect product for the look I want, that sexy, tousled, somewhat messy style that's so on trend right now. Forget Rewind, Creme Contour is the bomb! I certainly don't recommend Rewind for anyone with longer hair. It's difficult to work with and it will make your style fall flat, I assure you. Try Creme Contour instead. If you buy it at Sephora, you can always return it if it doesn't work out. But I think you'll love it as much as I do. It's my new styling product HG. I'm being rather generous giving Rewind 2 lippies but I gave Creme Contour the full five. If you want a great product that delivers on all of its promises, try Creme Contour. It makes my hair look totally awesome. In a word, it's nothing like Rewind at all. 4/3/2016

2 of 2 people found this helpful.



Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I recently cut my hair from waist length into a pixie and this product was recommended by my stylist. I am so thankful it was a great launching pad for me to figure out how to style my new hair. I use this with hair spray because it doesn't have the hold to last all day on its own. It is very goopy (sorry I don't have a better adjective) and spreads through my hair easily. At 15 bucks it's the most pricey hair product I own but you get a big tub that I've hardly even scratched the surface of in a month. I'll definitely buy again whenever I finally run out.


on 4/8/2014 12:52:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I recently cut my hair and it's longer than a pixie, but still above my jawline. I was looking for something to give my hair and its layers some texture and separation. I feel like this gives a little texture, but not a lot. By the time I've achieved a truly noticeable look (but not greasy), it's gone sticky on me. I've had better luck after stealing some of my guy friend's American Crew products such as their Forming Cream or Fiber.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 7/26/2013 11:32:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Rewind is my HG! I always put it on my edges when wearing pony tails or buns, my hair is so curly but this keeps my edges from curling up and lays them down while also giving me a pretty wave pattern.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 1/7/2012 8:24:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I have never heard of this product till recently when my sister gave me a tub for free. I wasn't going to use it initially... I was going to pass it onto s/o because it seems like something that would only work on short hair. I have long hair that's overprocessed and fragile. I decided to look this up anyway and found a lot of positive reviews from people with all different hair lengths. I decided to give it a try recently and am glad that I did. It is a blue-ish balm that is very tracky and gooey but smells quite pleasant. I apply it to my hair ONLY while it's wet, I can't imagine using it on dry hair because it would probably cause more harm than good. I use about a nickle size amount after washing my hair, comb out, and than blow dry. It gives my hair just a little bit of texture but nothing extreme. My hair still remains very soft and manageable after it is dry. I really like it and will continue using it though I will not pruchase because this is something that I can definitely live without. Not sure how much it costs but I imagine it isn't cheap.


on 11/28/2011 8:07:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

I have a pixie faux hawk and this is my second favorite product (the first being Bed Head Manipulator) for it. Gives great separation and texture, so it doesn't look like I have Ken hair, and the hold is reasonable, even when the cut starts to grow out some and my very thick, curly hair becomes supernuts. I'm giving it 4 lippies because, although it's very flexible and easy to fix throughout the day, I do wish it had just a weeeeeeee bit more hold. Love that it doesn't feel stiff, dusty, dirty, waxy or greasy like so many other waxes/pomades that fill a similar niche. Have repurchased and will continue to do so--lasts a good long time (which is why I wind up alternating with Manipulator: even though it's more expensive, per tub, ReWind lasts a much longer time and is a much better value.

4 of 4 people found this helpful.


on 6/17/2010 1:11:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Totally awesome! A very multi-purpose styling product. Tames frizzies and great for perfecting and tweeking hair the way you want it. A little goes a long way. I've had a tub for like 2 years!!


on 5/24/2010 1:07:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Other

Adds nice definition and frizz-control to my thick, wavy hair. I use it to tame baby hairs, though - admittedly - it doesn't last for that purpose. It's $25 (whoooooa) but I found it's sold for $7.99 at my Winners, so repurchasing won't cause me fret & worry. Overall good product, though hair is left a bit harder than I'd like.


on 3/16/2010 3:59:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I think I may just not know how to use this product but I tried several times. I saw a picture of what someone made their hair look like after using it and I was in love. I've tried every which way to make my hair look like that and....nothing. I have long straight fine but alot of it blonde hair with layers. I tried this to get the piecy rocker chic look, not working. Who knows


on 12/7/2009 10:40:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Just started using this. Have long half curly hair and this helps to provide workable control to give myself more curl than I have. Smells fab and does not give that awful crunchy feel. I am a real hair brusher as I hate knots in my hair and so when I wear my hair curly I can't stand that gluggy stiff crunch feel. Easy to rewet and style the following day or remove with a brush.Will definatley buy again.

Popular Styling Products


Elixir Ultime
Elixir Ultime
162 Reviews
Mythic Oil
Mythic Oil
58 Reviews
Back to Top