3.6

Created with Sketch.
176 reviews
59%
would repurchase
3.5/5
package quality

price range
$35.20 on Lookfantastic
Shop Now

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

The Illamasqua Skin Base foundation was something I had wanted to try out for a long time. Some years ago it received quite a bit of hype as did the brand's blushes. I think the main reason due to it not receiving as much hype as earlier, is that Illamasqua isn't available in the US stores anymore, which is a shame. Based on this product I am eager to try out more from the brand! The foundation comes in a sleek squeezy bottle made out of durable hard plastic. The packaging is alright, but I feel like once the foundation starts to run out, it will be rather difficult to squeeze anything out. It comes in 26 shades with various undertones, which is great! There is also one purely white foundation meant for mixing. The foundation is water-based with Aqua being the first ingredient. I bought this during Beauty Bay's Black Friday sale, as it is a very expensive foundation. I bought this in the shade SB03, which is described as a cool yellow. My skin tone is fair yellow leaning neutral. In the summer I am about NC15 in MAC and then in the winter NARS Siberia/NC10/Cover FX N10. 03 is a great shade for me during warmer months, when my skin has gotten a little bit of color. It is quite yellow, but suits my skin tone perfectly! For application I use the Urban Decay Optical Blurring Brush, which I generally use with most of my foundations. Works like a dream! I like to apply SB in light layers and then build it up. It's about medium coverage and gives a very natural finish letting my skin peek through a bit. I would not wear this in the winter, as it can get stuck on dry patches (I get super dry in the winter). Surprisingly it has not been emphasizing any of my current dry patches around my nose (I have a really bad pollen allergy). I think it would suit combo and oily skin types the best. Overall great foundation, would repurchase, and am curious to try out more products from Illamasqua! :)

About reviewer (22 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue



4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I'm writing about Illamasqua's white skin base mixer. This is a lovely product, it's creamy and relatively densely pigmented and a nice ivory colour. As it's so pigmented, a couple drops is all you need to seamlessly lighten any foundation you mix with this, helping lessen any impact this might have on the finish. I've never used it by itself so I can't really comment on patchiness or staying power, however what I can say is that it didn't irritate or aggravate my skin even with my regular pre-menstrual breakouts. Unfortunately it's an expensive product and I'm not always convinced that high-end automatically means better make-up. Yes, while I can't really fault this product, I also don't think it's so amazing that it's worth the extra £15 it costs over the cheaper Manic Panic foundation. If I were after a solid white foundation for e.g. gothic fashion, then I might feel differently as I'd then be concerned about wear time, finish, coverage etc. But as a mixer those things are less important since the foundation you mix with it covers most of that. So yes, a good product but not so phenomenal that I'd pay so much more for it than another white mixer of equivalent quality.

About reviewer (195 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I like how full coverage this foundation is; I have a bit of redness on my cheeks and forehead and it covered up everything seamlessly and smoothly. I also found it not to be drying, which is a big plus in my book because I have extremely dry skin. Also, for me it wore really well through 12 hours +, so it's definitely long-wearing. One warning I have to give about this foundation is that it transfers a little bit, but it's not too bad, it doesn't transfer horribly or anything. We should all get into the habit of not touching our faces at all when we have makeup on, anyway.

About reviewer (19 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinVery Dry, Medium, Not Sure

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Actual rating is 3.5 stars, but I am rounding up because I love the color. I don't really love this foundation much on its own on my combo skin because it can break up quickly on oilier areas, but it is an excellent mix-in for foundations that are too dry or too dark. It takes bad foundations and makes them softer, more natural looking, and more flattering on my skin. When I tried it alone I always felt like it was too dewy or too greasy, depending on the day and the powder I used with it, but instead of giving up on it, I decided to see how else it could be used. Illamasqua is one of the few brands that I would say consistently makes really good colors for pale skin but misses the mark completely when it comes to formulation. The packaging is nice and elegant, but once the product gets really low it can become harder to squeeze out. I like that it is cruelty free and that one tube lasts for a very long time as well.

About reviewer (564 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairRed, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Only used this a few times but really like it. Very easy to apply and blend, no cakeyness at all. Also, I am 61 so my skin is probably a bit dry. I applied moisturiser some hours before applying this foundation and still found it went on very easily. Seems to be almost matte at first but later appears to be a very attractive and natural dewy look, but dewy is the wrong word as its not quite that glowy. I think the look is healthy natural after you've been on a walk, that sort of thing. Still trying to find the absolutely perfect shade for me, got some more samples coming soon. Am NC25 for MAC and tried SB6 which is a tad too light and just a tiny tad too pink, I think. Feels lovely on my skin, and, very naughty I know, but I didn't take it off before going to bed and this morning it appeared to be still there, as my skin looked even toned and healthy, which is not how I normally look in the mornings! Its not that expensive compared to some I've used and I think this is going to become a favourite of mine for a long time.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Fair

HairBlond

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I love this foundation but just wish it had slightly more coverage and staying power. The different shades are amazing, and I do think I have a great match for my skin tone (6.5) but I find myself putting concealer on or applying more foundation by late afternoon. I love the Illamasqua values so this is always my go-to brand for any kind of make-up, and will happily pay a bit more knowing the brand ethics.

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairBlond, Straight, Medium

EyesGray


1.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Do not get if you have sensitive skin. Low quality. Bought it as a present and looked like a fool. Cheers

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Tan

HairOther

EyesGray


1.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Wanted to love this product for my sensitive skin. I was looking for foundation to replace YSL which was discontinued and which left mu dry sometimes patchy skin with a radiant glow. I liked it when I applied it but when I went out in daylight noticed it was already settling in fine lines and pores. By lunchtine I could see it caking around dry patches on chin and nose and I started to look pasty for some reason. So happy to wash it off that evening. The next morning I woke up to a red ruddy complexion. There were some small bumps like pimples on the sides of my face which I have not seen since I was in my 20's. I know the ingredients should not be anything that should have triggered this reaction but I did not use any different products either. I have a friend who uses it and her skin is not as dry as mine so maybe it is better for oily or less sensitive skin. Money wasted so sad!

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Medium

HairOther

EyesOther


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This is the one foundation I continue to buy. I love the way it feels on my skin, it's easy to apply and the colour range is great. It gives me a beautiful finish and is buildable. It doesn't easily transfer.

About reviewer (22 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinNormal, Medium

HairBrunette

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Not my HG but my first foundation purchase after switching to cruelty free (from MAC) and I like it. Needs to be paired with a different primer though, their one is crap. The coverage is great and it feels comfortable. Only negative would be it could last longer but it agreed with my skin!

About reviewer (12 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Fair, Neutral

HairRed, Curly, Fine

EyesBrown





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.