3.1

Created with Sketch.
14 reviews
35%
would repurchase
4.1/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

Most of my makeup brushes are Sigma, so I naturally turned to Sigma when I got into contouring and wanted a good contour brush. I'd read bad reviews about this brush shedding and bleeding black, but maybe they've improved the brush since then, because I didn't have any actual defects with my brush at all. The brush is a perfect size, it's soft, durable, washes well, and picks up product well, but I think it's just the shape of the brush that didn't work for me. I had purchased a Real Techniques Contour Brush while I waited for this brush to arrive in the mail, and I really prefer the RT brush over this one. The Sigma brush might be good for someone looking for a very subtle, barely there, contour, that is blended out in a larger area, but I prefer my RT brush for giving a more defined contour. So, it's not a bad brush at all, it just didn't allow me to achieve the effect I wanted with it. I'll probably pass this on to a friend to try, or find a new purpose for it.

About reviewer (22 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown



3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

5 years ago

I bought this brush to dip my toes into the Sigma line, which has been touted as a great cost-effective alternative to MAC. I'm not a huge fan of MAC makeup, but when it comes to their brushes, there is no comparison. This isn't a particular good contour brush -- it's okay, but I think a stiff angled blush brush would work way better for the cheekbones and you'd need something way smaller and stiffer for good nose contouring. It doesn't pick up color particularly well either, but the worst part, as others have mentioned, is that it sheds. And it keeps shedding. Meanwhile, my MAC brushes still look brand new, years and years later. Move along. There's nothing to see here. Life is too short for crappy makeup brushes.

About reviewer (283 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Curly, Fine

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I have built up a collection of Sigma brushes, and this is one of my least favorites. Mine doesn't bleed black, thank goodness, but it does shed quite a bit and it doesn't really allow for precise blush application (I don't really use it to contour).

About reviewer (975 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I bought this brush for contouring but found it useless for that. I now use it for setting my under eye concealor. It's amazing for that. The perfect size. I've also had absolutely no issues with it shedding. It's still in perfect condition.

About reviewer (177 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlond

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

$14 from Sigma, cheap but not cheapest. Can't say I've had any issues with shedding but if I do I will edit this review! Haven't washed it either, but as I use this for powder products I don't see myself washing this any time soon. I hope that will avoid the 'bleeding black' issue some people have had. I am a huge Sigma fan and a fan of this brush. I don't contour often but when I do, I use this brush. I have a small face, and try to contour in small amounts and try to be quite controlled with it. The size of this brush head makes that possible, because it is small (duh). Before buying this brush, I considered using the F40 Large Angled Contour, which I know a lot of MUAs like for contouring. I chose the F05 because it is smaller, and also because it is dense, which makes application more controlled. The other reason is because it is a round brush i.e. the ferrule is rounded, not flattened at all. I like this because it means when I'm blending, I can blend in circles if required. That is not to say I contour in circles, but it does mean blending is a bit easier because you are not limited to back & forth motions! If I was to contour liberally, like I use my bronzer, then I would consider the F40. Or if you are a bit taller than I am (short asian). I'm sure there are plenty of cheaper options out there, so I put price as 2 lippies. Overall, happy I invested in this, and get a lot of use out of it. More about me: Asian normal skin - tending towards combination in summer Was acne-prone for years Foundation preference is to look as yellow as possible, absolutely nil pink MAC NC-30, Shiseido O60, BeneFit Champagne, Bobbi Brown #4, MUFE Sand/Desert Sunscreen everyday - alternating between Sofina and Invisible Zinc

About reviewer (77 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinNormal, Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

8 years ago

Waste of money. I got this brush, and after washing it, it started to bleed black. Contacted Sigma about it, they said it was normal and to just let it soak in vinegar and that should do it. Well, it didn't. They had to send me a new one to replace the fowl smell that was coming out of the previous one I had. And guess what, the same thing happened with the new brush; kept bleeding black. Not to mention it sheds a ton. Final straw came when I was applying my liquid foundation with this brush, and it bled black all over my nose. Sexy look. In the trash it went (again).

About reviewer (90 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Other

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

I don't really bother with contouring (seriously, who can be bothered), but I think this brush is great for an even and natural looking foundation application. However, it sheds like no other brushes I own! It's a real shame because it works really well with my NARS Sheer Glow Foundation - I use my Real Techniques Expert Face brush over the top to get rid of the dozens of hairs this brush leaves to get around it.

About reviewer (30 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

I thought I would love this brush but I don't. It's too dense and small to contour and kind of scratchy, I'd rather use the F35 for that purpose because it makes it less obvious and it's easier to blend with that brush.I would not repurchase

About reviewer (83 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairSilver, Kinky, Medium

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

i love this brush! yes, it does shed a LOT, but i haven't had it for very long so hopefully that stops over time. however, this is amazing for contouring, blush, and highlighters. it doesn't seem to shed when applying powder cheek products. it only sheds with foundation. that being said, this is still great for foundation, it gives a nice finish despite it shedding like mad. I use this for watery foundations (mac face and body), i find i get a better effect with those types of foundations with this brush versus my sigmax brush or flat foundation brush. this does not compare to the mac 109, the mac 109 is a lot denser and applies foundation even better than this, but regardless, for the price, i am very pleased.

About reviewer (98 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesBlack


1.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

This is, without a doubt, the worst brush I have ever used. The shape and size are good and that's where the pros end. Even my $1 brushes don't shed as much as this one. Whether I'm using liquid or powder, I always end up with dozens of hairs all over my face. Dozens. Every time. Luckily I got this from a swap and didn't pay for it because I would be extremely angry. I had high hopes for Sigma brushes but after this one I don't think I'll be trying any of their others.

About reviewer (380 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOily, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Curly, Fine

EyesGreen




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us