2.8

Created with Sketch.
41 reviews
36%
would repurchase
3.8/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


2.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Nope. Nope. Nope. This stuff is runny, gritty and leaves a thick white mask on your face. I bought it because I thought I needed a strong physical barrier during the summer months, but I found it so unpleasant to apply that I just avoided the beach and extended outdoor activity. I hate to waste anything, especially expensive skincare products, but I know I won't use it before it expires in March 2019 so into the garbage it goes. Next time I experiment it will be with something cheaper.

About reviewer (430 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue



3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

This is my first mineral sunscreen and it did a decent job protecting my face from the sun. It absorbed quickly and was pretty matte. However, at the end of the day, my eyes sting even though this was a mineral sunscreen (all titanium with no zinc). It was not easy to wash out as well. Not my favorite and I don't see myself using this in the future.

About reviewer (12 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Absolute rubbish !!! Do not buy it! Has grains of something similar to sand in it, so it does NOT go on smooth and you CANNOT wear it under makeup. It’s almost abrasive as you apply it because of the grains.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This review is for the US version that contains both zinc oxide (5%) and titanium dioxide (6%). Unfortunately, this irritates my skin and causes little breakouts. It has a grainy texture that feels like sandpaper upon application. Rubbing it between fingers before facial application helps a little, but it still feels a bit scratchy. It also causes a burning sensation; unsure if this is because of the grainy texture or an ingredient in the sunscreen. Lastly, it leaves a white cast on my NC15-20 skin, which I found surprising because it's only 5% zinc oxide. I've been using this on my chest with no problems, but I would not repurchase.

About reviewer (155 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I'm surprised by the bad reviews of this product. I'm on my second bottle of this, so though it isn't my favorite mineral sunscreen (that's Bare Minerals Prep Step), I'd still buy this again. My two main cons of this product is that it's pricey and that it does leave an initial faint white cast. However, that white cast does fade. I usually put on my sunscreen, go make my daughter's breakfast, and then put on my makeup, and by the time I put on makeup the whitecast has faded/sunscreen has sunk into my face. It doesn't seem to have a fragrance, and my makeup goes on well over it. There's often good deals at CVS where you get beautybucks back after purchasing La Roche Posay so that makes it a little easier on the pocket.

About reviewer (222 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This product unfortunately broke me out in my spot sensitive areas (forehead and in-between my brows). Stuck with it for 3 months before reverting to my old sunscreen Neostrata spf 50 and the spots cleared up. I know of people who love this sunscreen however and have had no problems with it! It's good if you want something sheer, easily available (in the UK) that's at a decent price point.

About reviewer (7 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesGreen


2.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

SCENT: typical sunscreen scent, doesn't linger but won't go away unless fully absorbed into the skin CONSISTENCY: not too runny but quite similar to a lotion, feels like grease city PERFORMANCE: doesn't make me breakout (can't say much about its sun protection ability or longevity bc I've never worn it for a long day out in the sun just yet) Because it felt too greasy on my skin, I'd left this in my drawer for a while and just recently decided to give it a go again, and during that time the oil in it got separated so when I tried to squeeze the sunscreen out the oil would ooze out nonstop! It's been a couple of days and it's still doing that, but now that most of the oil is gone the sunscreen itself certainly feels much less oily. I still wouldn't recommend this to anyone, you shouldn't have to go through all that trouble to make it work considering its price tag!

About reviewer (52 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairOther, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

The reviews were so positive on this and I was on the market for a physical sunscreen last summer so I bit the bullet and picked this up at Target. Something in the formulation broke me out so after a few months, I gave up and eventually found EltaMD's physical sunscreen (SPF 41). I gave this to one of my kids to use for every day use. I liked that this was easy to find (at Target, no less) although the price wasn't great given the tiny bottle, but if it had worked I would have kept it.

About reviewer (364 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This is the worst sunscreen I've ever used. The baseline for an adequate sunscreen for me is "effective," and this one didn't pass the test. I had such high hopes as I've heard so many wonderful things about the sunscreens from La Roche-Posay, and I was about to spend a long day in the hot, aggressive sun, so I tried it out. I basically spent the entire day in the sun, and even though I went so far as to wear a UPF-hat, carry a UPF-parasol and reapply my sunscreen every hour, I still got burned. I even got sunspots, which is surprising for my age, and a MOLE appeared a few days later. I'm sure it was probably an accumulation of sunny days that brought these things out in my skin, but I think it was this long, sunny day without effective sunscreen that brought them out a little bit sooner. On the plus side, I did love how tiny the bottle was and how thin the consistency was, but if it's not effective, there's no point in trying it again.

About reviewer (33 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Cool

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


3.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I am now on my second bottle of this non tinted version. I really like this, possibly more than the tinted version. I find it gives better sun protection (this has both mineral protectants while the tinted only has one) and wipes off clear (won't stain beach towels, hats, etc.). Yes, there is a slight white cast at first, but this dissipates in a few minutes after rubbing in. I have sensitive skin and really appreciate the lack of fragrance (my main issue since it causes irritation to my skin and gives me migraines sometimes). I also prefer the mineral to chemical offerings, as I have good success with this being better for sensitive skin. I don't have oily skin, but I can see how those who do would not like this product. They should look to their breakout free, matte finish face sunscreen. I do find this slightly moisturizing and I tend to set this with a translucent powder to prevent shine that sunscreen tends to give me. The white cast can cling to dry patches if not moisturized properly and rubbed in well. I also appreciate that this is water resistant and lasts a long time on the skin. I find it to be a very liquid product that applies smoothly and leaves a smooth feel to the skin. I also haven't experienced issues reapplying, but then again I will wipe my face with a towel in between to remove debris that may have settled on top to help keep things smoother. I also don't wear foundation daily, so I'm not sure how this works with that. I can attest to it giving a nice base to concealer. This has never once irritated my skin and does not cause acne for me. I was bothered by the bottle at first, but now that I know what amount to use it's a non issue. I highly recommend trying this if you are still looking for a sunscreen that works for you, especially if you are sensitive. Edit: my chin has always had issues with tiny zits/bumps (not sure what they actually are) on either side of my jaw. Anyway, I ended up skipping this sunscreen for a long weekend in the sun and used another spf with more protection and that would be cheaper to apply many times. Long story short, my bumps actually went away during that weekend. When I went back to this sunscreen they returned and I noticed a slight burning sensation I hadn't noticed before (maybe because I was using it daily?). Not sure if they are clogging that area or I'm having some reaction, but after a few more tests (a few days on, a few days off) it is definitley this. I'm so, so sad. The finish on this was perfect and pores were smoothed somewhat. I could apply lots or a little, depending on the activity and my skin looked better than bare. I'm now on the hunt for another sunscreen after I thought I found my HG. I still reccomend others try it, but as with all skincare do be wary of what you put on your face.

About reviewer (104 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Olive, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel