4.2

Created with Sketch.
20 reviews
75%
would repurchase
4.4/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

11 days ago

A little gem that smells rather expensive, and all the more respectable because it does so at an affordable price. It is essentially a feminine, powdery floral, but the aldehydes and iris in the composition rings the bell for some Guerlains, Chanels and expensive niches. On me, it is surprisingly well-balanced and less offensive than the skank in, say, Chanel Exclusifs - Bel Respiro, I'm speaking to you. Same for powder and everything that may go wrong depending on body chemistry - I don't think there is a single house where this doesn't happen so the price range is not to blame. Anyway, Esprit opens with a burst of aldehydes that are not very heavy or sulphuric, nor very clean and metallic. The flowery heart is of lilac colour in my mind. A neat and direct iris sitting on an soft, airy, slightly sweet feminine flowers. Some people notice heliotrope here, I don't although the florals remind me of my well-beloved Etro Viccolo Fiori in spirit. There is an airiness coming from something ilke anise, never disturbing though and I'm surprised as this is a very difficult note for me. The iris here is direct and powdery, but not like ambery sweet makeup powder. Neither does it have dirt, soil, meat, stem notes we come across in Serge Lutens or Tauer. This is clean, proper, cool like a silk blouse. I would call it an efficient chic style that can suit any occasion. I think this fragrance is a good option for any time when fruits and sweet stuff don't cut it but work Guerlain etc feel too much. I have some very much loved irises in my collection and I like Esprit as their pleasant, more friendly cousin. 3.5

About reviewer (609 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairRed

EyesHazel



3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

Top Notes: Sicilian Lemon, Cedrat Heart Notes: Egyptian Jasmine, Orange Flower, Tuberose, Parma Violet, Iris Base Notes: Heliotrope, Musk, Tonka Bean, Vetiver, Amber This review is for the eau de parfum which is a warm, amber colour unlike the eau de toilet which is more yellow in colour. Armfuls of Purple Flowers Laid on a Warm, Ambery Base Espirit de Oscar opens with the bright, fresh scent of a juicy lemon just picked from a lemon tree growing in the warm, temperate climate of Sicily and sliced open before your eyes. It is an appetisingly fresh and fruity note that is neither sharp and acrid, or sweetened by honey or sugar or any type. The top notes are refreshing, and they last a surprisingly long while. After 5-10 minutes, the heart notes slowly begin to open. Now, the fragrance feels as though armfuls of purple flowers have been given me. I mainly detect iris, violet, and already an abundance of slightly doughy heliotrope. In the background, surprisingly, unusually demure are the white florals. This time, the stars are the purple flowers, the dry iris, the gently sweet violet, and the doughy heliotrope. The heart notes themselves last for quite a long time, and then eventually, finally, roughly one hour into the fragrance, the warm base notes emerge. Heliotrope is still quite prominent in the base, though. Beneath the heliotrope I detect the warmth of amber with shy hints of tonka bean and musk. I do not detect the vetiver here, but that is fine. The warmth of the amber, tonka, and musk make the perfect chorus to the star player---the heliotrope. This fragrance is about purple flowers in general and heliotrope in particular. If you do not like heliotrope, then this fragrance will not likely appeal. Espirt de Oscar is feminine and soft. Projection is about an arm's length. Sillage is soft but noticeable. Longevity is good. I think this is a fragrance that would work well day or night provided you love heliotrope. The original Oscar will always be my favourite, but Espirit will shower you with sunny, fresh lemon, and then it will surround you with an abundance of purple flowers until finally, you feel are made warm and cozy by the ambery base. It is a lovely perfume, and it is very good value for the price point. Fragrance: 7/10 Projection: 6.5/10 Sillage: 6.5/10 Longevity: 6.5/10

About reviewer (83 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinOther, Other, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I initially wrote a negative review on this one, based on the first wearing (wrist only). Then I decided to be brave and spray it 4x on my neck and under my shirt, and to live with it for 12 hours before re-reviewing. Guess what? I LOVE it! I think the initial dislike was because Esprit D’Oscar wasn’t at all what I was expecting. I’ve worn the original Oscar for years and thought for sure that a modern “revamp” would involve brightening and freshening up the citrus top notes and getting rid of the dusky florals and the musky, powdery base. I was therefore unprepared for a fragrance that REVOLVES around the dusky florals and the musky, powdery base— but still in a clean and modern way! Esprit D’Oscar is destined to become maybe more of a classic than the original. It’s a reworking of themes common to classic orientals, so that it comes across as soft and delicate rather than smoky and overwhelming. You will definitely notice the shared bone structure with Oscar, but Esprit is entirely its own thing. The citrus top notes last nanoseconds and move away quickly to make room for soft, hazy florals like iris and violet. Then comes heliotrope in large doses, like a fluffy cloud of sweet almond whip. The base includes sandalwood and a very tenacious but gentle skin musk, like the scent of recently washed skin (my favorite kind of musk). It’s not a shrill, soapy, piercing industrial laundry musk at all. It’s warm and rich. That part lingers on for hours. I get the comparisons to L’Heure Bleue and Apres L’Ondee, but Esprit is not a ponderous, sickly-sweet vintage scent. It feels relevant and wearable by all ages and for all occasions. It’s so pretty, clean, soft, and cloud-like, with gentle sillage— yet the EDP gives a good 8-12 hours of wear and the fragrance has distinction and leaves a “signature.” I officially like Esprit more than the original, and I’m gonna wear it often. Kudos to the designers for not focus-grouping this thing within an inch of its life. You won’t find berries or praline or caramel or pear or synthetic patchouli in Esprit even though nearly every other fragrance flanker is going that route and most new-release fragrances are too (which is why they’re all so forgettable). Esprit has brains and a personality. It’s great!

About reviewer (227 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair, Not Sure

HairRed, Other, Other

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I read reviews of Esprit D’Oscar at Fragrantica, then saw a bottle for $20 at TJ Max . I did not expect much and had no experience with ODL scents . The verdict : Move over Chanel! I own a lot of perfume and some of it is expensive. That said, Esprit D’Oscar is a stunning fragrance . It is long lasting , extremely feminine, very very ELEGANT , and a soft spicy floral . It is somewhat similar to a very famous perfume by Guerlain “L’ Heure Bleu “. It is rare to find a scent these days that is elegant, truly feminine , and classic smelling . If you are tired of scents that smell like candies or pastries and want old world elegance , find this beautiful scent . Best, you will not smell like everyone else wearing Angel, Alien, or Coco Mademioselle . This is a scent for a polished woman with soft sophistication . Totally beautiful and I just ordered a second bottle.

About reviewer (58 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesGreen


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

I am a fan of powdery fragrances so after reading reviews on EDO, I made a mental note to test it. I never really went out of my way to find a tester and I never serendipitously ran across one either. However, I did find a 3.4 oz EDP on sale for just under 20$ so I blind bought it. While EDO was not "love at first wiff," It is definitely a solid "like" with the potential for a love affair to cultivate with time. Other reviewers perceive a baby powder, I don't. It's a talcum powder. Slightly soapy and remarkably clean. Purple & white florals are contrasted against a slightly sour, bitter lemon and citronella. I almost detect a vanilla or caramel or something in the drydown to sweeten the deal. It's nice. Inoffensive and again, smells clean for sure. It's worth the 20$ for a huge bottle but I wouldn't pay more.

About reviewer (23 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Medium

HairRed

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

This a very rich floral dominated by heliotrope and vanilla on my skin. I dont get any powderiness to call it an old ladies scent. Good sillage and great longevity. It really is cheap to buy online so dont miss out on a fantastic great quality perfume that I suspect will become a classic.

About reviewer (61 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOily, Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I really hoped this would be a lighter updated version of the original Oscar but it is a totally different scent. I'm glad everyone else is so positive about it but this smelled like scented maxi pads on me--shivers-- and I gave it a good couple of hours to change and work some kind of magic but no it just smelled very, shall I say, old lady powdery? And I am old so that is some serious knocking. The vanilla bottom was very heavy handed and obliterated the opening notes in a hurry. Also knocked out the floral middle notes so they became an indistinct miasma mixed with vanilla. My husband told me I smelled like his grandmother's scarf drawer and she's been dead for 30 years. Not the response I was hoping for.

About reviewer (1595 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinSensitive, Fair, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

If this isn't a classic I don't know what is. This was a wedding day perfume before people talked about wearing a wedding day scent. It became a wedding scent on its own...without it being forced down people's throats as a scent for a bride to wear ala Very Wang and Beautiful. If florals are not your thing then you need to run as far away fro Esprit de Oscar as you can. It is the kind of floral that when you wear it and the walk outside bees are attracted to you!!! This perfume is like bee nectar in a bottle it is that floral. You don't come across true new release florals like this much anymore. Esprit de Oscar also has a very lovely and zesty lemon top note that is really fun too. From there though its all floral and powdery. I think it is the helitrope note that makes it so powdery. So beautiful, floral and naïve Esprit de Oscar is it is an absolute beauty.

About reviewer (512 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Other

HairBrown

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

6 years ago

Love this one! It is so wearable and ladylike. All the notes listed are citrus notes of Sicilian lemon, bergamot and citron, heart of Egyptian jasmine, orange blossom and tuberose. The base is oriental, creamy, smooth and very long-lasting with musk, heliotrope, tonka and vetiver. I am not sure what all those notes are, but blended together they make a wonderful, aromatic perfume. I find romance in this fragrance! It just smells like a scent I would wear if I were going out with a gentleman that I wanted to fall in love with, or have him fall madly in love with me. The bottle is very heavy and has the classic topper. The bottle alone points to elegance, and the scent is elegant in itself. I cannot compare this scent to any of the other scents some have said it smells similar to because to me, it smells nothing like any of those. This perfume is unique and unto itself as far as I can smell. This will be one of my favorites for sure!

About reviewer (595 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Medium

HairBrunette

EyesGreen


3.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I bought this after reading all the reviews on here and I have to say I was a little disappointed. The perfume itself has quite a creamy heavy smell when you first spray it but it does dry down to a musky smell but the longevity of the perfume is rubbish which is a shame as it is EDP too. I like to spray a perfume and be able to still smell it on for at least the next couple of hours but I just didn't get this at all. I am quite happy with the scent although my husband who usually sniffs out new scents on me didn't notice at all. Having said that the bottle is very beautiful if not that practical in the shape and looks expensive. I am a perfume freak and I love trying new ones but this was a blind buy and going on the reviews I have to say I was a little disappointed and wouldn't buy again.

About reviewer (34 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBlond

EyesBlue