4.4

Created with Sketch.
18 reviews
83%
would repurchase
3.9/5
package quality

price range
$15.99 on Ulta Beauty
Shop Now

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I used to use Manic Panic but the price point is high especially if you have long or thick hair so I switched to Directions which I can find much cheaper online (less than £3 a tub). They have a good variety of shades but I've found the names of colours can be a bit misleading. I would advise to always do a strand test and not jump in using the dye neat unless you're sure it's the right colour you want because some shades really stick and can be a nightmare to get rid of - the blues especially are something you really need to commit to as they stick like glue and even bleach would not get rid of them, they can also come out super dark even on hair bleached to bright yellow unless you dilute them with conditioner. The plum also needs diluting or it comes out super dark almost black looking - for those who aren't aware if you try to bleach out purple it will turn your hair bright green. It is tricky to get a true red, I found they run either orange or quite pink/magenta looking but the consistency of the dye makes mixing shades really easy to get the colour you want. Some of the colours will show up on virgin hair that isn't too dark, especially the pink based ones. I have covered everything from dirty blonde to quite medium-dark brown but obviously they look the best on bleached hair. When it comes to how much the dye runs and bleeds it honestly depends on the shade and whether you have diluted it. Used neat they will stain a lot more. The darker tones are the worst and you will definitely need bleach to get the stains out of the bathtub. I always use gloves because even when rinsing you end up with bright coloured hands that take a day or two to fade. I use a towel over my pillow to stop transfer onto my bedding. As far as fading goes, this will totally depend on the shades used, how much you wash your hair and how well your hair holds colour. I found the greens held their colour well. Pinks/red lose their brightness within the first 1-2 wks before you need to refresh. Blue can be overpowering for a long time, some run more towards purple, some green. I found even when using the blues for mixing colours that despite using small amounts the blues always came out more dominant so keep in mind, less is more. Overall I think these are great value for money. On my daughter's medium length, thick hair used neat I have needed a good 2-3 pots to get full coverage but on my own short hair and used diluted I can make one pot last ages. I like the fact that it's super easy to get all of the product out of the container unlike some that are in bottles, you can make sure to get every last drop of product. The only downside to these are the aforementioned staining as some colours will get literally everywhere when you're dying but it's a small price to pay for awesome colour payoff.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Medium Brown

HairBlack

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This one of the best hair dyed. You must bleach first plum is my favourite .

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair

HairOther

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Hugely disappointing. I ordered this online because it's actually not available where I live. I wanted to try a different brand and La Riche had more reds to choose from than Manic Panic (I can only get Vampire Red or Pillarbox from MP here). I wanted something more cherry pink so I ordered La Riche Directions Rose Red and Rubine. I've only tried the Rose Red thus far and I'm not thrilled. It is way dark! To be fair I didn't pre bleach, I've been using MP on slightly lightened hair (light brown with blonde streaks) for the last couple of months and I still get fairly brilliant pigmentation, but this stuff is like burgundy, not red. It's very flat looking too, like some lousy box dye. The consistency is more like a gel, and it literally gets on everything. I know you're thinking so does Manic Panic, but this is somehow worse. I actually didn't use it straight from the container, I diluted it with conditioner to make it easier to apply, at a half and half mixture it's still so highly pigmented that my hands are turning pink whenever I push back my hair from my face. I rinsed it for like an hour! It seems unnecessarily over pigmented, the color looks dull and flat, and its 88ml compared to MP's 118ml. Sure it was cheaper but only marginally so. Maybe it rocks pre bleached hair but it's not for me!

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I have used this product so many times and with so many colours. I have not only used this product on myself but also on my mum's hair and we both have high opinions of this product. To see my full review, click on the link! https://justsophie.co.uk/review-directions-semi-permanent-hair-colour/

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOily, Medium

HairBrunette

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I have dark blond highlighted hair, so all of my life I had to fight the brassines. I used permanent toners which damaged my hair and violet shampoos which dried my hair, violet conditioners which never seemed to work (since you have to wash them off). And then it came to my mind to mix a bit of the directions violet shade to my leave in conditioners ( bumble and bumble invisible oil primer). Now I am brass free for good and my hair is healthy as never before. So you blond ladies out there try this method it's a life changer. The best thing ever

About reviewer (7 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinVery Dry, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Kinky, Medium

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I have been using Directions for the past two years. My favorite colors that I often repurchase are Cerise and Turquoise. I tried Plum and was disappointed with it because it faded very quickly into a dark green that was impossible to remove. Directions (RM 50) is way cheaper than Manic Panic (RM 80-90) in Malaysia, and imo, it lasts longer. I've dyed it over bleached hair, faded red hair and natural hair. The color shows up best on bleached hair, turned the faded red hair into a more flattering dark pink shade and left a pink/blue tint on my naturally dark brown hair that holds color very well. I have extremely thick, medium length hair and only need half a tub to cover my hair. I usually leave it on as long as possible (4-8 hours) to make the color last longer. It lasts around 2-3 months for me, without touch-ups (I only wash my hair twice a week, which helps with preserving the color). It does stain a lot (clothes, towels) though.

About reviewer (13 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOily, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I've been using these dyes for years. My favourites are Rubine and Pillarbox red. On bleached hair they appear really bright, but they do still show on darker hair. What I do is dye my hair with a permanent box dye, and then when that fades I top up the colour with lariche directions. They give a nice even colour and fade gradually. It says they last around 8 washes but in my experience they last a fair bit longer than that. The downside to this product is that a lot of dye comes out every time you wash your hair and it can transfer onto clothing, pillows etc. Also it has stained my shower! Sometimes I've found the blue and green shades hard to remove even with bleach. The best thing about these dyes though is that they are vegetable based so they won't damage your hair. The tub says to leave on for 15 minutes but I usually leave on about 2 hours as they can't harm your hair. Sometimes I even add conditioner to them and use it as a deep conditioning treatment. I usually buy 3 tubs to cover my hair, I find the cheapest place to buy is on eBay. I have quite long very thick hair and I'm messy when applying dye so if you don't have as much hair as me you won't need this many. TOP TIP: If you want to achieve a pastel colour, buy a darker shade and dilute it with white conditioner. Just start out with white conditioner and add the dye in little by little until you get the desired colour. This means you will use less of the dye so it will cost less, and then the dye you have created will be EVEN more conditioning. Just bear in mind pastel shades wash out quicker. Also, these dyes can be mixed with each other to achieve your own unique colours.

About reviewer (13 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

Until today nothing had touched my hair! But I wanted a change! My hair is dark brown at the top and as it goes done it gets lighter. I don't want to mess my head so I wanted an ombre effect. I searched a lot and I was convinced that there would be no colour in my hair without bleaching! But I didn't want to bleach my hair not just yet! So I bought the rose red directions hair dye and mixed it with white conditioner and applied it in second day hair. There was a lot of dye coming of and I was starting to scare but when I was done the effect was awesome! Of course it wasn't the same bright colour as it would be with bleached hair and if it was dark you could barely see the difference but inany kind of light it really showed off! The texture and the colour was great I am really happy with the change on my hair especially bc there were virgin hair and I have left with over the half bottle. Idon't know how long it will last but at this rate I am more than fine. So I absolutely recomment it! Also I don't think there is a diffrence (for dark hair) if you keep it half an hour or all night long bc I think the dye stays quickly and that's good but the water never runs clear. After 20 minutes of pink water I stopped bc I was so tired! That's all! :p

About reviewer (1 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


4.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I've been using Directions hair dye for a few years now and almost every time the colours ive used have turned out the way I wanted, stayed in for a few weeks and then started to noticeably fade. The white and silver dyes are very good at removing yellow tones from blonde hair and can leave a slightly purple tinge. The pinks are very vibrant ad fade to a baby pink and then an orangey each colour, the voilet looks great when you dye it, but when it starts to fade it went a pastel bluey green colour, it continued to fade but ended up leaving an ever so slight blue/green stain to it. A bleach bath lifts this strait out but maybe one of the other purples would fade out differently, I know the lilac doesnt do this :)

About reviewer (1 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinNormal, Fair, Warm

HairBlond, Straight, Medium

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I dye my hair quite often using the cerise directions colours, and I find it work really well. I usually mix it with a white conditioner, so then the pot of dye lasts loads longer.. My hair tends to fade too a very pale colour after around 2 weeks, which I think is great as it ends up baby pink. Also, mixing with conditioner allows you to choose the shade which you want your hair. The shop I buy mine from is VERY cheap, either 1 pot for £4.50 or 3 pots for £10

About reviewer (1 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesBlue





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.