4.2

Created with Sketch.
57 reviews
82%
would repurchase
4.1/5
package quality

price range
$30.80 on Lovely Skin
Shop Now

Reviews


1.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

So I'm only using this because I went platinum and my stylist almost had a heart attack when I told him about the shampoo I was using before. He literally begged me not to ever apply the old shampoo to my hair or it would ruin the color. So he recommended this and away I went. I've used it twice. I know that isn't long enough but I wanted to give a quick shout out to anyone considering this. I'm washing my hair with this line every day as my stylist recommended. We're going this for one week to deal with the bleach-fried-ness of my hair and after the first week I'm supposed to switch to only washing every 2nd or 3rd day to let the "natural oils" of my hair take over. The shampoo is not sulfate free. I am SO sensitive to sulfates. I have been using sulfate-free for literally years. I find this shampoo to be so incredibly drying and I honestly hate it. It makes my hair feel like straw and actually makes it hard to move my hair. It gets hard. It's disgusting. It's really difficult to rinse out for me because my hair will get hard. Literally feels like straw. I'm going to stick with it because my stylist *insists* but like, damn, girl. I hate this shampoo. Here's a quick review for the rest of the product line as well. The conditioner? It's fine. It's plain. Nothing special. Doesn't do much for my hair. Still feels dry AF after rinsing this out. The CAT treatment? Smells like hairspray. Hate it. Rinses out easily. Hair still feels like straw. The masque? Like it so far. Smells nice. Rinses out easily and didn't leave my hair greasy at all. When I rinsed it out my hair still felt awful but now that it's dry, it feels fairly nice. It also helped my scalp stop feeling dry & itchy. I wish I could use this after every wash but I'm only allowed to use it every 2nd wash :(

About reviewer (70 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesGray



5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Looooove this whole line. I have shampoo, conditioner, conditoning masque, Cat spray and Anti-snap. I just did a DIY bleach job....multiple processes over last few weeks to get the colour I wanted. While I didn’t completely damage it, it sure was on the edge. This has made my hair soft & shiny and it feels stronger. The shampoo is so silky it almost feels conditioned right after rinsing. Doesn’t seem to weigh hair down. HG status for me and smell is light and lovely.

About reviewer (15 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Ok, before I head out there with 'this is the most wonderful' etc etc, this is my first use of the shampoo, conditioner and extreme length sealer. A little background. I'm 53, on Hormone Therapy (I feel this has a big impact on hair/skin). My hair is very fine, very straight, mid length and coloured regularly with high and lo lites at the salon. It is lifeless and I'm always trying to find the product that will make my hair look at least half decent. A bit of oomph wouldn't go amiss either. My bathroom cupboard is full of 'let's try this product!' fails. Hmmmm. An expensive pastime that baffels my 'one bottle in the shower' hubby (oh to be a man sometimes!). In the search for a bit of root lift, I was talked into buying a heated styling brush and after looking at youtube videos I was convinced that this was the way forward. Like a complete numpty, I bought a fairly expensive brush, got it home and excitedly plugged it in. 'Oh, it only has one heat setting, I guess that's ok' I thought, as I happily oomphed my limp hair. For a week I happily went about my oomphing until day 6, when I noticed my once sleekish hair looked like dried noodles. Yep, totally my fault as I didn't use a heat protector. Duh. NOW WHAT? So, after MONTHS of trying this shampoo, that conditioner, hair oils, leave in conditioners, sprays with biotin, products that cost an absolute fortune and always ending in disappointed sighs, I popped along to Chatters to talk to them. Intitially they helped me choose a Matrix Biolage product but that didn't work out at all so I swapped it (they let you do that even if you've used a little!) for another Biolage product, better ingredients, for frizzy hair. I think it was called So Smooth. That really dried my hair out. So with a heavy heart I went back and explained to a really lovely SA (they're all lovely in my local Chatters) what my hair problems are. Long story short, she went straight to this combination of shampoo. conditioner and extreme length sealer. I went home, quite excited. Then looked on MUA (I love this site) and to my horror there were really mixed reviews. Most people explained the obvious that protein shampoos can cause protein build up and can leave hair looking dry and brittle. Some even had this problem from the very first time. I (almost) took it straight back to the store but then thought I'd try it as everybody's hair is different, isn't it?! Worse case scenario is I take it back if my hair doesn't like it. Well, I just finished drying my hair and all I can say is YIPPEE DO DAH!! My hair looks and feels amazing!! Soft, glossy, less broken. Whaaaaat!! Here's the thing though. From looking at other reviews (not just on MUA) I realised that it's probably best to use this new regime max twice a week and use another, more moisturing product the other days. So that's what I'm going to do. I will use an argan/cococnut oil based line for the other days and report back in a few weeks. For now though, I wish I wasn't home from work today. I almost want to go out and flick my hair like a shampoo commercial. Ha!! Watch this space..... Update.... I'm still using this every two days. Loving how it's made my hair feel soft and silky. I wouldn't say it's 'repaired' my hair, I think that's an impossibility but it doesn't look as dry or broken. I'm trying to hold off from visiting the hair salon for colour retouch, even though my grey roots are about an inch thick (oh the horror) so maybe that has helped. I will continue to use this product and vow to NEVER use a heated blow-dry brush again.

About reviewer (8 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel


2.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I have dry ends with oily roots, the best products I have used are from the TIGI range ...(volume sham&con) I wanted to try this shampoo for a while and caved on the Black Friday sale at a local mall, after using this for a little while and trying to love it I just don't ;( it makes my hair very dull and dry and strips any moisture from the roots but almost leaves a waxy residue behind so that within the day it becomes flat and greasy!!! Will not be buying again am struggling to get through it TBH...

About reviewer (24 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Fair

HairBrown

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

If you have truly damaged hair that doesn't need significant moisturisation, you will love this shampoo. I was worried as it was an opaque formula that it might leave my hair greasy, but on the contrary, it left it clean and bouncy. My hair feels more resilient and styles better since using this shampoo. I feel it would work better for finer hair rather than thicker hair as it is not moisturising at all, so this is something to keep in mind if you are buying it, but my hair type - fine, porous, damaged and wavy LOVES it!

About reviewer (174 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesGray


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I took the plunge and got the $29 Liter bottle from Ulta after deciding between this and the Joico K-Pak Color Therapy Shampoo. This shampoo is really thick and leaves my hair very soft but after some time I feel like I need a more thorough cleansing. That's when I use my Regis Clarifying Shampoo to reset my hair which later on makes this shampoo work really well again.

About reviewer (423 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinVery Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I have extremely dry damaged bleached hair, and I am constantly trying new products as it is short and unmanageable now. I tried the whole extreme range - shampoo/conditioner/treatment/sealer etc and my hair is now worse then before :( made it more brittle, frizzy, and have more breakage then before.

About reviewer (16 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I also have a lot of very fine curly (and frizzy - sigh) hair and the entire Redken Extreme line (shampoo, conditioner, and anti-snap leave-in treatment) works great for me. In fact, it is better than anything else that i have used, and I don't buy cheap products. After lightening and highlighting several times over the past year, my hair was in awful condition - dry and over processed to the point that it was breaking off. Rather than cut it all off as I usually end up doing, I decided to give this line a try after reading numerous positive reviews on various sites. After using these products for a couple of weeks (shampoo and condition every three days and anti-snap treatment every day), my hair was much improved. I highly recommend this shampoo but you absolutely must use it with the conditioner and leave-in treatment to reap the full benefits. The shampoo is gentle and moisturizing but it won't significantly improve the condition of your hair without the other products. Once your hair is in better condition, you should cut back on using the products to once or twice a week since too much protein can make your hair feel hard.

About reviewer (91 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairOther, Curly, Medium

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

5 years ago

After all the reviews on this I had to give it a go. So So sSOOOOO unimpressed. My hair - highlighted, very thin, but a bit of it, and quite fine - had a bad incident with bleach/chemical straightening. Apparently, this is HG stuff for this kind of category. Where to begin - this was HORRIBLE for my hair. After the first few weeks my hair was in worse condition than it was before. I only used it twice like the hairdresser recommended.It started snapping out and was coming out in CHUNKS!!! I had never lost so much hair in my life. I stopped it straight away after I noticed the results and binned it. It seemed to work for others but i say USE WITH CAUTION!

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

Holy grail product for my highlighted, naturally curly but often straightened hair! Lathers well, smells good and a good dose of protein. I use this with the matching conditioner and anti-snap leave in at least once a week and the results have been amazing. Highly recommend this product for anyone who colors and heat styles their hair

About reviewer (12 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.

The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us