4.5

Created with Sketch.
264 reviews
87%
would repurchase
4.2/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

8 months ago

Good brushes especially for students and those who starts their journey in makeup. They work fine, they are soft, they don't shed (very important,when you apply your makeup and end up picking hairs from your face) and good cleaning behavior. Only negative is the black rubber at the end of the handle, it become sticky and gross within months of use. I use Mod Podge matte to coat it. It work also with NARS packaging.

About reviewer (11 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesBrown



4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Essential and high quality, and for my basic makeup needs, they're in fact all the brushes that I own. I use the buffing brush the most, to apply foundation, setting powder, and everything else that requires a whole-face application. Contour brush the second, to apply blushes and occasionally to contour. The detailer brush is great for applying concealer and eye shadow. I hardly ever use the pointed foundation brush but I should probably use it more to build coverage in troubling areas. I wash them weekly and they're still in great condition. I love the storage case the product came with and use it everyday, although it's hard to clean and it's got smudges of makeup all over it now...Overall I highly recommend them for beginners and everyone else. Update 9/12/2018: The brushes are still great, however, the surfaces of the handle/black plastic/rubber parts of them have...shrunk? They look wrinkly. Not sure if it's because I never try to avoid getting those parts wet. But it's purely a cosmetic issue and I'm not changing my review or rating of the product because of it. I've also found a new use for the pointed foundation brush, I use it to apply liquid foundation to my face first, then use a sponge to blend. I think by doing so I save some foundation from being absorbed into the sponge.

About reviewer (88 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

super soft bristles and affordable price point. personally though, I didn't have a use for the concealer brush so I gave it to a friend.

About reviewer (12 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

Had this set since 2013 or 2014, and the brushes held up beautifully in 4 years. They've never shed, and although the rubber bases have gone sticky that doesn't affect functionality. Over the years I've come to really use all the brushes. Used to be buffing brush was my favourite - but the expert face brush is softer and better for blending out liquid foundation. Now it's the spare and least used brush of the 4. The detailer brush I've used mostly for applying loose eyeshadow on the lids, though it'll work really well for spot concealing using a scribble technique The contour brush is now my favourite. Found it didn't work well for its stated purpose, but I love it for setting the undereyes, sides of nose and highlighting The foundation brush is great for applying creams/thick liquid before blending/buffing out. I use it for concealer, and the original brush's tip is fine enough it works great for spot concealing too. Overall this set has been such great value. Soft enough to use comfortably, every brush has utility in my daily application and solid construction that means I can see them holding up for another 4 years. In truth it's far more likely I'll be desperate for them to wear out first so I can get newer, sexier brushes ????????‍♀️

About reviewer (45 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBlack

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Love love love it!

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Love it! I use the buffer brush every day to set my makeup and the contour brush to contour (I also sometimes use it to blend my undereye concealer or to set it with powder - works amazingly for that as well). I rarely reach for the foundation brush, although it's a great brush it's just not my prefered way of application. The detailer brush is a bit stiff, can be used for precise eyeshadow application, spot concealing or for lips. Love the brush holder that comes with it, I use it when travelling and it holds all of my other essential brushes.

About reviewer (32 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

At risk of repeating what I have said in my other reviews of Real Techniques brushes, they are very soft, very affordable, and attractive to me because they are synthetic and cruelty free. I have had this set for a long, long time, and some of the brushes I use quite often. Here are my thoughts on the individual brushes in the set: -Contour Brush: I do like this for cream contour because it allows me to be precise but also to blend out harsh lines. I've also used it for setting the under eye with powder, which it is great for given the slightly tapered, oblong shape. It is nice for highlighting as well, though I do have to be careful to not go overboard. 4.5/5 -Pointed Foundation Brush: I find this one way too small for a full-face foundation brush, but the pointed shape is nice for getting into small areas around the nose and the corners of the eye and such. I prefer a damp beauty sponge to apply my foundation, so I rarely use this one. 3.5/5 -Detailer Brush: This one is great for applying concealer before buffing it out since it is small and slightly pointed at the end. I also sometimes use to to clean up the outer edges of my eyes after applying shadow using concealer, and in a pinch I have used it to set my eyeliner or apply shadow under the lower lashes. Because of the shape and size, it ends up being very versatile. 4/5 -Buffing Brush: This is my favorite brush from the kit, and I use it very often. It works really well for foundation application or for buffing out concealer after it has been dotted on to spots. It is soft to the touch and somewhat dense, though not too dense as to make application streaky. I have washed it dozens of times and it still holds its shape very well. 5/5 -the case: cool concept, not so useable for me personally. Even with the minor fail that is the foundation brush, this set is a steal at $12.

About reviewer (564 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairRed, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

I love this set. It's really soft and easy to use, as well as very versatile. You can use this with liquid, cream and powder products which is very useful. I also use the tiny concealer brush to do detailing on my eyeshadow because of how short and precise it is. I really love these four brushes and use them very often

About reviewer (15 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Fair, Cool

HairRed, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I feel Real Techniques is a staple in many people's collections and it's for good reason, they're inexpensive, they're good quality, and they're easy to get your hands on. They are so soft and easy to clean. I use the contour brush for setting powders, I don't think it's a great shape for carving the cheekbones, but it works under the eyes. The pointed foundation brush I used for undereye concealer for the longest time, now I think I've long it since then but I'm not terribly concerned, it hasn't been a favorite. I like the concealer brush for inner corner eye highlight, and the buffing brush is just great at buffing foundation into the skin. I don't like the case, its not as travel friendly as one would think, can't really fit a whole lot more brushes in it.

About reviewer (30 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinSensitive, Fair

HairBlond

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

I enjoy the two larger brushes in this set - I use the largest for powder to set my makeup and the other for highlight. Both are beautiful and soft and feel so luxurious! I am not a fan of the two smaller brushes - the flat foundation brush is just not what I'd use to apply foundation and I can't seem to find any other use for it, and the lip brush is ok, but it's rare that I require lip brushes to put my lip products on. Despite that, this set is worth it! I have washed them countless times but they don't shed and are still so soft!

About reviewer (231 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Olive, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown