4.4

Created with Sketch.
50 reviews
84%
would repurchase
4.0/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

There is this super moisturizing sugar scrubs at the place I get my mani/pedi’s done that leaves your hands/feet so soft for the longest time after using but it costs a fortune to buy from them ($50 CAD for the jar). When I saw the S&G Smoothie I thought why not give it a try? It is not nearly as oily as the one at my salon but it still does a fantastic job of exfoliating and moisturizing my skin. The smell is DELICIOUS! I use a small plastic spatula to scoop a small amount out of the tub and then rub between my hands to evenly distribute it before spreading it on the area I want to exfoliate. I absolutely love this for my feet. It sloughs off all the dry skin and preps my feet for some super emollient cream (like O’Keeffe’s) and then socks to allow it to soak in overnight. This sugar scrub is neither gentle nor agressive, it is just right to get the job done. If you are looking for a yummy scented body scrub, look no further.

About reviewer (968 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Curly, Medium

EyesBlue



3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I have ran out of this product and have not bought it again. Soap and Glory makes a fee other scrubs which are much better than this so I have no need to buy this again. The packaging is stereotypical s&g packing in the simple and classic script on pink container. It is a screw style lid that easily opens and closes and the opening is plenty big enough to fit hand in. It is a thick texture with varied sizes of exfoliators throughout the product. It is abrasive and effective... But it is a messy endeavor! The product isn't sticky enough that is stays together when applying, as exfoliating pieces fall off (I noticed it was mostly the oats). By time I'm finished applying there are bits of it all over the towel I stand on and I had to carefully fold it up to shake it out the window when I was finished. It works well but it was kind of sticky feeling when applying it. And I can not think of any situation where I ever need to smell like breakfast. And I am pretty much neurotic over cleanliness and since there are other scrubs that make a minimal mess that I have no need to use this one again

About reviewer (29 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinNormal, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Soap and Glory body scrubs are the only scrubs I use and have done for years, ive given up on other brands. This is affordable, lasts for months, smells delicious and does exactly what it says it'll do.

About reviewer (92 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

I love the way this feel on my skin. I like this scent it soft maple scent is not over power. I bought this at Target for $13.99 before tax. I have dry skin on days that I used this scrub I skip soap. The scrub is not too rough on my skin. This make my skin soft and smooth after ward. Great scrub.

About reviewer (128 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

First off, this smells so good! Maple syrup goodness, just like Demeter's French Toast. I've tried a lot of body scrubs in my day. Everything from store bought to homemade and to me this isn't that superb. I scoop some out with my hands, spread it between them, and go to work on the area I want to smooth. But unfortunately, it feels like this stuff starts to dissolve and disappear before I can even get a good exfoliating session started. I also don't like that it's in a jar and would much prefer a tube version. I'll stick to faux Salux cloths from now on.

About reviewer (141 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I really really like Soap & Glory and I can find it in Boots easily. Great classic sugar scrub, doesn't irritate the skin like a salt scrub (but this does contain some salt), bit fan of the ingredients to include shea butter. I don't necessarily need a moisturizer after using this, but often follow with one during the dry winter months. I've gone on to purchase this twice already and a jar lasts a decent amount of time compared with other scrubs I've used. I like everything about this but the smell, I really don't like smelling like pancakes after a shower. I find the maple scent overwhelms and stays on the skin so I cannot wear perfume after using this because the scent just doesn't mix. Because of this I only use this on the weekends.

About reviewer (83 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinVery Dry, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Straight, Coarse

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

I have quite sensitive skin and I suffer from Keratosis Pilaris (KP) (not too badly) which is sort of bumpy, goosy skin on the backs of my arms and a little on my thighs that can look red on my arms particularly. As all KP girls know, this means that I really need to exfoliate to unclog the pores, but 99% of exfoliators inflame the skin (common KP problem). KP also means you have dry skin. So exfoliation while properly moisturising are a hard balance to hit. I've tried everything. I won't write a list because the idea exhausts me. The one thing that does help is St Ives Apricot Scrub. I've always thought it was cheap since it's only $10 a bottle, but I've recently realised that I really only get about 4 applications out of a bottle. Not so cheap. It is also a bit rough, but it was the only thing that helped so I've put up with that. However, I've just started using the Breakfast Smoothie after picking it up for only $15AUD at Mecca. Very, very impressed. Of course it smells amazing, like other reviewers have said. It also seems to somehow melt into the skin just the tiniest bit making it easy to use. The exfoliating grains are small and not too rough but you can definitely feel that they're doing their thing. This is a very hard balance! So many exfoliators are either too rough that they feel like you're grinding harsh sand into your skin, or they're too gentle that they really don't do anything. This is perfect. The best part of this exfoliator are the oils and moisturising ingredients. I feel like I don't need to apply body moisturiser after using this. I also don't feel like I need to use a tonne - I rub a bit between by palms briefly and then apply to skin. It seems to happily spread. I do try to keep whatever body part I'm applying it to and the scrub out of the water - not sure if it would just dissolve in the water? It feels like it definitely wouldn't dissolve as quickly as a salt scrub though. Will definitely keep using. It's also fun and luxurious - much more of a treat than the St Ives!!

About reviewer (44 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair

HairRed

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This product really helped with my dry skin and even removed fake tan. I apply a tablespoon amount to my loofah and just scrub. It also has the most delicious smell ever, like banoffee pie. I switch between this and the Sugar Crush body scrub.

About reviewer (16 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair, Not Sure

HairBlond, Straight, Medium

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Overall: 9/10 I like very scrubby body scrubs. This one is a sugar and salt scrub which makes it really effective even with a small amount. It smells like maple syrup and toasted muesli, really yummy. The price is not too expensive. I took one point off for the tub packaging, it does get water in it. I would repurchase.

About reviewer (156 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel


3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

The overall texture was nice - felt scrubby but not too rough, and went on pretty easily. I didn't love the tub because it was hard to wrangle in the shower, and the scent was overwhelming (especially at first).

About reviewer (63 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinNormal, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesGreen




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us