3.5

Created with Sketch.
135 reviews
59%
would repurchase
3.5/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

I wasn't sure if I was ready for liquid foundation, so I thought a powder one would be a good start. Plus, I wanted the mineral SPF. It's been years since I tried this. I'm AAB/NC25 and Golden Beige #13 is a good match for me. I use the Bare Minerals Beautiful Finish Foundation Brush to apply. I don't have any complaints with the packaging - there's a twist lid which covers/exposes the sifter holes, you tap some out into the lid, swirl the brush to pick up the powder, and buff onto skin. It goes on nice for a powder and feels fine on my skin, but it makes my skin look more crepe-y than normal. I'm ok with my lines and fine wrinkles but somehow this really emphasizes my skin texture and not in a flattering way. I'll have to try applying with a different brush perhaps?

About reviewer (970 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown



3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

I really wanted to love this foundation because it seems to be kinder to skin than regular foundations but unfortunately it doesn’t quite work for me. I want to give this foundation 3,5 lippies. The application is a bit tricky to master and it requires quite a lot of buffing, otherwise the finish will be uneven - some areas will be cakey, while others will be almost bare. If applied correctly this foundation will have a nice effect. It does not last all day though, especially in warm weather. After a few hours it kinda ”melts” visibly on face. Also, it does not conceal shine - it might be more suitable for dry skin. Note: I haven’t tried this foundation in combination with primer! It is an OK foundation regardless of the minuses. But it is quite pricy so I expected more from it! I don’t see myself repurchasing unless I find a really good promotion.

About reviewer (113 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I used to use this in my 20s now and again and always liked it but ELDW was my favourite. Well I saw this on offer and for nostalgia's sake I bought it. I bought the same colour as I'd used before - Fairly Light. I don't know if the colour has changed or it's all down to me not being 20 anymore (sad) but it adds ten years to my face! Every time I use this, my confidence is sapped. I've tried it with mineral veil under, over. Nothing. It's very yellowy and beigey sallow toned so it makes my sallowness more enhanced, I look like an old excavated papyrus. Every pore, and wrinkles I didn't know I had, right there. I have to put, as a reviewer below me also has to, a talc based light powder on top, before I can emerge. Which defeats the purpose of a talc free oh so natural powder. Maybe powder foundations just aren't for skin that's not in its prime, as I remember liking this exact shade before. I don't remember it being so beige, for some reason I thought of it as a pale pink. I guess I bought the wrong shade but who knows. I'm going to try and mix this with moisturiser (something I remember doing in the past) albeit that too defeats the purpose of an easy powder foundation. I'm thinking of mixing it with strobe cream and my other luminous serums which are pinkish and seeing if that helps. I've given this 3 lippies because I've taken into account nostalgia but the truth is it's really a 2 for me until I figure out how to alleviate the ageing this does to me. Also, I'm giving it the benefit of the doubt that it'll be better in summer when my skin isn't as dry perhaps. For now, and after all these years, ELDW is still the one and only for me. I didn't realise until trying this, how much ELDW makes me look younger as well as better. I wouldn't recommend bare minerals foundation to anyone over 30 but that's just my advice.

About reviewer (122 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I wish I had tried this a lot sooner, it's expensive af and hard to test in Sweden, but I finally took a chance and was lucky with the color. Clings less to my flakes than any liquid tinted product I've ever used. Very nice color correction on me, can be built to at least medium coverage of color. Texture-wise it gives a very natural/skin-like surface, but can exacerbate my pores and blemishes a little bit (even though it's not really shiny, which I was afraid of), so I sometimes use a little translucent powder with talc on top (Wet n wild coverall pressed atm) in places. Some may feel the need for concealer, primer might help (will experiment & update). (Update: I see no difference in texture with either Clarins Instant Smooth Perfecting Touch or Monistat Chafing Gel underneath this. On the other hand, I no longer see the enhanced texture; I think maybe because I was using Fair at first and have switched to Fair Ivory or Fairly Light - somehow using a too-light foundation can enhance texture.) Color notes: I read a couple of reviews of Fair stating it was too light and too pink to cover redness. Not on me - it's very neutral bordering on yellowish on my skin - looking in the brightest daylight I can get in this Swedish winter. UPDATE: so I eventually decided I was wrong, Fair was too light for me. I have Fair Ivory and Golden Fair, and also a Matte version in Fairly Light - bizarrely, all of these seem to work well on my pale, cool/lots of red/but also has some yellow, pale skin. I haven't been able to check in full direct sunlight yet, but in inside sunny daylight they look fine. One interesting thing: Fair is higher coverage on me than the others. Makes some sense (more titanium dioxide), but means I now understand how Wayne Goss could call this "skin-like" and invisible; I also have to build it up/pack it on more and still can't quite cover my deeper red capillaries etc. The Golden Fair surprised me, I assumed it'd be deeper and warmer as in orange-y, but it's really very pale but yes, yellow-ish almost towards green/olive (as opposed to golden peach-orange). It's clearly not the closest match for me, and yet blended out I honestly can't tell, and I'm experimenting with it on the reddest parts of my face. Probably really matches a lot of very fair Asian & Mediterranean folks. (For comparison, about 30% of foundation ranges tend to have a palest "porcelain" shade that works on me, so I'm not the palest human being, but I guess up there. Mac Face & Body in N1 is quite a bit too dark on me even in summer, need to do neck & chest & blend well to work that. Clarins "Skin Perfecting Cream" BB in 00 Fair is just a tiny bit too dark on me. Wet'n'wild Coverall Pressed Powder in Fair is fine on me.)

About reviewer (18 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I came back to this product this year in desperation. I used it throughout my early 20s when it was kind of the thing to do, and never felt very strongly about it. I don't believe, in retrospect, that my application skills were quite there yet. I turned forty this year, and have enjoyed the pleasures of dry, flaky, hypothyroid skin, along with adult cystic acne! Yay! I consulted a derm about skincare, went to my gynecologist/endocrinologist for hormonal help, and when it got as good as it was gonna get, I bought this foundation about a month ago. Shelby Wilson, the YouTube guru taught me how to apply, and I set to work. I AM IN LOVE. It truly covers what I need covered, without settling into fine lines or creasing. It lasts all day, and best of all...my painful cystic acne is gone. Even more...I swear, my skin glows now, even without the product on. So, so pleased with bareMinerals.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Powders suck the moisture out my dry skin and enhances lines. It doesn’t matter what I do for prep - I’ve tried it all - oils, butters, you name it. I’m not really sure what made me think this powder would be any different, perhaps seeing good reviews here on MUA from similar skin types and getting it on a good sale. But it is different, and I’m wowed - this product doesn’t dry my skin out! I suppose it’s because it’s true to its name, containing just the minerals that typically get added to a base. There’s nothing to counteract my moisturizing efforts. I think this is worth a try for anyone who is generally happy with their skin or skin care routine as there seems to be nothing in it that adds moisture/oil or reduces/removes oil. It can be lightly brushed on with a big fluffy brush to get light coverage, or buffed in with a firm kabuki to increase coverage to medium. I haven’t tried any of the brushes Bare Minerals sells to compliment this product (the older full flawless face brush or new beautiful finish face brush) to see if either works better than my Sigma round kabuki or large powder brush. But I plan to. It has a little bit of shimmer in it, certainly not anything sparkly, but just enough to give a little bit of radiance so the original formula is not good for anyone wanting a matte finish. I’ve worn it a full day and I am not feeling it on my skin both upon initial application and during the day. I also don’t feel I need to touch it up at all, but I never have any issues with foundations disappearing due to my skin type, on me it doesn’t fade or shift. It does, however, rub off a little if I don’t do a light misting of facial spray, which I think also improves its appearance. It’s not by any means a full coverage product but I think concealing any problem areas first, then applying the bare minerals powder, one should be happy with the outcome. I’ll have to admit trying this product finally taught me what my true skin tone is. I always thought I was warm, but I’m actually cool, as the warm shades looked very yellow when doing test swatches on my face. I ended up getting two different shades as I have been experimenting with using this both as a foundation and as a finishing powder. One shade currently is an excellent match to my skin tone when used alone; the other shade a little lighter as I think my foundation (even the bare minerals complexion rescue) makes it darken a little. As the actual level of SPF anyone would get would depend on how thick this powder is applied, I plan on using a separate sunscreen underneath, the only factor preventing me from calling this a HG product. I am also finding this does not hold up on humid days or if I sweat excessively... I carry a tissue and blot sweaty areas (upper lip, forehead) and some comes off onto the tissue.

About reviewer (315 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This is my HG foundation it provides the most luminous healthy finish that looks natural. It has never irritated my extremely sensitive skin and I like that it contains a physical sunscreen for extra protection. I dust a light layer all over my face then pinpoint conceal blemishes by stippling over them with an e.l.f. contour eyeshadow brush. It's transfer resistant, lasts all day, and wears evenly. I buy the Holiday edition at Christmas that is much larger than the regular container. It's cheaper per gram and the packaging is beautiful. I then depot some of the foundation into a vintage Stratton powder compact for travel. Update: Since using a sunscreen with 20% zinc oxide religiously I've found both the shades Fairly Light and Golden Fair to be WAY to dark and Fair and Fair Ivory are too cool toned. NARS Chantilly is now an exact match for my skin tone. The formula is beautiful so if you're a nc/nw10 or above it should work for you.

About reviewer (7 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairRed, Curly, Fine

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I love this product! It looks so natural but still covers imperfections. I have very sensitive, dry skin and this foundation looks flawless. It doesn't sweat or rub off like many liquid foundations.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair

HairRed

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I have to say this is the most amazing foundation I have ever used, I have used many foundations over the year's, Chanel, Estee Lauder, Gurerlain, Clinique, Mac etc. and this is the best I have ever used, it feels lovely on my skin which is rosacea sensitive skin. The product is very buildable and at first I thought it was going to look like powder on the skin, but when you buff it in it seems to melt into the skin and become luminous, I put a second layer on as I like more coverage and it's beautiful, it lasts all day and my skin looks really fresh by the end of the day. The packaging is really clever to so you don't use too much product a little goes a long way, it doesn't feel like I'm wearing foundation but has great coverage. It is very inexpensive compared to other brands, and it only has 5 ingredients in it. I have also purchased the primer and the mineral veil, and will be trying more of their products too. Sorry I didn't try this years ago I'm not going to change foundation again.

About reviewer (7 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I really like this stuff. I was very against powder foundations for a very long time but decided to give this item a whirl after receiving a deluxe sample in an order. I was very impressed that this powder really does melt into the skin like a liquid foundation would. I don't bother with the matching primer or mineral veil setting powder and this wears on my combo/oily skin nicely even in hot weather. Even though I'm more on the oily side (drying out as I get older) I still really enjoy the dewy finish of this. It's very flattering and healthy looking. Shade Fairly Light is a great match for my neutral toned fair skin without being too light or too orange. Definitely going to purchase the full size. With that said, this is MESSY. I hate loose products because of this but will deal.

About reviewer (364 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Neutral

HairBlack, Curly, Fine

EyesHazel




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us