OPI Black Shatter

OPI Black Shatter

4.0

301 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS


Start your review


on 10/11/2016 11:57:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I love this polish's effect. It is perfect for Halloween or for any occasion that you want a unique effect for. I wore Black Shatter over Zoya Thandie for a creepy Halloween mani and I absolutely love it. As this was the first time I had used a shatter polish I wasn't sure how this would turn out but it looks great.

The shattered texture is awesome and as it says on the bottle it looks like cracked asphalt over the orange. You apply this over slightly dry polish and it cracks quickly leaving behind the shattered finish.

Despite the fact that this bottle of polish is years old the texture and consistency were both excellent. It was easy to apply and you only need one coat to achieve the desired effect. Additionally I used one coat of a QDTC and my nail beds are smooth despite their rough looking appearance.

This comes packaged in the standard OPI polish bottle and has a standard polish brush. I got this polish before the advent of OPI's Pro Wide brush. The top of the bottle is unique in that it has slightly textured shattered top.

I have no idea how much this bottle cost when new nor do I know if this type of polish is still available but I like it enough to look for more online. I think this effect would be great over a gray or a green polish just for fun. I would definitely purchase this one again.

UPDATE 10/15/2016 - I got good wear from this topper. No chips until today when I was cleaning so I am not surprised that it chipped. I still love the effect of this polish.



on 1/23/2015 2:53:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

My only crackle, so l'm no expert! 1 from Home Bargains in the UK!! They have other shatters too. After a couple of uses it does go thick and lumpy, but l imagine it will be fine with thinner. Initially it dries to a matte finish but after applying lotions etc. it turns shiny but not glossy. If you apply a thin coat it will crackle into smaller pieces, thick coats ensure bigger crackles. I don't normally tc this as l prefer the matte look. It looks great under metallic polishes.


on 10/20/2014 2:54:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This is the best shatter polish I have found. Easy to apply and crackles quickly and easily. OPI has great brushes and formulas.


on 7/30/2014 9:07:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

My 8 year old (she's now 9) made me get her this and for her it's great. For me? I am just not into the whole shatter/crackle fad. Meh.


on 11/17/2013 8:14:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I loved it the first two times I used it. After a few months it completely dried out and the polish it now very thick and gloopy. I had to throw it out.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 5/30/2013 10:08:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I'd love this even more if it didn't get goopy and unusable. Had to toss it.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 5/30/2013 9:51:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is such a fun polish. You can have a delicate or chunky looking shatter effect depending on how thick of a coat you apply. For those of you who are having trouble with the polish drying out, OPI recommends purchasing its polish thinner to keep it alive. I bought my thinner online, but I've also seen it at a Kroger grocery store. I bought this after my Sally Hansen Crackle dried out. I only have this in black because I don't want to wear shatter all of the time and black matchs most polishes.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 5/1/2013 1:02:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this along with a few other Shatters and they dried out in less than 6 months. I also have Crackle and they seem to be a better value since they are cheaper and don't dry out so fast, if they dry out at all. I WONT be buying Shatter again.


Age: Unknown

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Other

OPI's Shatter nail polish is foolproof to apply and the look is exactly as advertized, which doesn't happen very often! I loved Black Shatter so much I went back to Sally's and bought several other colors. I had so much fun experimenting and I got loads of compliments! Why the lackluster rating then? Well, within about 2 months they all dried out! completely useless! I was so disappointed and had to throw them out. I suppose I would buy again if I was planning to use it all in a short period of time.

This product works perfectly until it doesn't work at all.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 9/27/2012 4:06:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I usually love OPI but I would defintely not rebuy this product. It's fun at first but in a matter of weeks it is good for the trash bin as it becomes thick and just unusable. I haven't had such problems with another brand's crackle.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.

Popular Polishes


Gel Couture
Gel Couture
29 Reviews
Miracle Gel
Miracle Gel
217 Reviews
Bubble Bath
Bubble Bath
367 Reviews
Nail Polish
Nail Polish
236 Reviews
Back to Top