3.5

Created with Sketch.
420 reviews
65%
would repurchase
3.6/5
package quality

price range
$9.30 on Lookfantastic
Shop Now

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 months ago

I was surprised to see so many bad reviews of this foundation, but I guess if you're a full coverage kind of girl this might not be for you. My skin has recently become fairly dry with a more normal T Zone so I've been on a mission to find a new drugstore foundation to work with my skin. I am very lucky to have blemish free skin, although I do have acne scarring and large pores, and exaggerated smile lines. This was my last attempt before going back to my OG, Mac Face and Body, and to my delight, this is the closest drugstore dupe I've found for the coverage I got from that. It's pigmented enough to even out any redness and make things put more together but still looks like skin. It doesn't sink into my pores or lines, no creasing, and lasts a full day. I don't set with powder, but do spray a liberal amount of setting spray when my makeup is done. This beats Loreal Fresh Wear, Maybelline 24 Hour Wear - I liked them but couldn't find the exact shade and they were slightly too full coverage for me. It's my daily go to, for more glam looks I go with Physicians Formula Healthy Mix.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlond

EyesGray



5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 months ago

absolutely love this foundation. The choice of color is perfect blend for my skin tone and it is not drying, pretty moisturizing and my skin feels breathable still after applied on face. And I love how the color of the foundation has wide range of tone and I love how I don't look pale after applying. It has become of my my favorite foundation.

About reviewer (9 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 months ago

This product is a massively surprising win for me! I bought it when I went on holiday and forgot to pack foundation (do not even ASK how that happened) and my choices were this, Maybelline or another Rimmel one, the one with the orange lid which I have and do not like. I decided on this one purely because I know that the colour 100 Porcelain is perfect for me and I couldn't remember my colour in Maybelline. I am so surprised, I really really enjoy using this foundation. It's light and creamy, gives good enough coverage that I don't need concealer to cover my rosacea, but has a really natural finish. I don't like heavy foundation, I want my skin to look like skin even if it isn't perfect. I prefer to apply and blend with fingers and use a sponge to give an even finish. It does transfer a little so needs powdering which I don't like, I just prefer no powder nowadays. It's good value for money, and while I would prefer a squeezy tube it's not a deal breaker for me. Glad to have a found an affordable product that works on my picky skin!

About reviewer (257 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Curly, Fine

EyesHazel


1.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

ETA: as of 3/2018 i believe this has been discontinued in the USA. My local Walmart still sells it, but Rimmel's website no longer lists it. -------------- I'm rewriting my review 8.2018 for this because it used to be a nice foundation on my skin (2017) but I applied it today - and YUCK. I mixed my old bottle I had, shade 103 True Ivory, with a new bottle of 101 Classic Ivory - both still looked dark (for an ivory shade) when I mixed them. When I applied (with damp sponge) the color was lighter on my skin than I thought it would be. However, maybe it's because I've been testing lots of foundations over the past year or so and have been able to try different formulas and see what suits my skin -- but this stuff was just YUCK. It's very creamy and feels heavy on the skin (like a lotion). The colors are also a bit dark and pink toned (if you are more yellow) -- and once applied, it didn't cover any redness whatsoever on a pimple I had. You could see it clear as day (compared to some other cheap foundations I have). By 9AM - I peeked in the mirror - my foundation was fading on my cheeks and on my nose (or completely wore away?) and you could see the redness peeking through. Since I have been testing other foundations, I know that this is not normal (or compared to yesterday when I wore a better one!). I also noticed that before I left the house (so right after application) - no matter how much bronzer or contour I applied, it's like it completely absorbed into my foundation or disappeared. Same goes for how it wore off my skin by 9AM. I did wear primer underneath like always. I'm not sure if the newer bottle I bought this year is a different formula? (looks the same as my old bottle so I don't think so...) but this is getting donated and I can't wait to wash it off when I go home for lunch! Yuck. Save your drugstore money - get CoverGirl Outlast or Catrice instead.

About reviewer (432 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This was my first foundation, and I hated it because it emphasised dry patches a LOT, however I didn't use primer or exfoliate my face as much as I should have. I bought it again recently to see if my changes in skincare routine would make this foundation look better, but it still looks dry and has a strange powdery finish. I found it patchy in some places, and it sits on top of the skin instead of sinking in. I find that whenever I touch my face even after powdering, a lot of product comes off and moves around. It's definitely not a 'weightless' foundation, and you can feel it on your skin, which I don't really like. It's light-medium coverage, and it's relatively inexpensive at around £8.99-9.99 in the UK, but I won't be repurchasing this again. There are cheaper foundations that are just much better - I'd take the £5 makeup revolution fast base foundation over this any day. The bottle is made of glass, which is a nice touch and makes it feel less than a cheap drugstore foundation, but that's the only good thing about this foundation I can think of. I definitely wouldn't recommend this foundation to anyone with dry skin.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesGray


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Decent coverage, thick liquid formula. However comes off easily and does not have a good range of shades. The light ones are too light but darker shades are a bit too dark too.

About reviewer (209 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Relaxed, Medium

EyesBlack


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I've gone through a bottle and a half of this stuff, but I decided recently to switch to a different foundation. It's fairly thick, but I still have to use two pumps to cover my face. It tends to separate throughout the day and it can be REALLY cakey! I wear glasses and it all comes off around where my glasses sit only a few minutes after I've applied it - even after priming, powdering and using a setting spray. It wipes off pretty much whenever I touch my face, which can make blowing my nose very annoying. The packaging is pretty annoying as it falls over all the time - it's so much thinner at the bottom that you also tend to run out without realising. I wouldn't recommend this as there are much better foundations available with a greater shade range at a similar price point.

About reviewer (7 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesGreen


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

The coverage is baddddddddd, in my opinion. I’m used to DW and fenty level coverage so this was a shocker to me. The shade range in the UK is decent, not amazing but decent. This foundation lasted a while on my skin. It’s a decent foundation, not good nor bad

About reviewer (2 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinOily, Medium Brown, Warm

HairBlack, Curly, Medium

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

On 2nd bottle of this foundation as it's only $3.40 at my local discount store atm. It's a nice wrk day foundation as it's a Light to MED coverage. The shade range in Toronto unfortunately is restrictive. I wear Sand when I ought to be wearing a next shade up however I get it to wrk w/ a lot of blush / bronzer powders. It's a good basic one. Not too good but not that bad either.

About reviewer (334 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Medium Brown, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.