4.5

Created with Sketch.
28 reviews
82%
would repurchase
4.4/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

This is for two BH Cosmetic Brushes: V3 Vegan Contour Brush V5 Vegan Blending Brush These brushes come in a beautiful slate gray box that matches the color of the brush handles. The brushes have nice long handles and the fibers are so soft. I made a mistake and thought that the blending brush was a crease brush, but this does wonderful on my eyes for applying eyeshadow all over the lid to set primer. If you have bigger eyes, it might even work for the crease. My eyes are too small to use this in the crease, but I do use it to blend out the shadows. It does a wonderful job. I love the contour brush for applying bronzer to the cheeks. It is so soft and blends out with no problems. I got these on 50% off direct from BH Cosmetics website. For the price, you cannot beat the quality. I think these brushes are even better than some high end. I think they are comparable to Morphe brushes, but just a little more soft.

About reviewer (243 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOily, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I was not expecting much with these brushes as they were so cheap. I have used expensive brush sets/kits such as Bobbi Brown, NYX, Morphe, etc. But a friend of mine who does makeup professionally urged me to try these. I bought the 14 piece Signature brush set (that also comes with a gorgeous white and gold canister for storage) for less than $20 bucks about 3 years ago. I use most of them every day and wash about every 2 weeks. No fallout problems, shape problems, washing problems, and they STILL are doing their jobs for me after 3 years of having them and daily use! My expensive-as-hell Bobbi Brown and Morphe brushes did not last this long or as well this long, and some of the brushes in those lines were not even worth buying. ALL the BH work for me, so I don't have to mix and match from other lines or sets. I would encourage anyone to try these! They excel for an inexpensive brush set!

About reviewer (21 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Regularly $9.99 Purchased on sale for $6.49 BH Cosmetics Smokey Eye Essential Kit - Overall Design; These brushes have longer handles than I am used to which I really enjoy These sit a little above the rest of my brushes in the cup making them easy to pick out when I need to utilize them. The handles are a hollow metal making them very light but sturdy feeling in the hand. The ferrule design is similar to Wet -n- Wild which i like because they seem fused to the handle leaving zero wiggle. Making them also feel sturdy while washing. I personally dislike it when I can feel the ferrule giving during a good wash. It can make even the most expensive brush give off an air of cheapness. These economically priced brushes are a great add on to anyone's collection. The all black design and how the end of the handle flairs scream sleek. The overall hair length on the diffusing brushes seems to add to their ability to blend out making an even novices eye shadow look make it seem like they had their makeup done like a pro. The hairs on these brushes are pillowy soft. You would really have to smoosh these down on your eye to mess things up. Large Diffusing Tapered Brush - I love to use this brush on a completed eye look to help diffuse an harsh lines and blend the eye shadow so it looks seamless Small Diffusing Tapered Brush - I use this one to blend out the crease into transition to make it flawless. I also use it to blend any precise lines, for example lid color and outer V. Tapered Precision Brush - This is used to place crease color and blend crease. I then go over it with the small diffusing tapered brush. Eye Shader Brush - Great for packing color. I like to use it damp with foils. Smudger Brush - I use this for lower lash line color Eye Detailing Brush - This brush is great for V work and any small detail work near lash line Bent Liner Brush - I suck at these type of brushes. The hairs never stay together for me on the end when using them with gel liners. Cant get a precise enough line. I'll try with colors on bottom lash line. I do like to use this brush for corner of eye highlight. Overall I really enjoy these brushes. I could get a full eye look using them no problem but I love my C441 Crown brush for my crease as the tapered precision brush takes a little longer for crease work.

About reviewer (67 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOily, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I have quite a collection of BH Cosmetics brushes, I have purchased primarily brushes from their vegan line, Studio Pro and some of their other individual brushes which are not part of a collection. I have not purchased any of their sets simply because I prefer to pick and choose the brushes that I am going to get the most use out of. That said, I have accumulated quite a few. Vegan brushes - V1 large powder brush - very soft brush for all over the face, covers a lot of area V2 pointed blending brush - soft brush for bronzer or powder V3 contour brush - I use this one for highlighting the cheeks, would be great for contour as well V4 foundation brush - my favorite foundation brush, distributes product nicely without smearing all over the face V5 blending brush - soft and fluffy blending brush, nice for blending or crease work, have 2 of these V6 large eyeshadow brush - nice for applying color to lid, too big for detailed work V7 concealer brush - my favorite brush for concealer when I don't have a sponge handy, blends well V8 lip brush - really nice brush for lip palettes, or when you want to have control of how much gloss you put on V9 eye precision brush - this one is great for eyeliner, smudging out or detailed work, have 2 of these Studio Pro brushes - SP #5 pointed crease brush - have 2 of these, really nice for crease work, one of my most used brushes SP #6 blending crease brush - great for blending, fluffy but you have nice control, bristles don't wave all over SP #7 flat shader brush - nice for packing color on lid, medium size brush SP #8 small pointed crease brush - great for detailed crease work, applying color to outer corner SP #9 small flat shader brush - smaller option for lids, outer corner Miscellaneous brushes - #3 angled shadow brush - nice for outer lid work, not available individually but can be purchased in the defining eye set #12 blending brush - one of my favorite blending brushes, no frills but gets the job done, nice and fluffy #18 precision eyeliner brush - very small brush for eyeliner work, also can be purchased as part of the defining eye set #23 classic smudge brush - shorter bristles but can be used for lids or smudging out #28 spooley brush - very lightweight brush, I use to tame brows #30 large tapered blending brush - soft bristles but not fluffy, would be suitable for contour or highlight #32 round angled blending brush - great for eyeshadow blending, very soft, part of the defining eye set. As you can see, I have a lot of BH brushes and out of all of them there is only one that I don't care for. I have the flat liner brush (#5) which I find the bristles to be stiffer and kind of rough. This is the only brush by BH that I really don't use. My experience with brushes is limited to BH, Wet N Wild and ELF. I also have a Bare Escentuals brush that I have had for many years which for a long time was the only brush I used for face. I am experimenting with eyeshadow a lot now and find that brushes are essential to have. I haven't tried any of the higher end brands such as MAC, Morphe and Sigma so I cannot compare. I find that these brushes are great and are perfect for my needs. They are very affordable too, BH has sales quite often and that is when I purchase them, usually at 25-30% off. When I buy on sale they range from around $2 for some of the eye brushes, to around $5 for the large vegan face brush. I truly like all of these brushes, and use them daily. Some of these are available in sets, for example I just purchased the Studio Pro eye brush set because I wanted to try all the brushes in the set anyway, and they were around $1 per brush. As mentioned previously some of the no name brushes are out of stock on the website so they are no longer available individually but you can purchase in a 3 brush set for around $4-5 dollars, again you can't be $1 for a brush! With the exception of one or maybe 2 of these brushes, I certainly would purchase again. There are a handful of them where I already have 2 and would like purchase more. These are good quality brushes, wash up well and don't shed. I give these 5 stars without hesitation and they get daily use. They are the best brushes that I have tried.

About reviewer (168 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Other, Not Sure

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I'm reviewing the 14-piece Metallic Pink Brush set. Regularly priced at $21.99 but BH cosmetics marks them down at least 25% on a regular basis. I got mine around Christmas and they were marked down to $9.99. These are the 14 brushes that come in the set: 1) Lip brush 2) Small smudge brush 3) Small angled liner brush 4) Angled liner brush 5) Concealer brush 6) Medium eyeshadow brush 7) Shading brush 8) Firm blending brush 9) Rounded blending brush 10) Pointed crease brush 11) Large shadow brush 12) Foundation brush 13) Angled blush/contour brush 14) Powder brush The bristles on these brushes are synthetic. They come in a roll-up travel case which I like. I like the metallic hot pink & black color scheme of this brush set too. These honestly perform well. They feel soft on the face and apply/blend makeup how I want them to. I've had them for over 6 months and haven't had any problems at all with them shedding or falling apart like I've experienced in the past with other low-priced makeup brushes. I've only ever tried using them with powders but their website says these will work well with cream products too. I use the large shadow brush and powder brush every time I wear makeup. I never use the foundation brush. I don't really like the blush brush. I use all of the other brushes in the set on a pretty regular basis. I'd definitely purchase BH cosmetics brushes again... wouldn't spend full price on them, but wouldn't hesitate to pick up more during a sale.

About reviewer (36 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I'm not quite sure why the world doesn't know about this brand of brushes. I purchased the BHcosmetics Eye Essential 7 piece set of brushes about 5 years ago from either a TJMaxx or a Marshalls (I may have paid $10, at the time I was just starting to get into makeup and wasn't worried about quality over quantity). Recently I realized that the brush set I got years ago had a brand on the handle and when I looked it up, not only did this brand actually have a website, the same exact set I have is still being sold for only $7 USD. These brushes are absolutely amazing (I care a lot more about quality these days). They have never once shed a hair, the paint has not chipped, they hold their shape, and they apply makeup beautifully after many years of daily use and regular washing. The website has a great selection of brush sets and singles, and have a vegan line. If you happen to see this review and you happen to be in the market for some new, affordable, quality makeup brushes, check out this company before you grab the more popular brands. Try it, you'll like it! :]

About reviewer (11 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOily, Olive, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I like BH cosmetics brushes, especially the Studded Couture Set, that one is high quality, they don't shed, the brushes perform really well and it has a good variaty of face and eye brushes. <object onclick="ga('send', {hitType: 'event',eventCategory: 'Ajax Interaction',eventAction: 'PlayVideo',eventLabel: ''});" width="360" height="320"><param name="movie" value="https://www.youtube.com/v/JeTrQikBFC8"><param name="wmode" value="transparent"><embed src="https://www.youtube.com/v/JeTrQikBFC8" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="360" height="320"></object>

About reviewer (14 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

When I was looking for some new makeup brushes a friend of mine said she's used BH cosmetics and loved them for the price and quality. I ordered them online since their not available in stores. I got a 14 piece set with a purple carrying case. I absolutely love them!! They hold onto product very well and are beautiful. The bristles are very soft and do not fall out whatsoever. For the price and quality, I would highly recommend BH cosmetics :)

About reviewer (7 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I've read good reviews about this company and being a collector of brushes, I decided to give it a try and buy the sculpt and blend 2 set. If you're someone who owns brushes from high end brands such as MUFE, Sigma, MAC, Zoeva and hakuhodo then you'll be very disappointed with this set. I recommend this to someone who just started doing make up. It's a good set to practice with but it will not hold up for a long time. It's the kind of brushes that you replace with better ones through time. The handles feel very cheap and the bristles could have been softer (I have cheaper brushes with softer bristles).

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Olive

HairBrunette

EyesBlack


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

I am very disappointed. I ordered the pop art brush set (striped tube) last year (Dec 2014 ish) and am very very happy with that set. I re-ordered that set for backups in Dec 2015 and also a sculpt and blend set. The sculpt and blend set seems okay but omg, the pop art set is garbage compared to the one I got previously. The angled eyeshadow brush has probably half the bristles as compared to the old one, which I adore... this new one I don't think will be any good. All of them feel cheaper and less bristled than last year's. I'm pretty bummed about the quality going downhill. I don't expect to be ordering from BH again. Their eyeshadow palettes I've gotten were all not as good as others from the drugstore and the brushes I expect will continue to get cheaper and cheaper every year, as appears to be the trend in retail. bah

About reviewer (32 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown