4.6

Created with Sketch.
26 reviews
92%
would repurchase
4.0/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This is a super interesting oil that is marketed for both hair and skincare use. It has a very fluid, light texture and I read somewhere it's classified more of a dry oil. There is little to no smell (which is a huge plus for me). The bottle also has a plastic guard that helps in dispensing drops, not a gush of oil, which is super helpful and honestly one of the best oil dispensing mechanisms I've used in a while. I originally bought this to use for my hair - to address split ends and frizz, and add smoothness/shine, but I found that while it provided some shine to my hair, I didn't find it helped with my frizz. For reference I have natural untreated/not colored thick asian hair that just has some natural frizz when air drying. I typically used argan/sweet almond or coconut oil (pure and in products) before getting this oil and they all worked much better than this product for hair. With quite a bit of product remaining, I used this on my face and it has been great. I didn't react to it, and it adds that extra bit of moisturizing oomph to my routine that I enjoyed with no greasy feel at all which is what is selling me right now. I add 1 drop of oil, to my last moisturizing step - Eucerin redness relief night cream, mix in my palms and then apply all over my face. I used rosehip oil previously which feels thicker than this and I think much superior in winter, but I think this is light enough that I may continue to use this into summer, which is when I usually have to stop adding extra oil. All good things said, I will personally repurchase this, however, I can't recommend replacing any items in your cabinet with this. I think the best reason for purchasing this are those who don't currently use any pure oil products and want to dabble, but are worried about greasiness.

About reviewer (87 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Tan, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBlack



5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I have purchased it in a trip to Japan and i hope i will be able to purchase it on line once i need it again. I use it mainly as make-up remover and i find it absolutely great! it is very delicate especially on the skin around the eyes and it leaves super soft skin. I wash it off with the usual cleanser so that the oil residues and make-up are removed properly.

About reviewer (13 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Olive

HairBlack

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Pure camellia oil in an attractive glass bottle. Surprisingly not particularly scented, it's a clear yellow oil that's on the runnier side and very easy to spread around. Unlike coconut oil, this is liquid at room temperature so you don't have to warm the bottle before use. Used on the ends of my hair when damp, which is fine wavy 2c waist length hair, it moisturises, softens and boosts shine without looking overly greasy or heavy. Of course, used in excess it looks stringy and greasy but it's quite a lightweight oil so you have to use a respectable amount before you get to that point. A couple of drops collected in the palm of my hand is usually all that's needed to put onto the last couple of inches of hair. Great stuff!

About reviewer (195 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This oil is fantastic! I purchased it because after bleaching and colouring my hair it is so dry. Also it's about waist length and it just needs better care. So I figured since I love Japanese and Korean skincare I decided to try Japanese hair oil to see if a change would happen. My hair looks so shiny and healthy now. My hair actually feels like hair now not straw. My hair was so dry it had no shine and was looking so bad. A few times using this and my hair feels wonderful and looks a lot better. I finally found something that works on corse, thick, frizzy, dull hair. I apply a few drops whenever I use it and a little actually does go a long way with this product. I find this also helps scalp issues like psoriasis really well. Granted I have a long way to go in getting my hair to where I want it but this has improved it so much. My hair is so much softer and the shine is there again. I would like to purchase this in the bigger size if possible. I'm not sure if other Camilla oils compare to this brand but I do want to try others Japanese Tsubaki only so I can do hot oil treatments and keep this brand for after the shower when I'm doing my hair. It's become a major part of my hair care now. I also like the glass bottle and how it dispenses the product. I like this Japanese oil so much I'm also trying yuzu oil. I totally recommend this oil though it's done wonders for my hair when I thought nothing else could. Recommended.

About reviewer (912 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Wavy, Medium

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I never thought I'd ever bother reviewing something as simple as an oil, but this really impressed me. I have wavy/curly 2c hair and live in a dry climate thats been even drier than usual this year. I do a hair conditioning technique called LOC (liquid, oil, cream) where after washing and using rinse off conditioner, I use a little Hada Labo lotion as my liquid, a little oil on my ends and then my leave-in conditioner. I had been using jojoba oil as my oil and it was great until the winter when it got cold and dry. I figured it was time for a heavier oil but heavy oils like olive would be so tricky to use (plus the smell), and coconut oil can freeze on the hair in cold temps. I have gotten into Asian skincare over the last couple years and read that this was popular item for hair and skin, and tsubaki oil is a staple of Japanese haircare. Because of the high-oleic acid content, I won't try it on my skin as that will break me out, but I wanted to try it for my hair. Plus, it was available over Amazon Prime which is often a deciding factor in trying something. This stuff has saved my hair this winter, and I only need to use a little bit to get the benefits. I use like 3 drops for my armpit length hair. It has no smell, and as long as I keep it under about 3 drops, no grease, just softer hair. I also like to put a couple drops in my deep conditioning treatment as a booster, and sometimes the night before I wash I'll put in something like 5-6 drops on dry hair as a pre-shampoo treatment. I keep my bottle in the shower and it's pretty easy to open with wet hands which I was nervous about being glass and all. The dropper is nice for dispersing the proper amount of product.

About reviewer (237 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

Absolutely beautiful product. I've actually bought 100ml of pure tsubaki oil in Japan while I was there from another brand, but I'm almost done with it so I got this one as backup since I can't find the one that I got anywhere in the internet, but they smell, feel and look the same so I'll just write my review here. So far this and shea butter has helped me tremendously in getting rid of most of my acne scars for the past year. I use 3 drops of this + a small swab of shea butter on my face before I go to sleep every night and I won't have to moisturize next morning because my face feels amazing and moisturized every time I do that. My hair has seen better days as it's not as thick as compared to 2 years back and also not as healthy looking possibly due to the high amounts of stress the previous year but this oil helped it regain back to its previous state. Kind of. Like my hair is still quite thick, but it gets dry and lifeless really quickly so I use this to tame it back by coating my wooden comb with the oil and brushing it on my damp hair. Gives hair this sheen that makes it look like it's from a shampoo commercial. Incoming random pimple? Put a small bit of camellia oil on the bump and it'll disappear within half a day. You'd think that using oil to moisturize oily oil would make it worse, but camellia oil especially changed my skin so much that it's a miracle. I'm not even thinking about going back to normal gel/cream/water based moisturizers after this. This is enough for me.

About reviewer (16 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOily, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBlack


2.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I was really excited to buy a bottle of camellia oil on my trip to Japan, simply because I'd heard so much about it and Japanese women appear to have such beautiful hair. I have to admit , I was a bit disappointed. I tested a couple camellia oils in a store in Tokyo, one of them smelled divine but I ended up going with this brand because it was on all the must-have lists. To my disappointment, this product has zero scent! It's also on the heavy side and way too easy to overdo. It doesn't really absorb and it weighs my hair down. It also doesn't feel particularly useful for frizz. The bottle is so beautiful, and you get a ton of product (given how little you need to apply each time), but ultimately I'm going to try another brand.

About reviewer (136 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Great multipurpose product. I smooth a few drops into my hair after blow drying to cut down frizz, of course. But I also mix a drop or two in with my eye cream for a little added - non greasy - moisture. It's been a lifesaver for my chronically dry hands and cuticles. I drop out a generous amount every night and really work it into my hands before adding a layer of lotion on top, and it's been keeping my skin happy through all kinds of abuse (home renovation is hell on your hands, just so you know). It's such a big bottle and the price is so reasonable that I don't feel like I have to be a miser with it, which I appreciate.

About reviewer (688 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Other, Cool

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Another one of my HG product. I know it's mainly for hair but I use it for my face. I incorporate my moisturizer with a few drop of this oil then I'm set for the night. It is by far the lightest oil I have come acrossed. I have tried, jojoba, shea, filtered shea, sweet almond, grapeseed, baobab, olive, coconut oil. With grapeseed and jojoba oil being the 2nd runner up lightest oil I've tried.

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBlack, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I have thick, fine, damaged (from bleach), chin length hair and when I apply this oil my hair is manageable and no longer looks like straw. It is very silky after blow drying. I only use 2-3 drops (and apply when my hair is wet (but not dripping wet) by rubbing on my hands and lightly running my them through my hair. I used to use too much for my hair and it made it greasy. So you have to experiment to figure out how much you need. I find this oil works to restore hair vitality better than argan oil (Josie Maran's and Acure Organics), Agave oil, Alterna Bamboo Smooth Kendi Dry oil, coconut oil and extra virgin olive oil. Out of these other oils, olive oil was the best. The Alterna was OK when my hair wasn't so damaged. I haven't had any trouble with the oil going bad and I've had it for 6+ months. I keep it in the box out of sunlight. The bottle is huge and has a drip top that releases the oil slowly. UPDATE So sorry to say...The Tsubaki oil does give me a skin reaction even though it is usually well tolerated. I noticed that I get itchy only on days after I have used it. Maybe I'm using too much oil. I think that I will try it with the hinoki comb that the Japanese use. If that doesn't work, I'm going to use olive oil again.

About reviewer (78 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel