SkinMedica TNS Essential Serum

SkinMedica TNS Essential Serum

3.9

24 reviews

75% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Human Fibroblast Conditioned Media, Water/Aqua/Eau, Cetyl Ethylhexanoate, Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Unsaponifiables, Alpha-Arbutin, Isoceteth-20, Arachidyl Alcohol, Glycerin, Ethoxydiglycol, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Palmitoyl Tripeptide-5, Ergothioneine, Dipalmitoyl Hydroxyproline, Hydrolyzed Sericin, Phospholipids, Ubiquinone, Rubus Fruticosus (Blackberry) Leaf Extract, Saccharomyces Ferment Lysate Filtrate, Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate, Aminobutyric Acid, Phytosterols, Tocopherol, Tocotrienols, Squalene, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Bran Wax, Sodium Hyaluronate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Camellia Oleifera Leaf Extract, Dimethicone, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Polyacrylate-13, Polyisobutene, Polysorbate 20, Behenyl Alcohol, Arachidyl Glucoside, Cetearyl Alcohol, Steareth-10, Steareth-20, Butylene Glycol, Maltodextrin, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Xanthan Gum, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Aminomethyl Propanol, Disodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Butylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Ethylparaben, Parfum/Fragrance, Hydroxycitronellal, Linalool, Coumarin, Alpha-Isomethyl Ionone, Geraniol, Isoeugenol


on 3/20/2016 8:26:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I really wish I didn't like this so much. I bought this because I get a steep discount on Skinmedica products...when they have them in stock. So I thought "why not?"

I've been using it about 5-6 weeks and could tell a difference in my sensitive, break-out prone, rosacean skin from the first few days.

My skin is more even toned, feels softer and smoother, looks fresher and is less reactive. My skin has always been somewhat oily in the t-zone. But this time of year always had me struggling with the issue of being dehydrated on the surface and getting flakes as well. I have not had that issue at all, despite having added their retinol product a couple of weeks ago. My skin just looks and feels better overall. It also seems to help my treatments absorb better if applied shortly after.

I turn it up side down and slap it on my palm 3 times to get the two sides to distribute evenly when I pump it out. I do wish I could tell how much is left. Where I order from is out of stock which means I will have to pay full price for more. I've heard Amazon isn't reputable. For that reason I wish there was another options that gave me the calm, nice skin this does. But it's good stuff. It works really well for my skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 12/27/2015 6:16:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

SEVERE ALLERGIC REACTION: Has anyone else experienced an allergic reaction to using this product?

I have never had a topical product produce an allergic reaction. I do not have any allergies to food nor have I had an allergic reaction of this kind to any insect sting or any other known or unknown irritant!

By careful elimination (science teacher) I was able to narrow down the one product responsible. It is definitely the TMS Essential Serum I purchased direct from my dermatologist that produced the inflammation; burning, redness, swollen itchy skin all over my face. I stopped using makeup for 2 weeks. I then cleansed my skin with known safe cleanser I have used for years and applied the TMS which immediately began a tingling burning sensation as the product soaked into my skin. I went to bed and woke in the middle of the night rubbing my itchy eyes and skin. The next morning, I washed the irritant MS Serum from my face and applied coconut oil to sooth my irritated facial skin.

Unfortunately, the container does not have an expiration date nor a lot number. After reading all the favorable results, I began t think perhaps I received a bad batch?

I plan to write to the company to see if they will be honest and explain the ingredient (s) responsible that some people may experience a severe unfavorable reaction.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


To Read all 24 Reviews, Login or Join


Login with Google



on 10/4/2015 3:21:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

NO EFFECT! Save your money. Please! I dont know where these great reviews come from— maybe some type of SkinMedica loyalty rewards or endorsements by friends/employees? My dermatologist suggested TNS ES for fine lines. Im realistic and dont expect miracles, but NO EFFECT after 5 weeks of daily use. Zero. I know full benefit takes 90 days, but some minor improvement should be seen by now, especially at this price. Ive had much better skin tightening, pore refinement and tone from 8 years of NIA24 Skin Strengthening at fraction of cost. I see why Dermatologists suggest TNS, the $100+ mark-up is great business. Im not typically so skeptical but really feel scammed by this product. Info: Im 56 with even skin tone, told I look in my 40s, younger women have complemented my skin and ask what Ive products I use. But I do have fine lines around lips and chin which I hoped TNS would help with. Nothing.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 7/6/2015 5:38:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Other, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I received a free full sized bottle of this from my dermatologist to use for 3 weeks as prep before and 3 weeks after for healing following my upcoming laser treatment (for removal of broken capillaries). Per the derm, (other than cleanser, toner and sunscreen cream during the day) this is all I am to use for this period of time (pre and post laser - 6 weeks). It is very hydrating and makes my skin feel and look smooth, even and fabulously RADIANT! The prior reviewers have described the details and ingredients very well, so I am just adding my opinion that for me, this is is an EXCELLENT product and eventually will be a perfect addition to my anti-aging arsenal. I will re-buy. The price is high though, $270 for 1 oz. After my laser treatment and after using this alone for the time prescribed, I am going to alternate it with my Natura Bisse (also expensive and fabulous) serums. My cosmetics stash is extraordinary (LOL). I could probably have afforded a face lift if not for all the money I've spent on cosmetics. But my skin looks great and NATURAL unlike a lot of under the knife victims who just don't look like themselves anymore as evidenced on the TV show "Botched."

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 9/24/2014 9:01:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

If they charged $1,000 for this stuff I would pay it. I have never had a product that made my skin look and feel so good. I was so sad that my skin was looking saggy and awful, I did a search on Youtube and saw a presentation on this product and decided to try it and OMG! I love this stuff. The only thing I don't like is that you can't tell how much is left becasue of the way the product is packaged. I haven't had any problems with the packaging since I keep it upside down. I will be ordering again next week. Great product.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Foreskin and whatnot withstanding, this is an excellent product that helps even your complexion, smooth wrinkles, plump skin, and overall makes your skin look healthier.
I apply this in the evenings only and leave it on for about 10 mins before applying any other products over it (retinol, moisturizer, etc). The night I first applied it on my neck, it looked completely smooth and wrinkle free in the AM!!! This really showed me how it's working.

Pros:

- all those listed above
- the best results I've had were when I exfoliated prior to application. This is a MUST in my book.
- packaging insures active ingredients are separate until you disperse by pumping
- helped my skin heal faster when I picked at it!

Cons:

- price, obviously
- there's a slight smell but not enough to be off putting

Verdict:

- I'd def buy this again, I think it's an important step in prevention at this point

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/5/2014 8:52:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is an absolute must product - one which made a noticeable difference both when I used it - and, unfortunately, when I stopped! I did replace it with the regular TNS Recovery serum coupled with other antioxidants as I thought that it would be a less expensive way to get the same results, but in the end I just found myself questioning whether it was really as good or not. What I DID learn was that the product you find on Amazon, Boundary Waters, and especially on e-Bay is NOT the real thing; it is often either expired or a Made In China fake (which lacks some of the patented ingredients). So it means taking a deep breath before buying, but you only get one complexion, and having good skin means saving on expensive makeup and even more expensive treatments. In the end, it's worth it, but I admit I don't quite see the reason for the price. And I agree that the packaging is idiotic; the truth is there's a lot of stuff stuck in that bottle after the pump fails, and it's impossible to get it out.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 5/26/2014 12:25:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is a nice product for revitalizing mature skin. You have to use a separate retinol product with it, and the vitamin C in it doesn't seem to be all that much (I use a separate peptide/vit C/retinol serum over it twice a day). It has Syn Coll and DPHP which I like.

Ingredients:
Human Fibroblast Conditioned Media, Water (Aqua), Cetyl Ethylhexanoate, Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Unsaponifiables, Alpha-arbutin, Isoceteth-20, Arachidyl Alcohol, Glycerin, Ethoxydiglycol, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Palmitoyl Tripeptide-5, Ergothioneine, Dipalmitoyl Hydroxyproline, Hydrolyzed Silk, Phospholipids, Ubiquinone, Rubus Fruticosus (Blackberry) Leaf Extract, Saccharomyces Ferment Lysate Filtrate, Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate, Aminobutyric Acid, Phytosterols, Tocopherol, Tocotrienols, Squalene, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Bran Wax, Sodium Hyaluronate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Camellia Oleifera Leaf Extract, Dimethicone, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Polyacrylate-13, Polyisobutene, Polysorbate 20, Behenyl Alcohol, Arachidyl Glucoside, Cetearyl Alcohol, Ceteareth-20, Butylene Glycol, Maltodextrin, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Xanthan Gum, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Aminomethyl Propanol, Disodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Butylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Ethylparaben, Fragrance.

Everything in this product is totally dupe-able except the Human Fibroblast Conditioned Media. I would leave out the silicones, acrylates, parabens and excessive use of emulsifiers (all in there for long-term shelf stability not the health of your skin). I like that it has phospholipids, and wish they had gone with a straight phospholipid base instead of all the other emulsifiers/silicones. In spite of all the junk in it, it hasn't given me any cystic acne ... yet. I've used it for a week and already skin is softer and smoother with twice a day use. As I said, I also use another serum over it to amp up the actives.

You can get this much cheaper if you shop around online - don't fall prey to the spas' and offices' salespitch.

The packaging is silly. Two side by side vials in a pump mechanism so that the 2 serums mix when you pump. You cant tell how much is left and its a big honking bottle for only 1 oz of product, total.

Edit: Im on my 3rd bottle of this using it twice daily, and still liking it v much. Skin seems stronger, more finely textured and some freckles are lightening, altho I do use a strong C serum, retinol serum and sunscreen religiously with it.

I bought mine on Pricefalls.com ($170) for a lot cheaper than most places ask for it. Same consistency, smell, ingredients and packaging as what my Derm sells for $270. Would so many here be singing the praises of this stuff that they also got online if they were getting "fake product"?? You have to wonder dont you. The markup on this stuff is obscene.

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.


on 5/10/2014 9:34:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is a great product! I just finished my first bottle and had to have it again. It took about a month of twice daily application before I noticed a difference. I was applying my makeup one morning and did a double-take. My skin was smoother. The wrinkles were less noticeable. My pigmentation was more even. I could not believe it. I have noticed that when I don't use it, my skin reverts back to the way it was before use. I am 60 yrs old so all of this is very important to me. There is an odor which is very faint. It diminishes immediately after application. I wish there was a warning when the product is almost out. There is no way to know with the current packaging. It is expensive. But, I am a very careful shopper and have purchased it online for a little less. I highly recommend this product. Just be patient.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/20/2014 2:04:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This stuff is *amazing.* After only 3 days, my skin felt smoother. Now, after using one bottle morning and night, I can't stop feeling my face or looking in the mirror: dramatically improved texture, fewer lines, younger looking. Despite the price, TNS Essential Serum has become the one product I will never do without.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Back to Top