4.1

Created with Sketch.
1422 reviews
77%
would repurchase
3.0/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a month ago

Where do I begin? Pro-Longwear concealer is an OG concealer in the beauty market--legendary to put it lightly. Truly a matte-matte, full-full coverage formula of epic proportion, Pro-Longwear is the bulletproof, flaw-free, model-perfect, extraordinarily beautifying, stunningly enhancing day-to-day real life /stage/video/photography/wedding/graduation/major event/vacation/holiday/party/pool-worthy/television-worthy/anywhere/anytime/all day/everyday/24-7 workhorse concealer of your dreams. To cover every discoloration with ease. To minimize or eliminate every vein, line, wrinkle, acne, dark circle with just a touch. To be immovable all throughout the day (to see fading no more). To enhance the bone structure/appearance to perfection with hyperdimensionality. To blend in to your skin without thought. To mute out the darkness and even out the skin on your eye for a bulletproof eyeshadow base. To take the best photos. To brighten up the under eyes to create dimension. To carve out the eyebrows to perfection. To contour your face to the absolute next level. Pretty much anything you can think to do with concealer, this concealer does it easily--and then does it to perfection, and in most cases, better than its ever been done. Its greatness is purely overwhelming. And after all that work, it still makes me gasp with its next-level beauty. Most concealers get one or two things really right and are best known for that (maybe its great for brightening, maybe its great for sculpting eyebrows, maybe its great for photos, maybe it just makes you look really pretty, maybe its good for covering up acne, maybe its great for stage/costume makeup, maybe its great for eyeshadow, maybe it's so easy to blend out, maybe it looks good for your under eye,etc) but this concealer gets everything really right (probably with exception of packaging--the glass container is too delicate and the pumps spurts out too much product at once). You can do your entire face with just this concealer (contour, brows, eyeshadow base, cover-ups, under eye, bridge of the nose, chin, forehead, used as foundation, etc) to the height of perfection. This is the best formulated concealer ever hands down. It makes the finished look look absolutely gorgeous and unbelievable. However, it would have been my favorite concealer had it been more geared towards dry skin, but neverthless even though I am dry skin the matte formula is incredibly comfortable and does not dry out my skin but I much prefer an emollient concealer. Even though the formula is hyper-matte and hyper-full coverage, it still feels comfortable and it doesn't look too heavy unless you want to layer it on. Judging this concealer purely on its quality, I would righteously give it a 12 out of 10. A truly unbeatable formulation with endless possibilities and impossible beauty.

About reviewer (37 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinVery Dry, Deep Dark, Warm

HairBrown, Other, Medium

EyesBrown



2.0
Created with Sketch.

6 months ago

I tried this concealer and had to return it. The packaging was annoying and wasteful. I wore NW15 since I'm fair and it was a good match for a brightening effect. I usually like to go one or two shades lighter under my eyes for brightening. Although its does have good staying power, I like full coverage and this did not really give FULL COVERAGE. I can still see dark circles under my eyes and I really think it's more medium coverage. Anywho, I would recommend the Make Up For Ever Full Cover concealer and the Nars Radiant Creamy concealer for medium coverage. Those two are the best.

About reviewer (35 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOily

HairBrown

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

8 months ago

I have been using this concealer for 5 years. But as most of us women do, I get bored and want to try something new and EVERY time I am absolutely disappointed and get back to this little gem. For me it is almost perfect. I use it under my eyes and to cover discoloration around my mouth and nose. The most magical thing about this concealer is its staying power. No matter how long my day was, it stays put until I remove it before bedtime. My skin is dry, especially in winter, so it could be a bit drying. But still this one is better then any other I have tried. HG for me.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther

HairOther

EyesOther


3.0
Created with Sketch.

8 months ago

Not my favorite, but not bad either! This a medium coverage concealer that dries matte and it is quite long lasting on my oily skin, even in high temperatures and a lot of humidity. It is in the same family with the Tarte Shape Tape and Catrice Camouflage concealer but it is a bit thicker and has a more silicone based texture than them. When I use it on my face it breaks me out, but even the MAC Fix powder breaks me out, so generally I don't have the best luck with MAC products! I personally enjoy using this on my under eyes in combination with a moisturising concealer like the BareMinerals Serum concealer or over really hydrating eye cream, like the Kiehl's Avocado eye cream.Otherwise, it looks a bit heavy under my eyes and because it is quite a fast drying formula, for me, it is not the easiest to blend with my fingers. It blends easier with a wet beauty sponge, in my opinion. I have the shades NC20 and NC25, the NC25 is slightly deeper, warmer and has more orange undertones compared to the NC20. The NC20 is quite lighter and I would describe it as yellow toned but leaning more on the neutral side. Compared to the Maybelline Eraser concealer in shade neutraliser is less yellow but equally light. Both shades (NC20 + NC25) oxidised on me and turned one tone more deep and orange. NC20: If you are fair to light with yellow undertones and shades like the 110 Matte + Poreless foundation, CT- Light Wonder Foundation in shade 2, Tarte Shape tape concealer in light sand(exact match), Maybelline - Eraser concealer in Neutralizer, Catrice Camouflage in 020 light beige (exact match)...work for you, then I would suggest the NC20 NC25: If you use shades like the Tarte Shape Tape concealer in light medium sand, IT Cosmetics CC cream in Medium, NYX Total drop foundation in True Beige (exact shade match), then I recommend the NC25. All in all, if you haven't experienced break outs from MAC face products I would say this is great for blemishes too because it stays on oily - combo skin, even in the hot summery weather. If you're looking mainly for an under-eye concealer with light to medium coverage, keep in mind that the pump is not easy to control thus you end up wasting a lot of product. It is a fast drying matte formula that doesn't provide any moisture. It sets and doesn't need any powder. Personally, I won't repurchase it, because I prefer the Tarte Face Tape and the Catrice Camouflage concealer when it comes to matte formulas because for me they blend easier and they don't look as heavy.

About reviewer (96 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Fair

HairBlack

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

Dark circles are not a huge concern for me on most days, but every now and again when I've not slept enough they can be quite prominent. And when that happens, 1 drop of Mac's Pro Longwear Concealer under each eye followed by LM's Secret Brightening Powder is literally all it takes to provide coverage and (temporarily) banish them. A friend with a moderately dry skin type tried this and said it wasn't for her as the formulation itself is quite dry and creased/accentuated her fine lines. However for me with oilier skin it glided on absolutely fine and didn't look cakey in any way. If you have combination to oily skin I would suggest to give this a try, if dry perhaps not! Very good coverage, just be careful with the pump, it can and will dispense a lot more than you need, unless you plan on using over a larger surface area than just your under eye area.  Selena x  ~ My HG list ~  (As I've sampled 100s of skin, hair and m/u products over the last decade and a half, I thought it might be useful to share my top 10 must-have products, subject to change if and when I come across something more effective. I love constantly trying out new stuff - usually sample sizes via e-bay, also plenty courtesy of a friend who works at Sephora)  1. Hair Loss Treatment: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Hair Oil  2. Lip Balm: 'Nuxe' - Reve De Miel Lip Balm  3. Pigmentation + Anti-Ageing Treatment: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Facial Treatment Serum  4. Cleanser: 'Paula's Choice' - Skin Balancing Cleanser  5. Concealer: ‘Mac’ - Studio Finish Concealer  6. Lash Growth Serum: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Divinelash  7. Foundation/SPF: ‘Juice Beauty’ - Stem Cellular Repair (warm glow)  8. Face Scrub: ‘Sisley' - Botanical Gentle Buffing Cream  9. Moisturizer: ‘Lush' - Enzymion  10. Hand Cream: 'Origins' - Make A Difference Rejuvenating Hand Treatment

About reviewer (566 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Tan, Not Sure

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

It's hard to find a concealer that is going to be repurchased again and again. Every brand releases new concealers every year which is exhausting for us. Either it is too expensive, color range is ridiculous, formula an unpleasant experience or not long lasting, doe foot applicator is not hygienic, etc. Even with MAC Pro Longwear Concealer I'm not always 100% satisfied everytime. Here are some pros and cons: PRO: - high coverage = using less product - liquid formula = easy to apply and spread - no perfume fragrance (it smells like paint but not as bad as you think) - product dries down = powder might not be necessary everytime (good for undereye are -> no dry, cakey look + way less creasing) - shade range - satin finish = no flat nor dewy finish - permanent CON: - glass bottle - accentuates dry flakes - pump gives you too much product at once = product waste (read my tip at the end of this review) - price My skin: I have combo skin, oily T-zone, normal/dry cheeks. Got some pores on my nose, dark circles under my eyes (which are dry, too). 100% guarantee there will always be a pimple somewhere on my face and red spots. My experience and use: I use PLC every day I'm off to work or an event. I prefer to apply it with a brush since BB or other sponges suck too much product (my poor wallet). Application works fine with either a dense or fluffly brush but I like to use Real Techniques Sculpting brush since it sucks not much product and spreads the product flawless and evenly (always make sure to use it with gentle stippling motions). It hides redness easily, dark circles are reduced but not completely gone (not even Dermacol Makeup Cover can hide mine). I like my makeup more with only MAC PLC on my face. I think, I don't need foundation anymore, besides for special events or night outs. It looks more natural, too. I set my whole face (eyes not often) with baby powder and I'm good to go. No budging, smearing, disappearing of the PLC over the whole day! I don't even feel it on my face. Huge bonus! I use a wet wash cloth to remove my makeup. It removes the concealer easily. And now comes the bad part: I recently have some dry spots on my face. If I apply PLC there, they are accentuated and look bad. Luckily, a gentle exfoliation and gentle moisturizer can help but for people with dry skin I do recommend mixing PLC with another creamy product/moisturizer to make it work. TIP FOR NOT WASTING PRODUCT: Take a tiny box made of plastic or thick glas (I use my empty Maybelline Dream Matte Mouse packaging), clean it thoroughly with alcohol, disinfect it with 70% alcohol and fill it with some pumps of MAC PLC. Be sure to not pick up the product with your fingers or any other dirty tool to avoid making bacterias happy.

About reviewer (188 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

This is my favorite concealer. Full coverage, great price and last forever.

About reviewer (16 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I used to have combi-oily skin, and this concealer was perfect for me. It is indeed longwear and doesn't budge or cake throughout the day. I also loved the coverage - it did a fantastic job covering my (very) dark circles and acne scars. I used it for many years. However, my skin started to change and so did its reaction to the concealer. I now have dry, sensitive skin that's acne prone. This started to exacerbate my dryness and redness, which in turn would cause more acne to appear. Overall, I'd recommend it if you have combi-oily skin. The consistency is great and it works well in tropical, humid climates, where I'm from. One gripe I have about its packaging is that it's impossible to ever completely finish a tube due to the way the product is dispensed - there's always a good amount left that the pump tube can't reach. The tube also can't be opened so the leftover just goes to waste.

About reviewer (13 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Fine

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I haven't used this too long, only about 2 weeks, but I am really happy with it so far. I use NC35, which is a pretty good color match for my skin, compared to almost every other concealer I've tried. It is very slightly too orange/beige (hard to describe), but it's very close, and it's not that noticeable. So I don't use this under my eyes. I use it on acne marks - the ones I have are sort of a muted reddish purple color. I don't color correct first, or wear foundation, just this. My marks aren't super bad now, but I do have to say that for someone who has darker marks, or more fresh ones or a lot of active acne, it most likely wouldn't give enough coverage on its own. If I wanted my skin to look flawless this might not be enough coverage either - I have had to reapply later in the day for going out if I put it on in the morning, so it's not SUPER long lasting but I mean, that's kind of to be expected. I apply by washing my hands and then using my fingers, and depending on if I took too much out of the pump (I'm still trying to figure out the pump) I'll blend with a brush. I am pretty happy with how natural the finish looks. I will update this review in a couple of weeks when I will have a better idea of if my skin likes this or not. Monthish Update - Doesn't seem to make me break out and still liking it! The pump is annoying but aside from that no issues so far! Another thing - it does seem to oxidize slightly, not sure if anyone else has had this experience with it. I will keep using because it doesn't break me out!!

About reviewer (33 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Tan, Warm

HairBrunette, Kinky, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I've found it! My HG concealer. After a 15 year search, who knew it would be this little gem? The smell of MAC foundations/concealers have always put me off (this smells chemically, a bit like paint thinner?) but I'm happy to oversee that due to how nice it is on my skin. It's a lovely liquidy consistency and I use it for the blotchy areas around my nose and blemishes. It lasts all day, easy to blend and a singular pump is enough for what I need it to do. I'm a mum of two little ones and this is usually enough for me when I'm getting ready in the morning. The foundation that I've used for the past 9 years is NARS Sheerglow in Punjab, and I got this in a NC25 which matches my skintone seamlessly - more so than my foundation haha! Only downside is the pump :( but that's not going to stop me from buying it again and again and again!

About reviewer (78 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us