3.6

Created with Sketch.
37 reviews
59%
would repurchase
3.8/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

I think this is an excellent product but overpriced(deals can be found on eBay), a previous reviewer provided an almost excellent homemade serum. Her recipe: water, hyaluronic acid(powder), and vitamin b-5(calcium pantothenate), she missed one ingredient and it's essential to a proper, potent, and effective serum and that is a preservative. Why: because any water-based cream, lotion, or serum must have a preservative this is because bacteria grows and breeds in any water-based anything. Optiphen Plus or Germaben 2 is a good choice for a hydrous(water) formulation. It is best to use distilled water with a judicious amount of hyaluronic acid(too much and your serum will thicken and become almost gelatinous at room temperature and let it sit overnight so it disperses. I know many people run for the hills when they hear the word 'paraben' but those fears are completely and scientifically unfounded and proven to NOT be harmful in any way. Several years ago there was a very flawed(supposed)study that claimed parabens can cause cancer and particularly breast cancer. Poppycock the CDC, along with Harvard and Cornell Universities and even the National Cancer Society could not replicate so-called cancer-causing results. The CDC ran that study three times and zero cancer(s). Golly, I am forgetting the review portion. This is an excellent serum and is what was known as a humectant back when I was in my late teens and early twenties(the stone age) and as one smart, savvy young lady pointed out in her excellent review this draws moisture from the air and that is why you need to use a moisturizer on top. When I remember to use this serum I always apply a water-based cream. afterwards I use this as recommended layered on top Cellex-c Serum and finally a moisturizer and yes my skin does feel like glass.

About reviewer (96 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBrown



4.0
Created with Sketch.

9 years ago

I actually haven't used this in a while because my budget can't afford it, but I was using it last winter and loved how soft it made my skin feel. I also wanted to say something about some misconceptions I see in other reviews, one is that this will absolutely work in a dry climate (I live in Colorado and Colorado in the winter is about as dry as it gets). Also, it apparently isn't supposed to moisturize the surface so you will need a moisturizer still. When I started this I was in the midst of a series of 5 microdermabrasions. I hadn't even mentioned to the technician that I'd started using it but she was looking at my skin with those magnifying glasses that they use and she commented that my skin was more moist. I pointed out to her that it was still flaky and she said, "Yes, but only on the surface", so that was how I learned the hyarulonic acid really works at the level below the surface, but it absolutely does work in dry weather. Although it's probably true that it would have worked even better in more moist weather and/or with a humidifier!

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther

HairOther

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

10 years ago

Leyendo los comentarios de las personas que han utilizado los productos Cellex-C, me animo a contar mi experiencia. Estos productos, B5 , suero alta potencia, se utilizan en combinacion con la hidratante que se aplica al final de estos dos sueros. Primero se aplica el suero de vitamina C alta potencia y despues el B5, a continuacion aplicas la crema hidratante para tu tipo de piel. A partir de la segunda semana ves que tu piel tiene un brillo especial, esta mucho mas hidratada y protegida, disminuye y limpia los poros. Son productos complicados y minuciosos que no se deben utilizar alegremente o utilizar en ocasiones. Estos productos son parte de un tratamiento en casa que conlleva su tiempo. A medida que la piel responda y se vea mejor su textura, utilizaremos menos cantidad de sueros porque lo pide la piel. Antes de la hidratacion utilizo el tónico de Cellex-C, que es impresionante, uno de los mejores que he probado, asi como el gel limpiador no me gusta tanto, pero eso es cuestion de gustos. La vitamina C es uno de los tratamientos recomendado por dermatologos para el cuidado de la piel. Estos para mi son de los mejores!!!

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

11 years ago

Too much hype. I used this product in conjunction with high potency serum, and eye contour gel and half a bottle later I feel I was totally taken. Another marketing scam to prey on the vanity of women.

About reviewer (42 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesOther


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

11 years ago

I've been using this product for the last 3 weeks and already notice a difference in my skin. I am an African American with acne prone skin and was amazed at how smooth this product made my skin feel. It is quite expensive but I was able to get a really good deal on Ebay.. $72 for 60ml (basically 2 for the price of 1). I use it in combination with Skinceuticals Clarifying Cleanser and GloMinerals pressed powder. As the case with most acne sufferers, the proof is in the pudding (usually a few months in).. so I will update after the 2 month mark.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther

HairOther

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

11 years ago

This is HG stuff for me!!!! But it is VERY expensive!!!! I will keep buying it because it has done wonders for my skin!!! More hydration...less facial lines....it is clearing up some old acne scars too.....they seem to be fading. My face loves this stuff...but my bank account hates it!!! LOL

About reviewer (8 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

12 years ago

I love the Hydra 5b complex. I work at a salon and we had a 2 hour class over this whole line! People mistake this product and think that it is only for people with really dry skin. This product does NOT give any sort of moisture on the surface is your skin, this ONLY gives moisture UNDERNEATH the skin and hydrates from within. so....people with oily skin, dry skin, sensitive skin, ALL skin types are recommended to use this since basically everyone is dry underneath(even oily skin). You would apply this product after the High Potency Serum. That is the main reason for this product--to hydrate the skin from within and to aid the high potency serum's absorption. It pushes the Vit C High Potency Serum further into the skin. You can use this alone without the high potency serum. It has a very smooth, non oily texture and feels like a drink of water for your skin! LOVE IT

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOily, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

12 years ago

added this hyaluronic acid to my daily regime recently. its not enough as a basic moisturiser on its own. so i got to add another light moisturiser on top of it or sometimes i add 1 drop of jojoba oil with 2 drops if this. i like it as it has only 4 ingredients which is water, hyaluronic acid, vit B5 and preservative. from what i know, vit b5 is good for acne skin. i have combination acne prone skin so i can use this at ease. no need to worry about getting clog pores with this. a safe to use product even for acne prone skin or sensitive skin but too light on its own and so far no obvious results seen. i have been using it for about 1 month. will repurchase if i have enough cash because my skin gets clog easily. need products with as little ingredients as possible.

About reviewer (65 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Straight, Fine

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

12 years ago

This product really needs to be used correctly because at $66 for a 30 mL bottle, you can't afford to waste any of it. Hydra 5 is best used with a vitamin c serum. You don't need much--one drop is sufficient--and please keep in mind that hyraluronic acid draws moisture from the air to your skin so if you live in a dry climate, it's just going to make your skin drier. That said, it's not meant to be a stand alone moisturizer. Even in cooler seasons, D.C. is still quite humid so hyraluronic acid is perfect for my skin. When used with a vitamin c serum (I use DDF instead of Cellex-C) and a light moisturizer in dry areas, my skin looks radiant and dewy. Definitely worth the $66 if used correctly.

About reviewer (558 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

12 years ago

The trick with this is to use only 1 drop, or 2 at the most. At first I was using like 4 or 5 drops and it made my skin icky feeling - sticky and gloppy and like my skin couldnt breathe, and my makeup went on cakey. Less is DEFINITELY more with this product. Good thing, because its expensive. (Paid like $66 at Sephora) I use this after using my skinceuticals AOX+ 20 C serum, but before my moisturizer. My skin is dry from using retin A and this serum helps to hold in the moisture. I only use it in the morning, because at night I just cleanse and use the retin A. My skin is less dry when using this. I find it to be identical to the skinceuticals B5 gel, and the ingredients are the same. You can actually make this serum on your own with water, hyaluronic acid powder, and Vit. B5 powder for much cheaper if you dont want to spend the $$. Also, this serum doesnt sting, and seems to calm down irritated skin. Great for wintertime too. Bottom line - use just one drop, it will spread over your whole face and work better that way.

About reviewer (346 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue