4.4

Created with Sketch.
13 reviews
84%
would repurchase
4.1/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I bought this in a kit complete with the colour tint, developer and tools. As others have said, throw away the applicator, it’s useless. I bought this for my eyebrows and eyelashes in the colour ‘light brown’, I believe... I have naturally blonde transparent eyelashes and my brows are a transparent mouse. The colour suits me well - it isn’t too red or grey, which is what I was looking for. It is a brown, not a red brown or greige. It does seem to continue to develop darker over a few hours, despite washing it off well after the recommended few minutes. This fades after a few days though. The tint on the skin fades after a few days also, which is what I was after because I wanted it to look natural without make up. This means I have to fill in sparse spots with pencil when wearing makeup but the colour easily suits a number of light brown pencils. I use an angled eyeliner brush to fill in my eyebrows with the product. I’d recommend using a cheap one from eBay like I am, though it hasn’t ruined my brush. I use a disposable spoolie for my eyelashes, top and bottom, then go over the top near the lash line with the liner brush to fill in the top roots. This makes a huge difference, I hate the look of floating lashes when blondes wear black mascara. My mascara looks less fake now, my lashes look so much fuller and my eyes look bigger and more defined. I will say, though, that it does nothing for my bottom lashes - I don’t think it sticks well or something? All in all, I love this tint. It’s easy to use, takes no time at all, makes me look so much better without makeup and makes filling in brows so much easier. I’ll be using this from now on.

About reviewer (17 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue



5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This stuff is awesome! I used to use Schwartzkopf eyebrow color in my early 20's when I moved to Asia and couldn't get my hands on the product, so I stopped tinting my brows. Browsing through brow products on MUA I read the glorious reviews about 1000Hours, bought it and was highly displeased by how cheap and awful it was compared to Schwartzkopf. Good, I continued to scroll down brow products and found Reflectocil. This stuff is fantastic! I finally have decent brows. My husband complimented me on how good am I looking lately without knowing what's changed. The brow tint gives the best result if: - you have light eyebrows. Mine are light brown and coloring them in 03 Natural brown makes a big difference; - your brows are quite sparse. Mine are sparse, but the tint grabs to any tiny hair and makes them darker, means brows become fuller. On top of that my skin also stays tinted for about 3 days, so during the first three days, I don't need to use any brow product except a clear gel. I like to retouch my brows every three weeks. I only need 15 minutes for that. Since I use brow gel daily to fill in my brows the tinting process for me is completely mess free and every time I get the same result. P.S. I bought a kit on Amazon and it has everything that's needed. Toss away the mixing spatula, it's useless. Use the other end of the angled brush instead. When you mix this product remember you don't need to use as much as suggested in instruction, the half would be more than enough. Even if you have big bushy brows the amount of the product you need is less than a half of what is suggested in the instruction. Love this stuff! HG!

About reviewer (667 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Some random tips : - I recommend tinting the brows before shaping them. That way, they seem fuller and you are less likely to overpluck. - Protect your clothes (or dont wear anything at all...) because it WILL stain. - I use an old mascara brush to apply it (just wash any brush from a mascara you are going to toss) or get a spoolie at a cosmetic counter.

About reviewer (15 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther, Other, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I will be purchasing this brand of lash/brow tint at the beauty supply store in the next few days. Sounds similar to the brand I use but can not find, Fortune. I am writing this to warn those of you to be wary of using 30% or 40% developer with eyelash/eyebrow tint. Perhaps, the language I am using is too tame, Fortune and Refectocil are coal tar dyes designed to use with the developer that comes with the product, which is 3%. I have heard it said from a supplier of professional hair care color there are people who dye their eyebrows with the semi-permanent tint + 6 volume developer but she, personally, would not do it. She advised that a tint designed for eyelash/eyebrow be used. The area around the eye contains the optic nerve and I would advise anyone contemplating the use of developer designed for hair color on the scalp to consult a professional beautician or optometrist. Also wish to mention, that if a dark brown color is desired a small amount of black can be added to the natural brown tint.

About reviewer (41 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

5 years ago

I'm so happy I bought this product. I bought the light brown kit thru amazon for about 30 dollars. I tried it out and felt like light brown was too light for me. I'd like it a smidge darker. So I bought the no. 3 brown color only and mixed both together and I like it better. I have dark brown-black hair. Mixed both colors in the little cup they provided in the kit and maybe about 5 drops of the liquid developer, mixed it and put it on my eyebrows with a disposable mascara brush and left it on for 5 minutes, wiped it off with a dry cotton pad then a wet one. I actually did this twice because I was afraid of having it too dark the first time. This cuts my eyebrow routine a lot. I don't have to do much to eyebrows anymore and I'm so happy... also because I have really visible eyebrows now. My eyebrows are thin and by having this makes it look thicker. Really happy with this product. Definitely will repurchase again.

About reviewer (51 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

Price: 5/5 Quality: 5/5 Overall: 5/5 I picked up two tubes of this product in Light Brown (3.1) and Natural Brown (3) from my local beauty supplier store as I'd watched a couple YouTube demonstrations of it and figured I was quite capable of doing it myself also. I bought the tubes and the developer which were each AUD$11.50 and went through the motions of cleansing and applying the dye. I applied the dye with an angled eyebrow brush (Anastasia Beverly Hills #7 brush) and neatened the edges with a Q-tip. I let it develop on my brows for 8 minutes and then wiped away with a cotton round doused in fresh water. I have naturally very fair eyebrows, but this product has made them effortlessly defined and appear much more plump. I can now skip my eyebrow routine each morning as the dye has done it all for me. Great product.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Curly, Medium

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I have been using this lash/brow tint for about 35 years. I did train as an esthetician back in the and that's where I first used it. Up until 5 years ago I only tinted my lashes but in past five years my brows (and lashes) have been growing in white. Weird as the hair on my head is still dark with maybe 5 white hairs! Anyway I have used blue black tint on my lashes and love it. It brings out the green in my eyes and if I want to go sans fard, I don't look washed out. For my brows I use brown. I think that this is powerful stuff and it's troubling that it is sold on internet. Something this powerful should never be used (especially around eyes!) without a ensuring no allergies or sensitivities exist, whether you have sensitive skin or not. This is just common sense! Use carefully and as directed it is safe in my opinion. Doing your own lashes is tricky and if you can get a nimble friend to do your lashes, probably a good idea.

About reviewer (57 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

I love this brow tint. I got it on amazon, as a kit with the tint, the activator (some type of peroxide I think), a little brush, and a small plastic bowl to mix it in. I'm not exactly sure what the price what but I think it was around $30, pretty affordable seeing as I've barely made a dent in it the past four months. It's only for brows so I use less than a pea-sized dot each time. It's gonna last me foreverrrrrrr! I have also used it on my eyelashes, with success. PLEASE do NOT take this to mean that it is safe for anyone to use on their eyelashes. I read up on the product a lot before buying it, I read a lot of reviews that said to keep it clear of the eyes and I also read some that said it was okay to use on the eyelashes. I first only did my eyebrows, waited a couple days to see how my skin would react, and nothing happened. So then I tried it on my lashes, also zero irritation for me. I don't have sensitive skin at all, or a sensitive body for that matter. No allergies, never get rashes from reactions to stuff. So in general, I would advise a patch test with the stuff before you put it on your face because I'm not the average case. I use it once every two weeks or so. It is so fast and easy to mix up, use, and clean up. Just mix the dye with the activator, brush on the eyebrows, clean the brush and bowl while I let the tint sit. And then wipe the tint off first with a dry cotton pad, then damp cotton pad. And that's it! Takes LITERALLY about FIVE MINUTES total. I only leave the tint on for about two minutes. It gets darker the longer you leave it.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBrown

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

I had an eyebrow and eyelash tint done at a salon. It became a nightmare - After a few days, my eyes started to puff up and swell up. I woke up every morning with the swelling worse than the night before. Red itchy all around my eyes. Horrible product. I cannot believe I put it on. It should never be touching someone's skin, unless you're made of elephant skin!

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

First heard of this product from my esthetician. During a facial appointment, she offered to tint my brows for free after waxing them. I loved it so much that I found out everything she used and she taught me how to do it myself at home. Keep in mind that my brows are naturally white-blonde...barely noticeable. Here's how I was taught: 1. Shape and wax the brows to remove strays. 2. In a small glass container, mix 1 pea sized drop of dye (she used Light Brown on me) and 2-3 drops of developer (she used Refectocil Oxidant 3% 10 VOL) until blended. 3. With a small brush, apply mixture to the brows. She started on the tail end since it is more sparse. Clean up any mistakes with a q-tip. 4. Allow mixture to sit on brows for 5-10 minutes. She left it on me for 10 minutes. 5. To remove: you will need two cotton balls or pads. One wet and one dry. 6. Using the dry cotton ball/pad, remove color. Flip cotton ball/pad over and wipe again. 7. Using the wet cotton ball/pad, wipe off any remaining color. This method gives color to my brows for at least 3-4 weeks. They will begin to fade much like any hair dye, but I prefer this method over using brow pencil EVERY SINGLE MORNING when I do my makeup. With this, I apply brow gel and that's it. No need to use anymore color unless you wanted a darker look. Done!

About reviewer (285 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinNormal, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us