3.4

Created with Sketch.
179 reviews
54%
would repurchase
3.9/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


3.0
Created with Sketch.

5 months ago

The first time I tried it I hated it passionately,but after a few months when I had a chance to receive it in a swap I decided to take it because I hoped it's a gem that right now my immature nose can't get it and it deserves some time..I used to hate Angel even more and after a couple of years suddenly I started to like it so I hoped the same thing will happen with Womanity.a half used bottle of Womanity was sitting in a dark corner of my drawer for almost three years until today,I decided it's the right time to give it another chance I don't smell anything wired,disgusting or out of place in it anymore.just a slightly sweet fruity note in a base of salty sea notes and some green notes.after trying hundreds of perfumes in the last three years,I know what I like and what I don't like in fragrances.now I can see why I used to hate Womanity.because I hate salty notes(the only reason I can't like Olympia),aquatic notes and most green,leafy notes.fig is not a favorite fruit note either so now I can see there's nothing wrong with Womanity.actually it's well made and balanced.just that I don't like it because it's not my type.to be honest,I feel the same love-hate relationship I have with Angel here too.after an hour I can't detect that salty,aquatic note and at those times it looks like a delicately sweet yet fresh,pleasant fruityfloral and I enjoy it at that times.I'm going to decant some of it and give it to my sister in law who I'm sure will like it.I will keep a tiny amount for myself to use,whenever I'm at home and I'm in the right mood to tolerate it's first hour(I really hate it's first hour.to my nose it's salty,aquatic note smells harsh and cold like an old piece of iron) make sure not to blindbuy it but also make sure to sample it and give it more than one chance.if you like it,it can be your signature

About reviewer (202 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 months ago

Wow, I wish I'd tried this sooner! Why didn't I? Errr, yeah, the hoo-ha reviews. I don't know how people smell BV in this. I tried and tried to pick it up. Nope. What I get is what the pyramid lists, no more, no less. Starts off as the inside of a delicious fig, so slightly sweet for the first few minutes. It's mixed with the salty scent of caviar (NOT fish, not brine, not marine water, not sea weed), then continues to the green scent of a fig tree heated by the sun on a very hot summer day. I pass a fig tree like that daily, and the perfume is a convincing replica of the real scent. I notice some people say it's aquatic. To me, apart from the initial fig fruit, it is a green scent, but not aquatic. I get where those associations come from though, since this is such an atmospheric scent mimicking the Mediterranean coast. But no worries about the Blue Lagoon scent of Ajax floor cleaner that you get in some aquatic fragrances. I suppose some people probably really dislike salty notes, so I'm guessing that's what reminds them of body odor or fish, but I personally smell nothing of the kind and ironically, Womanity gives off these wafts throughout the day that to me smell like....a freshly showered, very clean person! At a beautiful seaside resort. Maybe eating caviar with a halved fig. It projects nicely (one spray, two at most), but my bottle at least isn't very long lasting. About three to four hours I'd say. Not a beast, but it's just right for me. I'm scared to recommend a purchase because of how bothersome it is to some people, so don't blind buy, but please, I beg you, if you haven't yet, try it at the counter. Try it on your skin, when I tried it on a paper strip it was vaguely metallic and not much else (no metallic note on skin). If it works for you, it'd have tremendous signature scent potential, and is very different than most mainstream fragrances. I finally found something I want to keep buying. ETA: I appreciate that there are no unpleasant surprises with this scent. It has never turned on me. If your skin perspires a bit where you applied it, if it stayed on your clothes, or when it's way way in the drydown, it still smells pleasant. it doesn't have a note or accord that misbehaves under various circumstance, so I never worry it's going to do something funky out in public.

About reviewer (82 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinVery Dry, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

expected the bottle of scent to be a lot pinker due to the photo. The liquid is a very pale pink, you have to examine it closely to notice that it is in fact pink. If I didn't know it was figs and more about figs then I'd think it was a floral, this smells sweet and floral on me, yes it had a hint of sea breeze, well put together, beautiful scent that lasts to the next day. The bottle looks like it should be called Viking Woman, the bottle look does match the smell of the scent, even though as the name stands as Womanity the bottle says it all ♡

About reviewer (74 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther, Other, Warm

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

YAaAASSS!!!! These reviews?FASCINATING. and the people who hate it seem to LOVE hating it, which is the hallmark of art. The house of Mugler isn't known for generic, safe fragrance for basics, so that should have been your first tipoff right there, peeps. I am a fragrance ho. I have all kinds. Expensive, like Bond No.9,Tom Ford,Maison Margiela, and cheap, like Fantasy,Mariah Carey,VS. I like most of the categories of perfume, with the exception of the huge aldehydes like No.5. Angel, Alien and Womanity are all famous for requiring a certain chemistry to pull them off. Angel is infamous for its armpit note on the wrong person. Womanity is infamous for its 'dirty lady parts' note, supposedly. None should be blind bought unless you are wealthy enough not to care if it's incompatible with your skin. Personally I love all three of the major Mugler pieces, because they all like me. I get no pit stank from Angel. She is beautiful for me. Alien? Garners compliments from strangers almost every wearing. She is beautiful for me. I get no hoo-ha stank from Womanity, though it IS intimate enough I only wear her mostly at home. She is beautiful too. I think every person here who said caviar is fishy has never encountered actual caviar and just assuming fish product must smell fishy. Caviar smells nothing like that. It doesn't taste fishy either unless perhaps spoiled/old. It is possible the bottle you smelled was spoiled/old which CAN drastically stank up frags. Or you just have REALLY unfortunate body chemistry, in which case I'm sorry cause you miss out on nice things. I chalk some of the comments to simple youthful ignorance...there's a legion of young ladies who just have never had anything but Daisy and Juicy and Bieber and hopefully with age will come to new vistas. I mean, I didn't like avocados or asparagus till like, twenty-six. My palate was childish for a long time. Now it's not. Some of the others must be due to extremely unlucky chemistry. Yikes. Well, stick to what your skin will tolerate, but know that it's YOU plus the frag, not the frag in and of itself. On me, I hate the first ten minutes of Womanity. It is straight metal, like chewing on a zipper or a coin, or licking a battery, if you ever did that. Angry and cold! But after that it gets salty and almost meaty, but sweet at the same time. It's a savory gourmand, which is uncommon (in America anyway) and confuses us. It's fine! You know, we are the only ones who think we have to smell like soap and fluffy towels and flowers all the time or else we are dirty. You can be clean and not smell like soap! No one is secretly judging you! This fragrance recreates the scent of a clean person's skin who has been in the sea and the sun. The REAL sea, NOT the aquatic notes we associate with oceanic perfumes and candles. Real, living salt water. This is an extremely European/Asian scent to me. It is not the American or Canadian or British shoreline. It is a Greek grotto, a Middle Eastern shore where small pools of warm water and seaweed sing to a fig tree growing close by. It's an Agean shore somewhere, salt water and fresh seaweed kissing rocks...maybe the wet rocks are that metallic note. There is a beautiful woman...not a timid girl, a woman who has curves and doesn't know she's supposed to be ashamed of her body...walking around in the water swishing her fingertips in the waves while the water melts her gown onto her shape. The sun is warming the salt onto her skin and the sea is so happy to see a Venus again even if only for an hour. So IF this fragrance suggests lady parts, it is clean, natural lady parts, which are not fish-stanky unless you have an infection, in which case get thee to a clinic. But I will allow that this does contain a suggestion of a clean woman, and again, only in America do we have SUCH a hangup about being what we were made. It is not dirty. It drives the man in my life NUTS like it's loaded with pheromones. Hey, bonus for both of us! I don't wear it out and about often because I don't want to get my goddess on at the grocery store. But I do now and then. No one has ever sidled away from me or made a face when they thought I wasn't looking, and I did look hard because of the epic controversy of this fragrance. The only drawback for me is price for longevity. It is not a sillage beast for me. It stays VERY close to me (fine) and in three hours, gone (not fine). So it's expensive for frequency of refilling it. Sad face. (LOVE that it is refillable though the bottle top is very HR Giger and therefore disturbing to me; I admire Giger's work but I don't know if that vibe is right for perfume...are women THAT scary to you, Thierry...?) But I would totally buy again, and have. I applaud the taking of chances. I like basic frags, the Marc Jacobs Daisies and the Pink Sugars, but there is a place for strange, thoughtful unicorns too. Come on! We always say we're tired of seeing the same movie over and over again because Hollywood won't take a risk. Why do you think they do it? Because everyone goes to see Avengers movies, so you get seventeen Avengers movies and the little guy with the great script and the great unknown cast goes home with nothing. Mugler is making scents that are not for everyone, the art pieces. It's not Coco Mademoiselle or Glow, no. I want all the options available. I want niche art too. Even art I can't enjoy, I want it to exist and want people who have the vision to do it to exist. Thank you to the house of Mugler for being willing to walk the un-basic path. (that's why, though, you shouldn't be secretive when someone asks about it because you want a signature secret. You realize they have to sell a certain amount to justify it, right? Tell anybody who wants her who she is! Unless you plan on personally buying enough to keep Mugler in business we need people to buy so it doesn't go away. That's just basic economics.) (this is a modification of my fragrantica review)

About reviewer (48 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Tan, Warm

HairBrown, Straight, Fine

EyesGreen


2.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This scent is a power house. It has very heavy sillage and it lasts for several hours on clothes. The bottle is very lovely. I really like the hanging chain. I was really excited to try this scent because I love the smell of figs. Many perfumes that use figs use both the leaf and steam but I was in the market for a summer perfume that was based on the fresh, juicy fruit part of the fig. Upon first sniff I got a wave of sweetness with a hint of fig leaf as I continued to wear it the caviar note pushed through on my skin it smelt like salty perspiration on a hot summers day. I love the figs in the scent but I do not like the caviar note.

About reviewer (230 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Dark, Cool

HairBrown, Curly, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I can't quite pinpoint what it is about this scent that I like. I am NOT a fan of sweet or overly floral scents so if those are your favorites, you may not like this. I do enjoy a woodsy/musky warm toned perfume and THIS is it. I detect a note of cinnamon and it is this spicy quality that intrigues me most. I like it so much I don't really care if anyone else around me likes it or not! It is wonderful and I wear it just for me.

About reviewer (41 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

On first opening the box i could immediately smell the unique fig aroma, never smelt anything like it. Loved it. Applied the scent and it was sweet yet so intriguingly beautiful and complex.. Still enjoying the different notes that keep turning up. Excellent scent!

About reviewer (13 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone, Medium Brown, Not Sure

HairBlack, Relaxed, Medium

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

My dad bought this for me 2 years ago and i was so impressed with the bottle but i didnt like how it smells so i just kept it in my drawer. A month ago i just found out that this fragrance actually smells so good, like really good! I sprayed it on my wrist and when i decided to still hate the scent, it changed! Its very strong for the first 10 minutes until it settles down on your skin and it loses the strongness then becomes a unique beautiful scent that reminds you of beach, I SUPER LOVE IT! I feel bad for keeping this in my drawer for 2 years lol.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinNormal, Medium Brown

HairBlack

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

This perfume is gorgeous, I have been wearing it now for over 4 years and people are always remarking on the beautiful smell. It's more musky & woody than really sweet or sickly, without being overpowering. The bottle is very unusual and different, which I love, you can also refill the bottle which is great. I would definitely recommend this perfume, despite the negative reviews. If you are looking for something that little bit different then go and buy it.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBrown

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I never attempted to try this fragrance for I was polarized by all the awful reviews I'd heard saying it was fishy and nasty. A sweet swapper sent me a sample of this and I fell in love with it right away. It's not like anything else I've ever smelled and it's a fruity, salty, fresh scent. Perfect for summer and I don't think it's overwhelmingly strong either but does last most of the day. I got a "half-used" 1.7 oz bottle off fragrancenet's ebay store for $20. It was maybe sprayed once so I was happy with my score. They do have some left BTW. A lovely scent but I know that a lot of people dislike it, could be skin chemistry, so It's probably best to not buy unsniffed.

About reviewer (363 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown