Tom Ford Private Blend Lip Color - Blush Nude

Tom Ford Private Blend Lip Color - Blush Nude
Private Blend Lip Color - Blush NudePrivate Blend Lip Color - Blush NudePrivate Blend Lip Color - Blush Nude

4.0

13 reviews

53% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.6

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.6

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Where to Buy



Start your review


on 12/26/2016 3:46:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This was my first Tom Ford lipstick, and I was really impressed with the formula. I also decided to pick a color I could wear everyday as I wanted to enjoy it as much as possible, not just on special occasions. I was half hoping I wouldn't like it because of the price tag, but it feels so creamy on the lips and it does make my lips look super soft and lush. You can tell it's an expensive lipstick because the formula feels so nice on the lips. The color blush nude is a beautiful light pinky nude. At first I thought it might be too light, and I actually exchanged it for the pink dusk and I had to re order the blush nude as well, because it just is such a beautiful color. It doesn't wash out my NC30 skin tone (medium olive) and for me it's the perfect everyday lipstick for work and running around, but for an evening out you would need a stronger eye as this lipstick is pretty light. If you love light nude pinks this is for you.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.



on 11/16/2016 12:49:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have conflicted feelings about Tom Ford's lipsticks - I do love some of mine, don't get me wrong, but I've found that the quality is inconsistent, even within shades that share the same formula . Blush Nude is part of Tom Ford's permanent 'Lip Colour' range, which are satin lipsticks with opaque coverage and high pigmentation. I own over a dozen of the Lip Colors and if I didn't know otherwise, I wouldn't be surprised if you told me that Blush Nude was an entirely different formula from the others.

Like the previous reviewer, I was taken aback by the smell and taste of this lipstick. Tom Ford's lipsticks are scented with vanilla and I find them very pleasant to wear - no icky taste or overly strong smell. Unfortunately, Blush Nude is a whole different story - it smells like a tube of lipstick that was opened in the 1970s, shoved into the back of a dark, dank drawer and then forgotten about for the last four decades. I actually thought the first tube I bought was rancid and ended up exchanging it. But lo and behold, the second tube I received had exactly the same issues.

In terms of texture, Blush Nude is drying and uncomfortable to wear. It doesn't apply evenly, and has pretty much zero slip to it so it really tugs on your lips. It also looks visibly cakey, drawing attention to all the fine lines on my lips (which I had barely noticed until I wore this). It also - and this is a bit disgusting - wears incredibly badly over time. By that, I don't mean that it fades away or disappears quickly. Nope, quite the opposite! Instead, it gradually breaks down into actual crumbley bits that settle in the corners of my mouth. It's actually really gross. It looks like crumbs of food or bits of dead skin. Just ick.

And that's before we even get on to the colour of this lipstick - oh boy. Now, I know nude lipsticks tend to be polarising. What looks good on some of us will look terrible on others. I can only speak for myself but as a cool toned n15 person with dark hair and eyes, Blush Nude makes me look like I'm suffering from acute hypothermia. Like it just drains the colour out of my lips and makes them look totally bloodless.

If I wanted to look like I belonged in a morgue, Blush Nude would hands down be my first pick. But generally speaking, corpse-chic isn't the look I go for so I don't get much wear out of Blush Nude. I know it's a bit unfair to criticise the colour of a lipstick because it's so obviously a subjective thing. But Blush Nude is genuinely, I think, probably an unflattering shade for most people. For example, my mum is very tan, has fantastic bronzed skin, and is exactly the sort of person a nude lip typically looks good on (I'd say she's probably nc35-40, with warm undertones). But nope, Blush Nude is just as bad on her and makes her look pallid and sick (and this is a woman that swims and plays tennis daily.)

All of this isn't to slam Tom Ford's lipsticks - that is absolutely not why I'm writing this review. Like I said, I love some of his lipsticks (Indian Rose and Negligee are truly swoon-worthy). All four of the other Lip Colours I own have a satiny texture and a lovely vanilla fragrance, wear well for 4-5 hours and are flattering on the lips. So Blush Nude has been the exception rather than the rule. However, for this extortionate price, there really shouldn't be any anomalies. And having tried Nude Vanille and Sable Smoke in store, I can say that in terms of texture, they were very similar to Blush Nude i.e. cakey, heavy and drying. These are all pale, nude shades and I do wonder whether that may have something to do with the weird formula disparities.

Bottom line: This lipstick was a real disappointment for me on just about every level (ok, besides the packaging - Tom Ford nails that aspect completely every time). However, the biggest issue I have with Blush Nude is that it's reinforced the concerns I already had about the quality and consistency of Tom Ford lipsticks. At this point, I just don't feel comfortable enough to buy them sight unseen anymore, no matter how pretty they look in swatches. For anyone who's considering this lipstick, I think at this price point, it's worth exercising caution and checking it out first in person.

3 of 3 people found this helpful.


on 2/4/2014 5:54:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

One of my favorite lipsticks ever ....... I absolutely LOVE Tom Ford's makeup collection and Blush Nude is a HG for me ..... Blush Nude is of exceptional quality ..... the formula is creamy, long-lasting and non-drying ...... the color is a gorgeous nude with pink which looks natural and makes my lips look fuller ..... the price is an issue as it is super pricey for lipstick, but hey sometimes you have to pay more for something that works so well for you. A great color choice if you are cool-toned.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 11/15/2016 9:11:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Was so excited to try this lipstick on. Ordered it from Nordstrom for $52. I had very high expectations and unfortunately they weren't met. The packaging is to die for and it quite hefty (heavy and in size). The shade is a gorgeous nude pink on my NC30 skin. Applies easily but has a "cheap" lipstick smell/taste that you'd get with drugstore lipsticks. I applied it to one side of my lips and then applied Rimmel Kate #42 on the other side. I asked three different people if they could tell I was wearing two different lipsticks and all of them said "no". Can't beat a $5 lipstick dupe! Please see the pic I uploaded for color comparison. Am returning the Tom Ford lipstick immediately. Don't get me wrong, it's a beautiful color and if I didn't already have something like it in my collection I would keep the TF. However, it is NOT worth the price tag. Don't fall into the YouTube hype like I did. LOL!


0
Full Size Image

3 of 3 people found this helpful.


on 2/10/2014 4:21:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is such a pretty nude, especially for a pale, natural blonde like myself. As much as I love nudes they can wash me out or look totally unflattering. I don't want my lips to disappear into my face, I just want a nude with a little color but that's still subtle enough not to compete with an intense eye look. The name is very fitting because it's a creamy, light nude with a blush of fleshy pink. It reads warm on my cool toned skin but still looks beautiful. It adds that finished "naked" lip look that doesn't seem as if I'm trying too hard but am still pulled together.

The color is reason enough to win me over but the formula is the clincher. My lips are naturally pigmented and can show through a lot of nude colors and change the effect of the lipstick. But this shows up true to the color in the tube and goes on evenly in one swipe. Fully opaque with a little sheen without settling oddly. It makes my lips look smoother and fuller too. It feels so rich and comfortable minus the heavy, coated sensation. I have three of the Private Blend lipsticks and they all last so long on me, like a long wearing formula.

YSL's Rouge Volupt in Nude Beige looks similar but a touch lighter and pulls more peach than pink. Otherwise it's a very close match.

Love the sturdy, modern packaging and the faint vanilla scent. It's not the cloying, unnatural vanilla found in other brands. The price is steep for a lipstick but I can't get enough of the beautiful color and the lux formula and I wear it often enough to justify the splurge.

4 of 4 people found this helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

TRY BEFORE YOU BUY. These are expensive lipstciks and the colors are rather misleading.
I ordered online and wasted 37 on 'Blush Nude' which isn't nude at all. Its pink.
It made my lips sore and although I contacted consumer care, the whole process is time consuming and frankly, not my idea of enjoyable buying.
The packaging is nice but YSL is better. I don't mind spending a lot on my lips but this lipstick has LOADS of quite irritating ingredients and although they're listed on the box, one does tend to grab and swatch and ....then its money down the drain.
I will stick with Bobbi Brown and MAC.


on 1/5/2012 3:41:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Best. Lipstick. Ever. Also have nude vanille which is a little more pink and I love it too. These have the best creamy texture. They don't last as long as MAC lipsticks, but they don't dry your lips out! LOVE!

4 of 4 people found this helpful.


on 2/2/2012 4:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I LOVE THIS LIPSTICK. I've been searching for the perfect nude for years; I've tried everything from YSL, Chanel, Cle de Peau, Guerlain, MAC, Dior, Armani, Lancome, MUFE, Nars...etc. Something was always wrong with those...be it the texture, color, pigmentation, wear, or whatever else. So I decided to try Tom Ford, even though the price is insane. NOw, I don't know if I can ever use another lipstick. The texture is wonderous...it's light, creamy, smooth, yet has no slip. It lasts a while too. The pigmentation is amazing. It's opaque in one layer. Blush Nude is a pinky nude beige color and is the perfect nude for my NW25 skin tone. I love love love. I am obssessed with these now and will definitely be buying more lipsticks from this line!! The packaging is a bit bulky but it's alright. It's about $50 but it's worth it. You won't ever go back to other brands once you try these...or at least I won't :)

3 of 3 people found this helpful.


on 3/15/2012 4:03:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love TF lipsticks, which is why I even gave this one a 3 - but for me, this is the worst color. I know matte nudes are in, but this looks so chalky and unnatural on me. It's like those pale chalky lipsticks you see in pictures from the 60s. The texture is super creamy, the color is opaque and with a single swipe you have full coverage - ironically this feature, which is usually a positive one, is actually what makes the lipstick not work for me. Although I'm pale, and looking at the tube you think it would work - it looks beigy pink cream - but somehow it just ends up so completely chalky. I was really disappointed because I read reviews and looked at swatches, but sometimes you really just have to try something on first. Luckily I ordered this from Nordstroms, which has a saintly return policy, so even though I tried it on, luckily they will take it back - I would hate to have a $50 lipstick that I hated sitting around my house!

3 of 3 people found this helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I recently took delivery of this Lipstick - a 'blind' purchase, both in Colour & Cannister, as I had never before paid above 24 for a lipstick (I am a 20 year plus die-hard YSL customer, and was a Tom Ford virgin)
This lipstick is a WHOPPING 36.
I hoped that it would live up to the price tag

The colour ordered - 'Warm Sable' I have added pics, see above. This colour can only be described as a milk chocolate shade. If you can imagine dipping a strawberry into a chocolate fountain & pushing it to your lips.. yup, thats about right. The texture is the same - hey! It even tastes of chocolate a little.

I am not a chocoholic, but it gave me a fix. The texture is incredibly creamy, and smooth - just glides on, and is happy to stay in place, for a good period. It is very pigmented, and has a gorgeous sheen

The cannister - I would have marked 5/5 However, I personally thought that the gold colouring was a little too 'gold' very similar to 22ct gold, but as you might know fake 22ct is very 'cheap' looking, hence the reason for marking down the packaging 4/5. The Tom Ford new dark packaging might be a little less brash than my white cannister.
I personally think YSL own the 'gold' crown The very satisfying 'click' closure of Tom Ford Lipstick makes up for the brassy gold (the difference between a Mercedes door closing & a Lamborghini door - one can notice the difference, blindfolded)

To sum up, if you wish to treat yourself to celebrity beauty, then by all means do, but at 36 a tube? Considering YSL Rouge Pur is 10 less, I personally would take a diversion to the YSL vendor first

4 of 4 people found this helpful.


Back to Top