Shiseido Spotscover

No Image

4.5

10 reviews

80% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Where to Buy



Start your review


on 5/25/2018 6:05:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

My very favourite concealer and one I've been re-purchasing for years. I note from some of the reviews above that the shade range and descriptions are somewhat confusing, so I thought I'd add my thoughts here and hopefully help out some of you other ladies out there with oily-combination skin in need of a great long-wearing concealer!

So firstly, a quick guide to the 3 subtypes available:
1. S series - softer medium to full coverage shades, used as "base" colours and suitable to use over larger areas.
2. H series - harder and more opaque, suitable for use spot-concealing over acne, scars, broken capillaries etc
3. C series - same consistency as the S series, but for colour correction purposes.

Shades:
The S & H lines have the same shade ranges - S100 & H100 are the same colour, for example.
S100/H100 - the lightest base colours, light-medium beige, around MAC shade NC20-30
S101/H101 - medium beige
S102/H102 - medium-deep beige
S300/H300 - as light as the S100/H100 shade, but with pink undertones
C1 - Opaque ivory/off-white
C2 - Opaque,bright pale yellow

For reference, here is an image of all colours swatched together, though c2 looks more yellow in real life:
https://img.alicdn.com/imgextra/i1/22124714/TB2w2xug.hnpuFjSZFEXXX0PFXa_!!22124714.jpg

So here's where this concealer loses points for affordability. I am unable to get away with just using the s100 shade as it's far too dark, so I have to mix it with C1 to get a colour that matches my skin tone. I also use C2 for my undereye circles. It also is only sold in Japan so I have to import it, which can be costly. However, it has fantastic coverage and once set with powder, doesn't budge on my oily skin even in summer.At the end of 13-hour shifts at work it's still in place. I've also never found that it caused breakouts or worsened any underlying acne. So while it's less than ideal that I have to buy several shades to mix to fit my skin tone, the results are that good that I think it's worth the money. Each 20g pot lasts me around 2-3 years with daily use.

If they ever stop making this I will be seriously lost!

1 of 1 people found this helpful.



on 2/14/2018 7:39:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This concealer is magic! I've been using this everyday since I purchased a few weeks ago. The coverage is great and staying power is as well, even without setting powder. I find that when I apply it in the morning before work, it's always still fairly intact by the end of the day. My only qualm would be that I don't find the pot very hygienic, especially over long term use. I use shade S100, but have S101 as well as I can blend the two for when I'm a bit tanner (tried doing so with a beautyblender and the finish is good too).

Fair warning would be that the range I think is really meant for Asian skin, and this won't sit well with people who have cool undertones. I think it's also worth pointing out that most reviews here will say there are two shades (the ones that I own), presumably because these are the ones available overseas, but when I purchased mine in Tokyo there were actually quite a few which made it a bit confusing. I spotted at least four shades, with another "H" line (i.e. H100) which has slightly heavier coverage. Also, the spotscover foundation was available in drugstores but I didn't see it inside the Shiseido stores I visited. The stores had a different but similar foundation called Perfect Cover Foundation, which also comes in a pot but is slightly more expensive.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 4/23/2017 4:09:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This would be HG status if not for its appalling color range....

WARNING: BUY THIS ONLY IF YOU ARE OF MEDIUM (NC25-35) ASIAN SKIN.

If only I was NC25-35 T.T I could fit into the only 2 shades of this concealer.

With that out of the way, you beautiful medium-skinned ladies get to enjoy all the benefits of this awesomesauce in a pot:

-heavy coverage, full pigmentation
-glides smoothly, blendable, does not cake
-lasts long, no transfers, no slips once set with powder
-zero comedogenic ingredients*
*Talc is flagged in cosDNA but seriously... which base makeup does not have Talc.......? ...let's move on

For the lucky ladies, you could do with a light BB or liquidy foundation and achieve a flawless complexion with this trusty little companion that's such good value for money and will probably last you forever.

My NC15 face will have to make do with another lighter concealing product :(

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My current HG. Doesn't break me out AND manages to conceal all my acne and dark spots. I don't even use a primer with this. Best thing is, it even covers up pores! (you have to go over the huge pores with a bigger amount of product 3-4 times though)

I don't even apply this with any makeup brushes, just ye old index finger. Trust me, I get better results that way!

It is classified as a concealer, but its title name is 'foundation', and that is exactly what I use it as.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 11/8/2013 11:41:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm in love!! I guess the perfect concealer is just something every girl seeks whether its for redness, pimples, scarring or dark circles. And this little pot of magic does it all! I first got introduced to this by Ponny (korean makeup artist, check out her makeup tutorials on youtube!). She pretty much uses this stuff to cover up anything in every single one of her tutorial.

So the pros:
-very creamy and pigmented concealer (it's called a foundation but works better as a concealer) .
-dot it on your pimple and blend the edges, you will not see zero redness it's so opaque it could easily hide any tattoos
-looks very natural so you only need to blend the edges, not the actual part you want to cover up
-the color somehow works out for blue dark circles and red pimples
-seems dark in the pot but S100 matches my NC15-20 skin perfectly (I mostly use this for pimple which needs a tad darker but not noticeable shade to diminish the bump so its toward a NC20)
-does not crease under the eyes or make my skin/pimple flaky and dry
-photographs well and does not have the white cast
-does not break me out

Cons:
-the packaging is compact and travel-friendly but not the most hygienic since its the whole thing in a pot so you will have to dip and re-dip your brush (not ur fingers please) inside
-since its ultra creamy, needs a little help from blotting or good setting powder on top or it will come off as a little greasy, which is not appealing on bumps and could easily smear off.

So have a good quality setting powder on hand, carry blotting papers with you on the go and you have the perfect concealer!

3 of 4 people found this helpful.


on 6/5/2013 5:46:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Pros: A little goes a long way. It covers blemishes really well. Inexpensive for the amount of product you get

Cons: Not easily available outside of Japan. I got a friend to buy it in Tokyo for me. Only 2 colours available. I'm just glad the lighter shade wasn't too dark for me!

When I was having acne cysts, this product really helped in the cover-up routine. It did not aggravate my acne cysts. I use this product on every part of my face except around my eyes.


on 9/25/2011 3:31:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I use this as an undereye concealer and it works great! S100 matches my skin tone (NC25 for reference) well (not perfectly but good enough), and coverage is very good. It's extremely creamy, but doesn't rub off easily.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 11/21/2010 2:58:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I was in need of a concealer so I decided to try this one out. I'm pretty pale with slight yellow undertones and s100 is too dark. It's super creamy but when I blend it in it made my skin look muddy. It's too dark for my skin tone even though its the lightest shade.It works okay under th eyes. The coverage is very good though. Wish I liked it more!


on 6/6/2010 7:49:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I am in love. For years, I've been trying to find something to replace my old concealer that was discontinued by Shiseido, and it was called Optimal Cover Concealer. This is as close as it gets, right down from the product to the packaging itself. Wow. I hope this doesn't get discontinued, ever! I purchased mine from imomoko.com. There are only two shades. S100 for light to medium skin tones, and S101 for medium to dark skin tones. I initially purchased S101 and thought it might be to dark just from looking at it, but it looked beautiful on and didn't look to dark at all. I then purchased S101, and it was waayy to light. FYI, I'm NC40 in MAC foundations and the color Ochre for Cle de Peau concealer. Now I mix the two for my perfect shade. This concealer is the best!

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 10/19/2010 5:31:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I just received my Shiseido Spotscover concealer from www.imomoko.com and I couldn't be happier! It only cost me $15.99 I was so sad that they had discontinued the Optimal Cover Concealer but apparently they still make the same concealer in Japan under another name: Spotscover. The packaging is almost identical and the consistency too. The only difference is that there are only 2 colors offered: S100 and S101. I initially ordered S101 because I have a medium skin tone and I believe it may be a tad bit too dark for me. I will also order S100 and mixing the both colors will make the perfect shade for me. If you miss Optimal Cover make sure to buy this concealer. It is the closest you will ever get to Optimal Cover.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


Back to Top