3.4

Created with Sketch.
57 reviews
56%
would repurchase
4.0/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

I waited for a few months of daily use to review as it is pricey. A better ss for the environment and advertised as such. Definitely a slight white cast, but it works to tone down my redness--so in that way it works for my light/med skin. I use MUFE Water Blend over with no issues. As mentioned below, if you are darker, I do not think you would be happy as you would have to rub it in and diminish the effectiveness and would still notixe a white cast. Does not irritate (esp eyes) or cause breakouts. Needs a moisturizer underneath for sure , and if you have any flakey, dry skin, accentuates it after an hour or two of dry down, but to be expected due to the zinc and if you have flakes. Not waterproof and needs regular, generous reapplication for high exposure. All that said, I will buy again as it is a very skin-friendly formula that I can use daily. Edir to add after four months, this does not irritate or cause breakouts for me. I have very mild rosesea/reactive skin, and many ss eventually dry, irritate, especially around my mouth.. I use MUFE Water Blend to add a tint as I am not about to deal with that. The MUFE has no/zero sunscreen and does not react with the formula (and I think the MAC does).. Most often, these days, I use a light powder over. On the search, but sticking with this one as iT does not irritate Edit again: i dislike that this shows too much in pores during warm months/high humidity when my face perspires and takes too long to sink in. Ok for winter.

About reviewer (71 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinOther, Other, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther



4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This is my go to sunscreen- its lightweight and blends in easily. Most importantly it has never irritated my skin or made me breakout the way chemical sunscreens though. I have med-light skin and never had a problem with a whitish cast the way others have. I woudl give it a 5 except for the fact that its not an all in one product- i have to apply over another moisturizer or serum. Still on the lookout for the perfect lightweight moisturizer with physical sunscreen ever since Mario Badescu changed the formulation of their oil-free moisturizer and switched to chemical sunscreen.. this will be my go too until i can find the right all in one.

About reviewer (10 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination

HairBlack

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

Look, first things first: it does leave a slight white cast on your face. It's still a lot better than all the 100% physical sunscreens I've found. But I think this product is definitely not for darker shades of skin - I have a light to medium complexion and I feel like that's the reason I'm able to use it. I would look ridiculous using it while very tanned. Skinceuticals should be more transparent (no pun intended) regarding this fact about this product, especially because it's expensive and people with a darker shade complexion could buy and completely regret it. Although I guess if you put makeup on top of it it should be fine - but I'll get to that in a second. Despite this major problem, this is the ONLY sunscreen that does not irritate my extremely sensitive and allergy prone skin. It's been a life savior for me. It's lightweight and makes my skin feel great, not itchy at all, I feel like it even calms it down. Things I do not love: - It says in the package you should apply it "abundantly". However if you do that you will literally end up looking like a proper ghost. A little also seems to go a long way, so it's confusing. It would be nice if they were specific about the amount you need to apply. - So little product for such a high price. I wish they would sell this in bulks because I use it so much. - It sits on your skin and takes a little while to dry. Even after it dries, it seems quite a fragile barrier, like one you could take off with a tissue. Because of the white cast you kind of have to put makeup on top of it, but then you wonder if you're not removing the physical sunscreen barrier. I have hyper pigmentation prone skin so this product's characteristic does not make me feel very safe. I am more confident with chemical sunscreens (but can't use them unfortunately!). Anyway. By now it's clear it's not a perfect product. But I have been using it for years and my skin does love it, even if I myself don't.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

Horrible white cast with any application whatsoever. SO white that i can end my review here. (returned it eventually)

About reviewer (7 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This sunscreen will have to be used for my hands only. In soft artificial light it looks fine with makeup over top. (It does leave a noticeable white cast on my fair skin). However when I checked my makeup in sunlight, even with my usual foundation on top, I was horrified to see every pore on my chin emphasised with little white dots. It really is very noticeable and unattractive. And of course if you are wearing an SPF 50, you are going to be in strong daylight. I took it off immediately and went back to my current bottle of La Roche Posay. For an expensive sunscreen I expect a much more elegant finish, but maybe it's not possible to avoid such an effect with physical blocks.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

My Skin: Extremely oily, large pores, redness. My skin is extremely oily so almost any product adds shine to my skin, including &quot;sheer&quot; sunscreens. I usually end up not wearing any sunscreen at all. This sunscreen is watery, light, sheer, and matte. It doesn't add any shine to my face, it actually works as a mattifying primer. At $34 USD for 50 ml it is on the pricey side but totally worth it for people with oily/very oily skin. Super quick review on this product: <object onclick="ga('send', {hitType: 'event',eventCategory: 'Ajax Interaction',eventAction: 'PlayVideo',eventLabel: ''});" width="360" height="320"><param name="movie" value="https://www.youtube.com/v/Kl8t2tVecsw"><param name="wmode" value="transparent"><embed src="https://www.youtube.com/v/Kl8t2tVecsw" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="360" height="320"></object>

About reviewer (74 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinVery Oily, Olive, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

The good thing about this sunscreen is that it's lightweight, fairly gentle, doesn't irritate the skin, doesn't give my already oily skin an oily sheen, and generally doesn't seem to do harm. The not-so-good thing about this sunscreen is that it doesn't just leave a white cast -- it makes my pale skin looks like I'm getting ready to audition for the part of a ghost. It makes my face look gray. Like... terrible-looking gray. I could definitely not wear this sunscreen on its own, wow. And the definitely not great part about it is that, well, I can't really wear this sunscreen with makeup on top, either, since makeup doesn't last well on it at all. It will be okay for a couple of hours, but then the foundation starts to separate and slide off and it just... really doesn't look good. So it's seems to be a good sunscreen, gentle the skin, fine product, all that jazz -- but it really drops the ball when it comes to looks.

About reviewer (13 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

HairOther, Wavy, Other

EyesOther


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

This is the best sunscreen I've tried so far. It fits my sensitive/oily skin as it provides UV protection as well as mattifies my face so I can put light makeup over it. The small nozzle is good for dispensing an appropriate amount of product. When I bought it, the helpful lady at the counter reminded me to pat it onto my face; definitely don't rub this sunscreen in as it will leave sticky white bits! I pour a little onto my fingertips and dab it onto my face until the product is absorbed. It does leave a white cast, but you'd expect that from a sunscreen. It is slightly sticky after application so I wait about a minute before applying anything else. I wear this with a light powder on top, or with BB cream. Only con is the price :'( Wish it were slightly less expensive, 390HKD is a lot for a 50mL bottle! Overall great sunscreen for sensitive/oily skin, especially in humid weather.

About reviewer (15 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinSensitive, Medium, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBlack


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Pros-seems to have good uv protection, my dermatologist said it was a good sunblock, and no breakouts from this! Cons-leaves a white cast, not cheap, also the packaging is not the prettiest. I've repurchased this over and over because it's effective and doesn't aggravate acne. I try to be careful with what I use on my face, but I still won't call this a holy grail because of the white cast. I'm a makeup lover and want my makeup to apply as beautiful and smoothly as possible. Supposedly Jlo uses this. Maybe she uses the tinted version or something? My skin is pretty light, so I don't think anyone who's tan or darker skinned could use this product.

About reviewer (302 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

5 years ago

My favourite sunscreen is Skinceuticals Physical Fusion, but it's almost impossible to get in the UK, so I ordered this instead. On the plus side, it's a non-greasy, high-factor physical sunscreen that dries quickly on the skin and doesn't feel uncomfortable under make up. However, if you apply enough to get the advertised SPF50, the white cast is extreme, even on fair skin. I wear medium- to full-coverage foundation over it, which covers up the whiteness, but I could never wear this on its own or under a base with a lighter coverage. For that reason, I would choose something like Clinique City Block over this, despite the fact that it has a stickier finish. If you wear full-coverage base every day and the white cast is not an issue, this is fine, but it's a bit frustrating otherwise and I would not repurchase for that reason.

About reviewer (163 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Other, Other

EyesBlue