The Body Shop Facial Buffer

The Body Shop Facial Buffer

4.5

33 reviews

87% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Not tested on animals
The Body Shop is a Cruelty-Free Subsidiary.

INGREDIENTS


Start your review


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

I'm still undecided about this product. I bought it today and tried it tonight after removing makeup with micellar water, I used it with my facial cleanser. This feels quite abrasive. I have used Olay spin brush in the past (currently using foreo luna mini 2) and this buffer feels more abrasive on the surface. I feel like this is good for surface physical exfoliation, but not for deep cleaning due to the abrasiveness (you have to be very gentle and not put pressure). I bought this in hopes that it would exfoliate more as foreo luna doesn't feel enough to unblock my pores and remove flakes (I'm using retin-a). I will give it more tries. I also wish this came with some sanitary drying holder.

Update 7/1/17
Who knew, right?? After spending $100+ on foreo and tretinoin, I would never think I needed this. Using this once a day or every other day, this really helped to make my face smoother and much much less breakout. I still use my foreo at night but sometimes I use my hands too. I have skipped my tretinoin application (that makes my skin flakey - could be causing more irritation from over-exfoliating) for a few days and no new pimples (knock on wood). I also have less clogged pores too. The result doesn't happen overnight or instant. I only notice it recently as this is the only new addition in my skincare routine. Foreo doesn't provide enough surface exfoliation for me, and for its price I expected it too. The only downside of this is that it takes time to dry (therefore less travel friendly and could be messy and unhygienic). But it's effective. Just bought 3 more as back ups!! HG material!

Update 24/1/17
This is a HG product (combined with hibiclens) for clogged pores, blackhead, whitehead type of acne. I have better results with this than using foreo, chemical exfoliations, or "purifying" mask. I use this 2x daily with no issue as it does feel softer/ more gentle over time.



Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I bought this on the recommendation of a friend when a bunch of us were discussing facial scrubs and what to use in place of those with the troublesome plastic "beads". I do shop a fair bit at The Body Shop but had never noticed this little scrubber - it's hard to find what with all the beautiful, eye-catching goodies in the stores. I asked the sales woman and she found it for me right away. I am so glad to have this. I use it ever 2nd or 3rd night, before bed (though I might reel back a bit from that as the cold weather moves in). I use it very gently with my Boscia liquid cleanser and my skin feels satiny soft afterward. I always apply a few drops of a facial oil afterward before applying my night moisturizer and the results seem great.


on 12/13/2014 5:23:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

I'm very enthusiastic about this buffer as well. I have combination acne prone skin and use it along with my face cleanser every morning.
I find that a light hand is the best since it can be quite rough if you press more than needed.
Frequent exfoliation has made my skin brighter and more clear, blackheads have been eliminated. Also foundation applies way better especially around my nose where dead skin cells tend to add up.
This tool is easy to cleanse and dry, it's also inexpensive and very durable.
I would recommend but those with dry/sensitive skin should better consider the Facial Sponge which is way more soft and gentle.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 9/7/2013 8:51:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've been using this buffer for over 2 years now and its the best £4 I've ever spent! I use this everyday, sometimes alternating between day and night usage. It exfoliates my face gently, but deeply. You can use this with liquid, mousse or cream facial washes and cleansers, but I always use it with my liquid tea tree wash (also from TBS). My skin is much smoother and brighter since incorporating the buffer into my skincare routine, and I notice that my moisturiser sinks in more deeply.


Using the buffer on my skin never feels rough or painful, it's actually a joy! I clean it thoroughly using a bit of my facial wash after each use and store it in a little soap dish. I think I've bought 3 in 2 years - it does lose it's wear after around 6-7 months, which is pretty good going!

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

Maybe my skin is just too sensitive for this. If you have normal skin, this would be a fairly good exfoliator, but it just made my dry, flaky skin that much flakier. It felt rough on my skin and very abrasive(not in a good way). Even when I was gentle with it, it ripped the heads off any active acne which has left me with very bad scarring.
My skin is better off with baking soda scrubs or gentle face brushes, and I really wish I hadn't picked it up. I would--maybe--recommend it, but only to people who don't have sensitive, flaky, acne-prone skin.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 6/24/2013 11:41:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Grey

Wow..I really wanted this to work for me. People absolutely rave about this little facial buffer. I have sensitive skin, so I was wary and put off buying for a long time. But then the reviews intrigued me, and I saw a youtuber mention that it is scratchy and harsh at first, but if you use it on the back of your hands or legs a few times, it softens considerably and is much easier on the face.

I can be prone to blemishes at that time of the month, and this combined with the fact that it's only £4 and would provide exfoliation (no more having to buy exfoliators?) made me go out and get one. Big mistake - it was way too harsh on my skin, even after softening it up by washing it beforehand. My cheeks turned bright red and almost swollen, literally my face turned beetroot colour and was majorly irritated. I tried a few times, barely pressing my face and just sweeping it over the skin, but the same result occurred.

I also didn't find it very hygienic - I washed as I would wash a makeup sponge afterwards, but I'm a bit picky about hygiene and face products and didn't like having to re-use it.

Really liked the idea of it, unfortunately just not for me.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I bought this product due to all the great reviews here on MUA. I was so excited because I thought this may be able to clear up all the black heads around my nose and chin that for I've had for about 4 years.

My forehead also used to be covered in little pimples, but cleared up about a year ago. My chin was also absolutely terrible for quite some time with giant pimples (and blackheads) when I started washing my face with honey, my face started to clear up a lot (Blackheads were still there, but pimples were all gone!) And my skin looked the best it had in years. Then I started using the facial buffer. I used it for about 2 weeks straight. I used it almost everyday (just like a lot of other people here on MUA) My chin started to have a MAJOR freak out, my cheeks started to break out (which hardly ever get acne) and my forehead started to get little pimples on it everywhere. Which haven't happened for almost a year! And my skin is not the sensitive type. So, what I'm trying to say, is DONT buy this product please!


on 11/21/2012 3:03:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I got this from a body shop store yesterday! It is just WOW! I cannot recommend this enough! I don't think I will ever need any of those scrubs anymore! Even if I do, I would only use the scrub once in a week, bcoz just using this buffer with a normal facewash, works wonders! My face has never felt cleaner - not even after looong facial care regime! I have used from the normal to those high end products, including clinique and estee lauder, they are good in their own rights, but when you have this buffer, their is no need for those high end scrubs and cleansers and face wash etc..No need to waste so much money on those products! Because it removes even the slightest trace of dirt and dead skin from your face. I know to some, it might feel as if it's too harsh on your skin but I feel that really depends on how hard you rub it against your skin! Just 2-3 rounds of rub across the face does it for me! So how you use it and with what pressure is really up to you, but, I can vouch for this product, that it's just amazing! It's great for travel too, I can put it in my travel makeup kit and off we go! I was always concerned of carrying that extra bottle of scrub and those products, but with this - I can easily ditch the scrub! Atleast for my travels! Otherwise, once in a week, scrubing the face is now enough for me, when previously, I would scrub atleast three times.


Also I would like to mention that some people might alternately wanna use this buffer once or twice a week, becoz you may feel, it's too harsh - well it's not, its actually cleaning off the grime off of your face, and you control how hard you rub it on your face, so I dont think that should ever be an issue! Infact, you will love how your skin breathes after you try this buffer, even if just once! I personally like to use it daily, becoz now not only is my face clean, but there are no blackheads on my nose anymore - something which would only go, if I maintained scrubbing daily. But now even if I use this buffer for a day, and then skip it for two days, and travel out - then also my nose is sparkling clean :P

Like I said, I could go on and on about this - but take my word for this - for this price - you can't get such an AWESOME PRODUCT! TRY IT! YOU WILL just LOVE IT :)

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I love this little face buffer. I have only used it twice and already it leaves my skin feeling really soft, softer than with other expensive exfoliators I use. I use it with my foaming cleanser at night. It feels quite rough on first use, but leaves skin glowing.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Wow. I am VERY impressed with this buffer. It has actually cleared up my acne. I honestly cannot believe it. I have been using the Skintactix regimen for about a year and my skin has improved significantly, but I would still have between 3-6 zits on my face at any given time (which was a HUGE improvement from before) or some redness or irritation. I started using this buffer about a month ago. At first I used it 3 times a week. Now I use it daily (which is probably too much). My skin is amazingly soft. I have no actual zits on my face and the redness has calmed down.

This buffer + Skintactix have given me the clearest skin I have had for over 5 years!!

I feel like I need to go stock up on these just in case!

Popular Misc Beauty Tools


Derma Roller
Derma Roller
94 Reviews
Foreo - Luna
Foreo - Luna
78 Reviews
the sponge
the sponge
823 Reviews
Back to Top