Neostrata Oil Free Matifying Fluid

Neostrata Oil Free Matifying Fluid

4.2

26 reviews

73% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Where to Buy



Start your review


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have been using this stuff every day for over 5 years. I absolutely swear by it for keeping my extremely oily/greasy t-zone from eating through my makeup or causing extreme shine. This product has also helped with acne because it gets rid of my oil which the acne would feed off of.
This product is intense. I recommend it for really greasy skinned people such as myself. If you apply this product to any areas of the face which tend to be normal or dry, this product will kind of ball up and feel really tight and weird. Apply it only on your oily areas, I can't stress this enough. I use a tiny pea sized amount to cover the middle of my forehead, my nose (especially the creases) and my chin. A little goes a very long way. I only run out of this product maybe once a year at most. I estimate that the 50ml tube lasts me about 8 months until I need a new one, and I always have a backup or two because I can't be without it.
I apply light facial moisturizer after I wash my face or get out of the shower and let it sink in for about 10 minutes while I dry my hair. Then I apply this matifying fluid only to my oily t zone. Then I apply makeup right after and it keeps my full coverage powder foundation on all day and the oil on the face doesn't eat through my makeup because this stuff absorbs it. This product plus my powder foundation (Mac studiofix) keeps my skin looking naturally flawless for probably 6-7 hours before any oil starts to peek through, and that's while I'm at work dealing with people and running around.
Overall this stuff is amazing. Highly highly recommend.

3 of 3 people found this helpful.



on 2/15/2016 7:36:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I really wanted to like this product. The product works well on its own without any makeup on top of it. My only problem with this product is that it pills once I apply makeup on top of it, regardless if I let my moisturizer under it dry first. I thought that was the problem initially but my makeup still did not apply well nor blend properly. But the product does what it says - it mattifies the face and is oil free. It did not cause any breakouts and there's no scent. It just pilled on me and I'm not sure why. The packaging is a squirt tube so it is quite hygienic. It is a little bit on the thicker side but it's not that big of an issue in terms of texture. The product is white colored. If I don't wear any makeup, then this product would do exactly what it says it does; however, my problem is the pilling. It make work wonders for others out there, just didn't work well with my skin. I bought this product based on previous reviewers and honestly, it is a great product, just didn't work with my skin for some reason? It could be due to the fact that my skin is sensitive and only works with certain products even though I still go out and try other products :P Would def recommend others to try this product. Can always try the tester in store. I bought mine from my local Shoppers Drug Mart in Canada, but can also buy it at London Drugs or Murale.


on 9/16/2014 3:58:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I think this is a wonderful product. I find it is very unique. I never came across anything like that.
First of all, it works and how many matifying products you can name that can keep you matte for longer then half an hour. Second of all, i cannot name any disadvantages. It doesn't break me out (i have extremely sensitive acne prone skin), it doesn't dry me out, it doesn't mess up my make up.

The way i use it: i put it on top of my make up in the AFTERNOON (when my face becomes oily and shiny), dust some powder, voila. I don't use it as a primer. I never put it over the make up in the morning (i tried that, it was bad, it didn't spread evenly and left streaks on my foundation). Basically, it absorbs oil (like nothing i've seen before) and for it work you need an oily face (disgusting i know).
I didn't buy it actually. I got a set and the cream was a part of a gift. Amazing deal. I will re-purchase if i run out.

Btw, if you suffer with acne, Neostrata has some excellent products: Toners (I prefer level I, was using it for years), Oil-Free Moisturizer (very very good, never broke me out, saved my skin once), their Peel solution is very good too, but expensive. Their AHA creams and cleansers didnt work for me though.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 9/6/2015 6:12:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I hav e such oily skin but no acne so this is a unique product in that it doesnt contain benzoyl peroxide or salicyliic acid, both of which are far too drying for mature skin. In my experience all Neostarta products do what they claim to which makes it good value for the $$ spent.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 3/18/2015 7:35:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Absolute holy grail for oily skin. I found this at the pharmacy and it's been an absolute game changer. It keeps my skin matte and helps decrease the amount of oil my skin produces throughout the day. There are times where I'll still have to blot my skin a little, but this is definitely something I would recommend for those struggling. It's a little on the pricier end, but it's worth it!


Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I have no idea what "micro sponge spheres" are, the ingredient they boast about, but this does indeed give you a matte finish. I have relatively oily skin, and am not going to say this will keep you shine free for the entire day but it does help those of us with excess sebum better than most other products I've tried. This lotion feels more powerful than my usual moisturizer but I think you are supposed to moisturize before using this? Many comments I've read do suggest you moisturize first, let it absorb in fully before applying the Mattifying Lotion. I have found that I don't need a primer when I use this, so if I view this as a primer, it is actually a better price compared to many others, and with less silicone in it. I love, love, love the velvety smooth texture it leaves on my skin.

Bottom line... I would recommend this to anyone with oily skin. NeoStrata has a good skin care line for acne prone skin so it's probably not going to irritate anyone with oily or acne prone skin.

Update - I've recently tried using this OVER my makeup during the day when I was having a particularly oily/shiny mid-day glow and it did not disturb my makeup at all. Even better, it erased all hints of oil/shine!

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 2/5/2014 5:32:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I use this on and off, on my nose only as it is the area that is most oily. On the first day (after a while of not using it), it mattifies my nose beautifully and I almost don't need to blot. However, after using it for 3 or 4 days in a row, the skin on my nose starts peeling! Needless to say, this makes makeup application a nightmare since all the dry patches and peeled skin are much more noticeable under foundation. Oil control also seems to be less effective. As soon as I stop using this fluid, my nose goes back to its normal, non-peeling (but unfortunately still oily) state. I feel like this may be too harsh for me, which is unfortunate because if I could get the first day effect all the time, this product would be a HG.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 1/25/2014 4:54:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

It took me a while to try this. My friend gave me a sample and I never got around to trying it since I'm not a big primer person. I might have been apprehensive to wear a primer because I don't want to put too much on my face because I'm scared for it to get too heavy or cause a breakout but I was pleasantly surprised when I tried this! I struggle a lot with my skin - it can get very dry and flaky but once I manage to get rid of that it can get really oily. Right now I'm going through an oily phase, and this does a great job of controlling it. I apply it on top of my moisturizer to the areas that need it underneath my makeup. After an 8 hour workday, my face usually gets pretty oily and I will need to blot. When I wear this, my face only gets that way after 16 hours. Packaging is pretty standard. Price is a little on the high end normally (32$ CAD) but it goes on sale at Shoppers Drug Mart/Pharmaprix (up to 30% off) every so often so the price is not so bad.


on 2/20/2013 9:56:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

My cosmetician gave me a full size of this awesome product (and other products after me buying over 125$ of cosmetics)I enjoy it and I feel it has helped controlling the oily skin I'm stuck with one some place, on others it's always dry. So I use this lotion on the T of my face (front, cheeks, nose and chin.

Been using it for 2 and a half weeks daily and I ADORE it.



on 5/30/2014 1:04:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have combination fair skin. I would say generally very oily in the T zone area, however the rest of my face is somewhat normal. I have tried every product under the moon to try to control the oil. I use also clean and clear oil absorbing sheets to help when the oil is excessive. Neostrata oil matifying fluid is a real LIFE SAVER. It is THE ONLY product that has EVER worked for me. It really sucks all the oil and controls it nicely. I would recommend this product without hesitation to anyone that struggles with the same issue. It is a bit pricey, however it's worth every penny!! LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS PRODUCT. PLEASE GIVE IT A TRY YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT!!!

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


Back to Top