3.5

Created with Sketch.
31 reviews
52%
would repurchase
4.2/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

EDIT: 18/01/19 Having lived with this for a bit, I've decided that this should be renamed The Emperor's New Foundation. Put it this way: you know things are messed up when you're using your $15 Marcelle City Cream when going out and grudgingly reaching for your $70 stick when you're at home writing or doing laundry. ORIGINAL REVIEW Well, I shelled out a king's ransom on this ($70 at the local natural apothecary-type shop), having tried a sample that had been dug out into a jar. I really don't have that sort of money to toss around, but I thought this would fill a niche for travel etc/ On the plus side: this has wonderful ingredients, feels lovely going on, is highly portable, doesn't irritate my skin and leaves a fresh, dewy glow. The smell hovers between mould and plants, but it doesn't irritate me particularly. On the down side: nobody likes a fresh, sheer finish as much as myself (I live in fear of cakiness), but this is pretty darn minimal in the coverage department. Concealer is a must (I use Cover Fx, which is quite hard core) as is setting powder. Lasting power is non-existent. To my mind, this would be better served by a name that didn't imply it was an actual foundation but more of a sheer tint stick. I plan to use this up during the winter but cannot justify spending that sort of money on something that doesn't totally pull its weight.

About reviewer (128 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesGray



5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

This is a fantastic foundation for folks who have dry to very dry skin. It might even be my new holy grail. What I love about it - the shade range is very good and being fair person I was able to find a shade that matches me perfectly. So much so, that it melts into my skin. If you are a pale girl like me, you will have lots of choices of shades. I also love the coverage and finish it provides which is not too heavy. This is my first time using the brand, so I am curious about other vapour products.

About reviewer (66 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Curly, Fine

EyesGreen


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I ordered this foundation directly from the Vapour website after testing the color match at Credo Beauty in San Francisco. In my search for a cleaner, less toxic foundation for my mature skin, I wanted to love this product based on reviews from their website and several You Tube reviews. The only positive is the perfect color match for my fair skin. Application using my fingers was sheer, almost like a BB cream. it absorbed into my skin with light coverage, it did not even out my skin tone and slightly emphasized my dry areas and marionette lines. And I now have some acne on my chin. To sum it up, this product did nothing to improve my appearance and was a waste of money. I will return since I'm within their 30 day return policy. But I'm out the postage. Further, I've tried contacting Vapour by phone and email as suggested on their website and it's been over a week and no response. Horrible, horrible customer service!

About reviewer (144 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairSilver, Other, Medium

EyesHazel


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

This foundation goes on very nice, covers well and a nice natural finish, but as it's a non silicone wax and oil based product, it's gone within a few hours. This would only really work for very dry skins. Vapour has a good range of shades but the descriptions are way off. You really need to get samples first before buying. This stick is supposed to be for normal to dry skins but I'd say dry to very dry. For reference I'm a Porcelain in Bobbie Brown and shade 090 matched very well. I have combo skin and this actually worked better for me than the Atmosphere Luminous which is supposed to be for normal/combo/oily. Go figure.

About reviewer (91 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinSensitive, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

I would like to preface this review by saying that if you have oily or even combination skin, it is best to avoid this foundation. But crack on if you have dry skin. The coverage is light but you can build it to medium. It looks very natural on, very even and your skin looks like skin and takes on a wonderful glow. But it is a dewy even oily finish, you have to set with powder. Because I have combination skin, it looked quite oily and shiny so because of this I am passing on this foundation. But I think all other aspects of this foundation are great and you will love it if your skin is dry. That said, even though the formula is oily, I must say it wore off in a nice uniform manner throughout my face, unlike a lot of other foundations which wear off on my nose and forehead only, leaving obvious patches. For my skin type I will stick to Vapour's soft focus foundation which is a glorious foundation.

About reviewer (10 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Straight, Other

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I've had some beauty goals this year - trying to "re-green" my beauty routine (I went green years ago but have backslid quite a bit), and also trying to simplify my routine quite a bit. Quality of ingredients and being cruelty free are important to me. As I've gotten older, mineral powders don't look quite as good, and Dr. Hauschka reformulated my favorite liquid foundation (the new one isn't bad but not good enough to be my HG), so I have been searching for a great foundation for a while. I tried both this and the RMS "un-coverup" at the same time, and I do like both, but I think the Vapour product is the winner. First, the color match. Vapour Atmosphere Luminous Foundation in shade 115 is literally the most perfect color I have ever put on my face. When I swipe it on my face from the stick, I can't even tell where I put it! Second, the look and coverage - it is very natural, luminous indeed! It is glowy but not sparkly or fake. The coverage isn't super heavy, nor do I need it to be. My skin is pretty good, just some redness here and there. This makes my skin look even and smooth. Finally, I love the formulation and the stick form. The ingredients are just amazing. Organic, truly good for the skin. I don't find the smell overpowering or off-putting at all. It is just a bit earthy and herby. I like the stick, its easy to apply, easy to travel with, and it can serve as both a foundation and concealer. The packaging is recyclable aluminum, and closes tightly with a very satisfying click. There is more product in the Vapour package than in RMS's, so that's nice. Also, the company uses wind power and is very committed to being kind to the earth.It is pricey, but its not only a great foundation, but a concealer, and skin care too, so worth it, I feel. It's early to say, but this could very well be HG for me!

About reviewer (65 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBlond, Wavy, Medium

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This is my first Vapour product. I can say immediately, I love the stick aspect to this foundation. I hope they do that with more organic foundations. It really makes application so much easier to use, especially in a time crunch which I am in frequently. ;) A few swipes of the stick, a damp beauty blender, and I'm blended and set in no time! Perhaps most importantly, I really truly am impressed how well my skin has responded to this foundation. I have had sensitive, acne prone skin these last few years, and due to that, I have some redness in my skin as well. This does a good job of to covering and decreasing redness without masking my face in foundation, which seems to be the unfortunate and unhealthy trend these days. This however, allows my skin to breathe and look natural! Ah.....so nice!! The coverage is a solid light/medium which I prefer; I don't like anything heavier than that. Also, this IS a moisturizing foundation. Definitely NOT matte, but that doesn't mean it doesn't work with combo skin, because it works very well with mine. It does a fantastic job of nourishing the dry parts of my skin while still giving lasting coverage to my slightly oily T-zone. After that, I use just a whisper of translucent setting powder and I'm good to go! All in all, very pleased with this foundation. Will buy again. :)

About reviewer (177 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

I have very dry skin so most foundations tend to look cakey after a while. This one does not. It's more sheer than I would like but the texture and glow it gives to my skin can't be beat. I would definitely repurchase.

About reviewer (65 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Other

HairRed

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I have pale skin, with a neutral yellow base. I wear vapour 100. At first I really loved this, but I've had to give in and admit it just isn't suited to my skin type. I have oily skin, and this is designed for dry skin, so it leaves me looking overly oily, and it tends to slip around. It's a shame, because it really does give you a luminous look. I imagine on someone with dry skin it would be fantasticly moisturising and I don't think it would look as oily as it does on me. Also you can't beat the ingredients, it's like wearing skin food. Colour is great for me, it isn't too pink, but sits nicely in the neutral camp, if you know what I mean. Price is OK, but there is a lot of wastage once you get to the end, there's a lot of the product left inside the metal ring, which (being a hater of waste) I dug out with my finger nail (an extra weeks wear!) The packaging does look good, feels good quality. Not buying again but only because it isn't for my oily skin, it's still a top class product.

About reviewer (23 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairBrown, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I am 42 and have wrinkles showing, they are starting to define what my definition of cakey is now. This foundation ranked #1 for my self picture test, and my Husbands thumbs up or down cakey test. I can not stress enough that gals need to know what product they are purchasing and how it correlates to their skin, before reviewing or defaming said product. This happens a lot on this site, for all sorts of items. It is also not appropriate to slam a product for reasons having to do with buyers remorse. ie: having to pay for samples. I see on the first page, two reviews slamming this as not for oily skin and leaving 1 star. No sh** Sherlock. This is for DRY AGING SKIN !!!! Gals that slam things and can not take 30 seconds to read the product description just hurt everyone that is trying to make an informed decision. I have dry, aging, sensitive skin. If you use this atop of the concealer and you moisture for the day, it will be luminous and lovely. I set if with some just matte by jane iredale. (not beyond matte because that is just for oily skin) The finish for this and their concealer is really remarkable. I think it is better than Guerlain parure lumiere or Chanel lift. I also recently tried absolue, and it smells like gilette shaving cream and irritated my asthma. I find that the wrinkles on the cheeks, forehead, and eye area look less cakey than with the above foundatons. The finish is not like surreal skin (mac) but how one expects a pearl powder to look. The eye area will look nice. Just put your moisture and eye cream on first, then dab the areas with concealer. Finish with a setting powder or not, depending upon the look you want. I can use 115 I have brown hair and green eyes. Welsh, Irish, Dutch..... These are not too yellow or too pink. I am neutral, and I think that 110 and 115 are really neutral. I was not a fan of dabbing all over my face, just need to use a warm hand and face. I likey!! 115 is like beige clair in guerlain. I fiound that parure extreme was lighter than parure lumiere. The difference is that of 115 to 110 in Vapour. This is for the stick vapour foundation. If you do get samples, they give you a coupon for ten dollars off of any full size. I have the eyeliner in viper? It is an eggplant/maroon shade that looks great with my green eyes. I also use it to mauve out a pink lip. I found the concealer to be better than the dior naked concealer. I may have left a review already. If so, sorry.

About reviewer (10 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesGreen