3.3

Created with Sketch.
322 reviews
56%
would repurchase
3.6/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


2.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

Shade: Light. I found this concealer very hard to work with. It would dry down so quickly on the skin that it was impossible to spread out and apply evenly. It also dried patchily and sunk into creases on my face noticeably. I'm writing this review from the perspective of someone with dry skin so if you have oily skin and work quickly it may be a better product for you. However, I have used other matte products which have more "play time" before they set and apply more evenly to the skin.

About reviewer (16 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther



5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This isn't a concealer, it's the perfect eyeshadow base! Put a few dots on your eyelid, blend it quickly and set it with a little amount of powder. I used UDPP, MAC Paint Pot, Smashbox Eye Primer, Artdeco Eyeshadow Base, NYX Glitter Glue and nothing has prevented creasing. But with this concealer, it stays for about 12+ hours (usually I wear my makeup not longer than 12 hours) and then there is just a tiny tiny hint of creasing (if you take a mirror that shows your face so close you can see even the finest hairs). Its pigmentation is good enough for covering my uneven eyelid color. I wouldn't use it as a concealer anymore. It oxidizes on my skin plus it's a nightmare for dark, wrinkly or fine lined undereyes. But hey, I found my HG eyeshadow base and there are plenty of other concealer for concealing your blemishes, undereye circles, so it's not a big deal. EDIT 28/11/2017: Used it this day. My eye makeup looked like I just applied it. Wore it from around 10:05 a.m. - 10:30 p.m. It has rained a little bit and I had to take a walk for about 30 minutes. But as I said, nothing has moved or creased on my eyes which confirms this is my HG eyeshadow base.

About reviewer (188 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesOther


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

This concealer definitely has staying powder. It does have quite a pink tone and doesn't blend especially well. I mostly use it to cover blemishes.

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I HAVE FINALLY FOUND MY HG CONCEALER! This concealer originally belonged to my older sister who has much, much darker skin than myself. The concealer colour is light beige (2) , and I'm a porcelain/ivory girl to the bone! However, I stole this concealer when my Maybelline Fit me ran out - and I have never looked back! The colour may look a little darker, but it blends in seamlessly with a brush or beauty blender. It's thick and creamy and perfect for covering up acne blemishes!! I would use the lighter colour under my eyes though, but I literally cannot fault this concealer!

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesGreen


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

The worst concealer ever!

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Medium

HairBlack

EyesBlack


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I initially hated this and couldn't believe that Maybelline would put out such an awful product. My go-to concealer is the Nars creamy, but I forgot to pack it on a vacation and decided to head to the nearest supermarket near my hotel to get a substitute. It was the summer holidays so I thought the Superstay was the most appropriate as I was going to be outdoors and sweating quite a bit. First day I tried it on my undereye circles and some redness near my mouth and it was a disaster! I had to wash it all off and re-do my entire face and skip concealer because of how badly it creased and caked. I thought it was the most ridiculous product ever and was determined to throw it in the bin. However, I decided to give it another chance a few days after as I was invited to a party and I really wanted to do a flawless-face makeup look. I used a wet sponge this time and started blending immediately after the product hit my skin (you need to be really fast!). Surprisingly, it worked perfectly. My undereye area looked really bright and porcelain-smooth and I was surprised by how good the finish was when blended quickly with a wet tool. Even more, I was surprised at how well it held up after a very very long, humid night at an outdoor party. I'm convinced I could wear this through a session at the gym. I'm not overly-thrilled by the shade selection and I think the shades all lean overly towards the pinkish. I use a yellow-based setting powder over this though, so this wasn't too much of an issue. However, I will probably only use this exclusively as an undereye concealer and not as a spot-corrector, as the undertone just seems too off. Overall, this won't replace my Nars, but it is a great product to have as back-up. You need to work at your application technique, but given how inexpensive it is, and how great the pay-off was, I felt it was worth the learning curve. Just remember to blend it in as soon as it hits your face. Work on one section at a time, and NEVER EVER let it sit on your skin for more than a few seconds. Once it dries up, it is impossible to work with and you'll probably have to use make-up remover to get rid of it and start over. Dryer skins probably should stay away completely though. And I probably will not use this in colder, dryer weather either. But if you have greasy skin like me and need an inexpensive concealer for the summer or hot, humid weather, then you might want to try this.

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOily, Medium

HairBlack

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

I found this product quite good in price range, and i thought it was a really nice concealer by swatching the product on the back of my hand, but it dry way to fast, and when on the face and while blending it is very hard to blend because of how fast it drys!!

About reviewer (1 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinOily, Olive

HairOther

EyesOther


3.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I bought this concealer after swatching it on my wrist at the chemist and thought that it would be perfect! Only to get home and find that it was A LOT pinker than first appeared...I do actually like the way it perks up the darkness of my under eyes, and it covers blemishes pretty well, but the formula is far too thick and I find that it leaves my skin looking very cakey. It also has to be worked in very quickly after being put on otherwise it is simply impossible to blend in. The smallest little bit goes a long way, but using too much will leave the skin pretty orange and feeling quite heavy... The price is quite good, which is why I'm not too stressed by the likelihood that I won't end up using it all. The packaging is quite basic but not in a negative way. The applicator is quite small which is good, as I don't like to use too much as stated earlier.

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinSensitive, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Comes in very light shades, pale enough to match my super fair skin (I'm a redhead). The reason I love this concealer so much is because it doesn't clog my pores (very rare with my sensitive skin), and doesnt rub off. In fact, for those who go to a gym to workout, as well as athletes, can rest assured that this is one of the very few concealers that will not disintegrate the moment you start sweating.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone, Fair

HairRed

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

If you have dry skin, my friend, I recommend you start looking for another product. This thing made me look flaky as heck, it creased like crazy and was a bit hard to blend even with a wet sponge. I got this product just because I ran out of concealer and needed something asap. Buy this if you have french fry skin (Oily) and have blending skills faster than the flash.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Olive

HairBlack

EyesBlack




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us