4.2

Created with Sketch.
247 reviews
77%
would repurchase
4.0/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

Huge fan of mineral makeup but this foundation oxides on me. I tried original and light formulas. Ingredients from Lucy site: Original Formula (combination/dry) Ingredients: zinc oxide, titanium dioxide, mica, magnesium stearate, iron oxides, allantoin, Apple Poly® polyphenols, trans-resveratrol, green coffee bean extract, magnesium ascorbyl phosphate. Lucy Light (extremely sensitive) Ingredients: zinc oxide, titanium dioxide, mica, magnesium stearate, iron oxides. No idea why the magnesium stearate is in all formulas including finishing powder and eye liners. It is listed as a fungal trigger as per Skincarisma.com (ingredient checker site) and Comedogenic Irritating on Cosdna. Something to keep in mind if you have any skin issues triggered by fungal - acne, seb. dermatis, etc. Shipping is flat rate of $11.00 to Canada. Her blushes and eye shadows are much prettier IRL; on her site some look grey.

About reviewer (221 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinSensitive, Fair, Not Sure

HairBlond, Wavy, Medium

EyesGreen



5.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

I love this foundation. I had been looking for a foundation for medium/light olive skin tones and I found my perfect match. What I love about the foundation mostly is how it blurred my huge pores on my nose, which I didn't expect from a powder foundation. It evens out my skin tone and it is fairly easy to apply.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBrown

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

10 months ago

I am 52 & have *never* found the right colour foundation. I have a lot of broken capillaries on my cheeks & chin & I also have never found a great green colour corrector, they left a white mask effect. On this pathway I discovered Cinema Secrets correctors, the green ones much deeper than the pale mint ones I've used. So I ordered that & found during my research that pale olive skin is a thing & is why I've never been able to match my skin to foundation. Beauticians always think I'm cool undertoned as I have a lot of redness. But all foundations we're too pink or too yellow or too orange at all price points. The CS pallette arrived & I thought I'd found my HG. The palest green toned corrector could not be detected on my skin that had never seen the sun, so I knew the tone was perfect. I've been mixing the 3 green ones and have been happy with the colour. Despite trying a gazillion types of application, I always looked like I'm channelling Bette Davis in "Whatever happened to baby Jane", as I like standout lips. At the same time I discovered Lucy Minerals & ordered samples. WOW. Right colour, right tone, right effect, right texture. I've tried a million brands of mineral foundation, never right tone/colour and really dehydrated my skin. I'm taking much better care of my skin now: have been very lucky and have few concerns, just the redness, but I'm putting more moisture back into my super dry cheeks. LM is smooth & buttery & feels like nothing and disappears on my face. I've never liked a full makeup look for me: I just want even skin, coiffed brows, lippy & mascara! And I have found my base. I'm experimenting with pale, light & medium olive colours to find the perfect colour. LM will mix it for you! The try-it sizes are generous. The packaging is plain, so not paying for fancy schmancy anything but top notch product. Also, postage cost is reasonable (I'm in Australia) & they charged actual cost, not volumetric minimum. Took a month to get here, but not complaining. I'm sure the ambrosia oils are great, but I make my own. Thank you Lucy Minerals for making me look great.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair

HairRed

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

I've been using this for years! It's great in warmer weather when my skin is a little oilier. I can brush on a light layer if I just want a little bit of a dusting, or buff on a bit more if I want a little bit heavier coverage. I find that I do need to set this with a finishing powder - lately, I've been applying powder before any foundation/concealer and I have been really like the staying power! It can also look a little cakey and powdery if you apply too much - I generally use a light hand with this. If I feel like I've over done it, I mist my face lightly with some kind of spray and then blot lightly with a beauty blender. I find my concealer looks better if I apply it after this.

About reviewer (32 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Medium, Neutral

HairBlack, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I just want to say I’ve been using Lucy minerals for a year now and as someone with very sensitive skin, this doesn’t irritate my skin compared to all the other big branded products out there. Mind you, with those products I research heavily and also search up individual ingredients on cosdna and still, Lucy minerals has been the only one to not cause breakouts with consistent use. I also want to give credit to their amazing customer service due to a postal issue and they were very helpful and generous. Besides being very happy with their Lucy Light Creamy Bisque mineral foundation, after experiencing their customer service and seeing how willingly helpful they are, I have become for the first time, a loyal customer. This is also my first review because normally I am never bothered enough! But I believe this company deserves the credit for my personal experience. :)

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I love Lucy Mineral foundation. I purchased the original formula and it beats Bare Minerals, hands down. It melds beautifully into my normal to dry skin, without emphasizing pores. It wears well all day. I also like how it sits on my nose and doesn't look powdery. It is a creamy foundation with great ingredients. like Vitamin C and green coffee extract. It makes my skin look great without the look and feel of wearing foundation.

About reviewer (34 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Curly, Medium

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I think I may have found my HG foundation. I was looking (always looking!) for a new foundation and saw a lot of reviews raving about Lucy Minerals. I saw they had a selection of olive shades (!) and jumped in. I'm so glad I did! There's a little learning curve to using the LM foundation because it really is different than many other mineral foundations. It is very creamy and concentrated, so much so that the first time I applied it, I kept all those warnings in mind and still managed to overdo it. And more often than not, applying a second layer is not necessary. The foundation needs a few minutes to warm up and meld to the skin, so you need to be patient and wait to see how the first layer looks before adding a second. The shade also adjusts during that time; it tends to apply light but darken slightly as it melds. The foundation provides smooth and natural coverage providing you don't overdo it. It wears very well (well, see below) and removes easily. It also doesn't clog pores either. Like all mineral foundations, it goes on better over moisturizers and primers that don't contain silicones. LM recommends their Ambrosia oils as primers, and while the Ambrosias are awesome (that's for another review), I had great results using LM over non-silicone moisturizers and Meow's Premiere Puss. There is a pretty good range of shades broken into families. I hit pay dirt with Creamy Olive, though I ordered Medium Olive so I can make shade adjustments as needed for the darker months. There doesn't appear to be a lot of very dark shades though, so if yo have deeper skin tones I'm not sure if you'll find a fit here. They offer samples, albeit in baggies, of all their products. They will also make custom blends, so if you know the proportions (we're talking fractions) of the two shades you want to mix, you can have LM mix them into one container instead of ordering two separate containers. LM makes it clear that returns are not accepted, so definitely get samples first. There are four formulas: the regular, oil control using silica, oil control using calcium carbonate, and a "light" formula without any antioxidants. I've tried all but the silica. I didn't notice any difference between regular and light. I did notice that both seemed to apply more smoothly and hold up better than the calcium carbonate. I found the calcium carbonate to easily patch up on both initial application and as time goes on. I didn't notice any improvement in oil control with the calcium carbonate. Of the three, calcium carbonate is my least favorite and not one I'd be likely to reorder. I'll have to see if the silica is any better. ****************** Update: I tried the oil control with silica today. I found that it left me with too much of a "glow" as though it was heavy on the mica. That's not the look I'm going for--I prefer a satin/matte finish which the original, light and the calcium carbonate formulas provide. So silica is my least favorite of all the formulas and a definite "do not reorder". ****************** I love the packaging with the twist-top lid that minimizes mess. Every mineral foundation brand should get on that bandwagon! Customer service is impressive. Of all the orders I've made (and there's been a lot!), there was only one with issues--an issue on their end, and an issue on my end. Not only did they get back to me within hours of my writing them--impressive in itself--they corrected BOTH issues, even though one was my fault. That blew me away because they didn't have to fix what was my fault. But they did. Since discovering Lucy Minerals, I can't recall reaching for a liquid foundation--in fact, I moved most of them out of my regular rotation and into storage. I used some of my other mineral foundations but I find myself not quite as pleased with them as I used to be...though could also be because I'm still riding the initial high of discovering LM. But I don't see LM falling-out of my regular rotation anytime soon!

About reviewer (332 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This product is amazing. I have extremely dry, pale, olive/yellow toned skin and I have found an excellent match mixing the Pale Olive and Snow White versions of this foundation. I use the Lucy Minerals branded flat top brush to blend in an initial layer, wait ten minutes and then finish with a final layer and the rest of my makeup. It even works well as a concealer. I apply it over a thick layer of moisturizer and sunscreen and this seems to provide a good base for the product to meld with my skin. I have not had success however over regular silicon based primers. It's like this foundation needs natural moisture and oil on the skin to work, and it doesn't interact well when there is a barrier. Can recommend that dry skinned people try this product, it takes a bit of fiddling to get it to work right. But when it is good, it is very, very good. I will be repurchasing.

About reviewer (12 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinVery Dry, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I wanted to like Lucy Minerals foundation but sadly I don't. I ordered the foundation sampler with 6 shades, 1 finishing powder, and 1 blush. My order experience was ok. The website had good color description. My order went to "awaiting shipment" very quickly which was impressive. To me "awaiting shipment" means my order is packaged and ready to head out the door. After waiting a week and reading the FAQ's, I dropped a line to see if it was usual for an order to sit waiting to be put in a mail carrier's hand for a week. I received a very cheerful response restating exactly what the FAQ's said......along with the additional tidbit that my order was not actually filled and waiting for shipment, but rather waiting to be filled. I suggested it would be more clear to state the order had been received and was waiting "fulfillment" rather than "shipping" but the notion was completely wasted on the perky representative. Oh well..... In all, I waited right at 10 days to get my order. No frills. No packing slip. No instructions. I can see both sides - do you waste more paper or just send the goods? Personally, especially for a first order with a company, I like the hand-written "thank you" or a coupon or a free sample to say "Hello!" Meh..... My review is for the Original Foundation. The colors were very forgiving which is hard to find since I am fair and warm/olive toned. Unfortunately that is all I can say positive about this foundation other than it didn't break me out. Coverage is light to medium. Definitely does not cover capillaries. It does not apply evenly at all. The "creamy" description of this foundation seriously makes me wonder if I received a bad batch as it is chalky and the finish was blotchy no matter what I did. Once applied, I could feel the moisture being sucked out of my skin and tightening. From a distance, Lucy Minerals did give an diffused/polished appearance. However, any closer, and you can see the lacking coverage and the blotchy application. It also accentuated every single pore and settled into the finest of lines. For record: I tried with and without primer. Extra moisture. Even Lucy Minerals Ambrosia serum. Different setting sprays. I used my fancy makeup brushes and my bargain ones. I also found that it didn't matter how long I waited between layers (as suggested) to let the color meld and cure with my body chemistry - alas, there would be no alchemy, no magic. Who waits 10 to 15 minutes to apply the next layer of anything? Ain't nobody got time for that. This foundation is an epic fail for me. I truly don't get the great reviews. MUAC baked mineral foundation is creamy, glowy, applies like a dream, and generally kicks this foundation's a$$. It comes in a compact and is sooo foolproof, I could apply it on the go. I can think of several foundations I would purchase over Lucy Minerals. The only reason I tried this was because the reviews made me think I was getting a comparable product, possibly with a better color match.

About reviewer (248 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair

HairBrown

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

I'm in love with Lucy Minerals! This is the BEST foundation I have ever used. No caking (when applied correctly; a little goes a long way), no irritation, no breakouts, no accentuating or settling into my large pores and fine lines. Not too glowy like most minerals, just natural. My skin looks like it's naturally flawless! It lasts all day and keeps me from getting oily. With the Lucy Minerals Original Foundation, I use the Lucy Minerals OCC Finishing Powder as a primer and as a finishing powder, which makes all the difference for my oily/combo skin. They have a large range of shades so you shouldn't have any trouble finding your color, but if you still can't quite find your match they will custom blend whatever you need. I'm in the shade Creamy Bisque and it's perfect. I'm light-medium neutral with a more yellow undertone. I can't say enough good things about it. I just wish I would have found Lucy Minerals sooner.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown