no images

3.6

Created with Sketch.
88 reviews
60%
would repurchase
3.7/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.
fromsdg13

9 years ago

I have been using this lovely product in Peony for years. A beautiful rosy shade with glints of gold and amber plus SPF. It is alot like a chapstick in that it's waxier and thus able to withstand the heat of going to the beach or warm weather sports. I lost the only one I had last week kayaking and was sad to see that it has been discontinued by Aveda. I did find 2 tubes of it on Amazon that I purchased but the price was doubled. Oh well...another great product hits the dust. If you can still find it...buy it.

About reviewer (135 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBlue



4.0
Created with Sketch.

10 years ago

I purchased this lip tint in "Spice". This tint beats any I've tried so far, including drugstore brands, Natural Food brands and Origins. The glitter is not gritty, it moisturizes nicely, and smells nice. At first, the color in the tube is rather scary...chocolate brown with glitter, however it glides on, and when applied lightly, the very sheer brown slighly neutralizes my very pigmented lips, and the shimmer gives a plump gloss like look without the mess. Very much a tan summery look on my pale skin. I can't wear warm colors, but this is very sheer, and works great. I would have purchased more colors if they had worked, I will purchase again.

About reviewer (507 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair

HairBrown

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

11 years ago

This made my lips feel moisturized and smooth but I do not like the taste and the colors are just OK.

About reviewer (39 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Dark

HairBrown

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

11 years ago

I have this in Currant which doesn't seem to exist anymore. This ain't a tint. I feel it's less sheer than many MAC lustre lipsticks, the coverage is substantial, but it's a balm so it isn't drying. It rubs off on stuff but most normal lipsticks do that anyway. I'm pretty fond of this but I hate the tube it comes in. I hate the twisty thing, and when you try to twist it back down it doesn't twist all the way down, and it gets a bit messy, and I'm afraid it'll get smashed against the lid. Currant smells and tastes appropriately juicy but it's a bit too strong. It's a dark colour, like a deep shimmery berryish purple. As I said it's not a sheer tint like the name implies but it's not super opaque either so it's buildable. It's a pity they don't make this colour anymore because I think it's a pretty unique colour. I like that it fades to a stain. It looks sexy on me but I'm a GGG - it might be a bit too Morticia Adams for fairer people. I highly recommend it to GGGs as a great fuck-me colour. I find that the product itself is fairly good but I wouldn't buy it again because I really dislike the tube. It's also a bit expensive at $12.

About reviewer (55 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Medium Brown, Not Sure

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

11 years ago

UPDATE (2012-02-17): BOYCOTTING RE. CURRENT ANIMAL TESTING FOR CHINESE MARKET <p> Gorgeous - more a tinted lip balm than a lipstick, and with none of a gloss' stickiness. Plus SPF 15 from TiO2. The shades available look like they would suit a good range of naturally-occurring lip and skin shades - that is, using the tints as enhancers of what's there rather than changing one's coluring. <p> Peony is a very beautiful rose: pink with slight hints of beige, brown, peach, lilac - all perfectly balanced. On lighter lips, YBB: simply enhances natural lip colour. Works well with pale skin, freckles, and red hair. Leaves a slightly shiny finish, without either that excessively pornographic wet look or visible glam glitter particles. Subtle. <p> Deepening natural lip colour (NB effects will vary - this was on the Gingerrama colouring): Berry and Verbena are good. Verbena is more brown, Berry more plummy and redder. <p> It's moisturising, non-gloopy and tacky and sticky. Flavoured slightly with mint, orange, and pomegranate: the taste seems to be stronger in some of the deeper shades (I tried... well... most of them). <p> A keeper. Bought as a replacement for Clinique Almost Lipstick in Almost Blush - an improvement in terms of texture, finish, and SPF. <p> Cost EUR 16.50. No animal testing, the usual company ethics, etc. <p> INGREDIENTS (for the Peony): Castor seed oil - brassica campestris/aleurites fordi oil copolymer - candelilla wax - beeswax - ethylhexyl salicylate - olive fruit oil - caprylic/capric triglyceride - bis-diglyceryl polyacyladipate-2 - titanium dioxide - meadowfoam seed oil - oleic/linoleic/linolenic polyglycerides - flavor - jojoba seed oil - babassu seed oil - avocado oil - shorea seed butter - mango seed butter - cranberry fruit extract - bilberry fruit extract - blueberry fruit extract - alfalfa leaf powder - pomegranate extract - astaxanthin - tocopherol - ascorbyl palmitate - ammonium glycyrrhizate - safflower seed oil - soybean oil - sunfower seed oil - glyceryl distearate - stearic acid - cholesterol - oleic acid - palmitic acid - ceramide 3 - limonene - aluminum hydroxide - [± mica, titanium dioxide (ci 77891), iron oxides (ci 77491, 77492, 77499)]

About reviewer (442 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair, Cool

HairRed, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

12 years ago

I have been using this for years in Copper and have always have extras just in case I run out. I love the color, the subtle fragrance, and the SPF 15 (it really is important to protect your lips from the sun's damaging rays, even in the winter).

About reviewer (975 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


3.0
Created with Sketch.

12 years ago

I have this in peony, which is a great, natural pink color. However, it is so waxy that it felt dry and horrible and the shimmer made my lips look wrinkly. Prefer Neutrogena's Tinted Balm in Fresh...

About reviewer (111 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.
fromdtupaz

12 years ago

I love this lip tint! I tend to be fickle with skincare and makeup but this is one that I keep coming back to. I have it in peony, spice, and copper...and plan to buy more. It is smooth and creamy with great moisturizing properties PLUS color! I love that it has a SPF 15. Lipsticks tend to deposit too much color for my taste and yet some lip products are too faint or have no staying-power. This is the perfect medium for me. The colors are not over the top but not barely there, either. I am most impressed with the staying power. I have tried others but they have faded away. I like that it is not glossy like a lip gloss because I do not always want that, but instead this lip tint leaves a pleasant luminosity. Peony and Spice are great nudes, one with a pink base and the other brown. Copper is just awesome with my auburn hair and provides more color impact than the other two. Will update as I try new colors. Definately worth the money. I have tried others from Neutrogena, etc. and they line my junk drawer.

About reviewer (100 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairRed, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from4paws

12 years ago

this review is for the new Aveda nourish-mint lip color, which promises to plump lips naturally, smooth the appearance of fine lines, and increase moisture. These claims are proved only after 8 weeks of continuous use according to their marketing, so I won't speak to them--who uses a lipstick continuously for 8 weeks??--BUT I love the colors, I got it in Star-Grape and I can't wait to get more colors. It goes on much more smoothly than the Uruku lip-tints, and has a nice subtle but saturating color effect. Feels as moisturizing and smooth as the best balm. I just wish it had SPF!

About reviewer (41 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Olive

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

12 years ago

I LOVE this product. I have this in Verbena, Currant and Peony. Every time I try to find a replacement I just can't!! There is none!! The smell is pure heaven, the color sparkles and moisturizes as well. The Verbena is an in-between red and berry that looks very natural (on my pigmented lips anyway). The Currant is the darkest one. It is gorgeous. It is a dark berry shade on me. The Peony is very light. It is my lips but sparkly and a bit lightening pink. I have been wanting the Copper and the Spice and the newest one Tulipa something or another. These are so worth the money. You don't need any lip liner - you just swipe on the color and go! Fabulous! The colors last like a stain and really keep the lips full of moisture. I LOVE THEM!!!!!!!!

About reviewer (116 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal

HairBrunette

EyesBrown