Guerlain Parure Gold

Guerlain Parure Gold
Parure Gold Parure Gold

3.9

42 reviews

61% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Active ingredients; Octinoxate, titanium dioxide 2.5% other ingredients: aqua (water), cyclopentasiloxane, alcohol, peg-9 polydimethysiloxyethyl, dimethicone, cyclohexasilicone, acrylates copolymer, C12-15 alkyl benzoate, acrylates/dimeticone copolymer, propylene glycol dicaprylate/dicaprate, mica, silica, sorbitan sesquioleate, phenoxyethanol, tribehenin, stearic acid, disteardimonium, hectorite, sodium myristoyl, glutamate, parfum (fragrance), alumina, aluminium hydroxide, butylenes glycol, centella asiatica leaf extract, propylene carbonate, terasodium edta ceramide 2, peg-10 rapeseed sterol, butylphenyl methylpropional, linalool, citronnellpl, lactic acid, dimethicone, alpha isomethyl ionone, methylparaben, benzyl benzoate, geraniol, bht, limonene, hibiscus esculentus fruit extract, buthylparaben, ethylparaben, citral, isobutylparaben, propylparaben, palmitoye oligopeptide, /-CI77891 (titanium dioxide), CI77492, CI77491, CI77499 (iron oxides).

Start your review


on 3/14/2017 7:55:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Grey, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

first things first: this foundation is EXPENSIVE!

i spent approximately IDR1.5 million, which is around US$110, and to make matters worse, the lady at the counter colour matched me wrong to shade 13, which isn't a huge issue as its only slightly rosier than my actual complexion. the packaging of this product is gorgeous, i love looking at it everyday as i'm getting ready.

the fragrance of this foundation is extremely pleasant: something slightly fruity yet floral. it doesn't bother my skin, which usually gets irritated by anything perfumed. the texture itself is nice: it doesn't feel to heavy, yet provides ample coverage, which can really be built up to a true full coverage foundation. i usually wear it more medium with it built up on some parts of my face that need it. i usually mix it with my mac matchmaster foundation in 5.0 just to warm it up and make it more yellow-toned and use a beauty blender to blend it it after i swipe it on my face with my fingers, and after i put on primer, of course.

this foundation lasts quite a while: i wear it most days to university, which lasts about 14 hours on bad days, and it holds up, but maybe the cover wanes after around 6 or so hours. i do, however, blot in the middle of the day because its humid where i live, but other than that, it stays quite well and doesnt make me feel greasy. this foundation gives a dewy finish, but i always set it with a generous amount of powder, so it makes it matte regardless.

the bad thing about this foundation is how expensive it is: not really in my budget, but id save up in order to buy this foundation again, definitely.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.



on 1/17/2017 7:20:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Grey

Ok so firstly, wow. Where has this foundation been all my life!! It literally does everything i've ever wanted in a foundation. When I apply it my skin looks rather porcelain doll like, so much that every time I look in the mirror I wonder why I look so refreshed, and then I remember it is because i'm wearing this! The problem I have had with most foundations is that once they oxidise and settle into my skin they tend to go patchy and almost dry out. I have tried primer after primer on all foundations ranging from Armani Luminous Silk foundation to Nars sheer glow, even Chanel and double wear. I did settle on Mac for a while and settled with it thinking this was as good as it gets, and then I stumbled upon this on my birthday a few weeks ago, happy birthday to me!

I will firstly talk about the pros of this. Starting with easy spreadability and coverage. Some foundations I find you have to really build up and spread around for a while to get an even coverage, but Parure Gold eases on and has instant coverage. I firstly apply if with my fingers to spread around loosely and then I buff it in with a Kabuki brush. I would recommend this technique to everyone. The look is satin-y which I find great for someone with dry skin, this foundation does not stick to dryer areas. I do not use powder with this as I find it has the perfect balance for dry skin so adding extra dryness with setting powder tips it over the edge towards dryness again. I find using this I need less concealer too and it adds a glow to your face which just brightens up your whole look. I will again emphasise the porcelain doll look as this is exactly what I have achieved.

Cons - Unfortunately I have only given this 4 out of 5 because I have found a few downsides to this otherwise perfect foundation. I have noticed that around my jawline throughout the day I notice a line and also around my hairline. I also find the perfect look this foundation gives only lasts around 4 hours. I am in the process of trying the selection of Guerlain primers to see if this extends the look. It also transfers really easily and is not water proof so you have to be really careful with touching your face during the day and also wearing it if you're sick, because this bad boy foundation will not withstand runny noses during flu season. I would say during winter it will probably be the perfect foundation.

Also cost wise this is very pricey stuff. $109-$119 in Australia. Ouch. You really need to gather a few samples of this before you buy it. As much as I can say this is the holy grail for me, it won't be for everyone. I've learnt that the hard way. TRY BEFORE YOU BUY!

This is a really good quality foundation and it is worth a higher price bracket, even if it's not for you, you'll be able to tell by the feel of it that it is really good quality. If you have oily skin I don't think this will be the foundation for you, however maybe try it with powder first if you're really keen to try it. i'm only assuming this because it adds a slight shine to my forehead and I have normal - dry skin, so I imagine with oily skin it will only exacerbate this.

I will also add, I find most foundations settle into my unfortunate smile lines (big smile problems), but this one does not! huge thumbs up for that added benefit! I imagine this means it will be a great foundation on more mature skin, too.

Hope this helps!

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 9/8/2016 9:45:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Tested this foundation today. I really love how it looks and feels on my skin for the first 3 hours. It gave me smooth, flawless 'Hollywood' skin. I love how it glides over the skin and just masks every imperfection while still looking like skin. It feels light and hydrating as well. The finish is amazing, more satiny than dewy, coverage is medium to full. Photographs beautifully, like I naturally have perfect, glowing skin. My sister immediately complimented me on how flawless my face looked when I got home.

Unfortunately, it is not sweat proof or budge proof. By the 4th hour, it slowly began to wear off, pores and minor scars that were completely invisible started to resurface. Fast forward another hour, my skin still looked glowy and smooth, just less perfect up-close, with skin-texture issues starting to become apparent. To be fair, I do live in a very hot and very humid climate, and I was outdoors for quite awhile so I sweated a little. I also did not use primer underneath nor did I set it with powder.

One thing I REALLY love is that it smoothes over dry patches, conceals and hydrates...the dry patches are still smooth 6 hours later. With other foundations,dry patches always re-surface and look flakey (even if just a little bit) after a couple hours no matter how much I've moisturized before applying. With Parure Gold, NOTHING, not even the tiniest trace of flakiness hours later...it's as if I never had dry patches in the first place.

Now on to the shades...I'm pale-olive, between NC15 and NC20 (1w1 Bone in ELDW). I tested 02 beige clair. It was a good match at first. then it oxidized and turned a whole shade darker...it's fine though, it gave me a tan, golden glow. I plan to test the lighter shades next.

UPDATE: Went back to test both 31 Ambre Pale and 01 Beige Pale, one shade for each side of my face. Waited a few hours, and I ended up going back to get 31, it is the lighter and more yellow-based shade between the two. 01 Beige Pale is not too different from 02 Beige Clair, it still oxidized too dark/peachy on me. 31 went on slightly too light, but an hour later and for the rest of the day, it oxidized much closer to my natural skin color, just with a more yellow/gold tint. I also have to say that today the foundation is holding up so much better...maybe because I was indoors most of the day and not under the sun getting sweaty.

My advice::: this stuff is pricey, so please do not buy without testing on bare skin first, and please DO wait atleast a few hours to see how the shade and formula holds up on you before you part with your money! Even better, try to test it a few times on your face to make sure it doesn't cause negative reactions, gold can be an irritant to very sensitive skin types.

Why I'm rating it 4 lippies instead of 5: This is the best foundation I've ever used, but it's too pricey, and as much as I love it enough to splurge on it this one time, it is not perfect (not for the price atleast). Will I repurchase? Time will tell.

I would not recommend this foundation for: oily skintypes, very sensitive skin, very fair/pale skintones...the lightest shade is 00 (neutral), and will probably be work if you're between nw10-nw15, you'll have to test it yourself. 2nd lightest is 31 (yellow/warm).
I highly recommend it for: mature/aging skin, dehydrated/dry skin, skintones darker than NC15/NW15.

3 of 3 people found this helpful.


on 5/30/2016 4:55:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Simply one of the most beautiful foundations I've ever had the pleasure of trying on my face. I will however, warn that those with oily skin types may want to do a double take before purchasing this foundation, as I found it to be pretty emollient and moisturizing for my dry skin. Emollient and moisturizing of course comes hand in hand with anti-aging, making it a very suitable foundation for mature skin as well. It does not sit in the cracks and crevices of the face easily. It is also VERY forgiving on dry skin flakes and texture, and it smooths and blurs them out. This foundation has a satin finish and yields medium-high coverage. My face looks very perfected, almost like a porcelain doll. I found the longevity to be impressive, especially for such a moisturizing foundation. In a normal work day, I still look somewhat fresh faced when I come home.

I have the new reformulated version and I'm quite surprised that Guerlain didn't fix the shade range problems. They have a very small range of shades already, which makes it difficult for anyone who is genuinely pale or darker than medium to find a match. Even for a Guerlain foundation, this stuff runs dark. I am hardly the fairest of the fair; my perfect match is NARS Deauville, which is NC20-ish, and I wear the palest shade, 01 Beige Pale. To add insult to injury, I wear 02 Beige Clair in Lingerie de Peau. The new reformulated version of Parure Gold also isn't as yellow toned and leans a lot more beige and neutral. I love, love my Guerlain foundations, but finding your shade is quite problematic, especially since it's so small and so inconsistent across ranges! This is definitely something you'd wanna go to a counter for and sample, before you decide to splurge.


on 5/30/2016 12:48:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Bought this on a whim because I saw Sam from pixiwoo use it and said it looked amazing close up. I'm not a fan of foundation looking foundation and serum based foundations usually look the most natural I find.
I use shade 03 and I'm an NC30ish. Combo skin. The next shade up was a massive jump. This definately has a yellow/golden undertone which suits my skin perfect. Guerlain foundations don't tend to cater to yellow undertones so pleasantly surprised. Must be the gold that's in it!
Anyway one pump is more than enough for my entire face. In fact I've often used less than a pump on good skin days. That's awesome to me because most of my foundation require 1-2 pumps. Scent is a clean one but definately a fragrance. Disappears after applied. Applies super easy. Looks very nice on the skin and almost invisible. Smoothes over roughness around nostrils and over pores. No issues so far. Needs to be set because otherwise stays a bit tacky. Finish is a natural finish. Not matte. Not super dewy but there is glow.
Wear time is crap. I'll put that straight out there. I have tried it alone, with the Lor primer by guerlain and with my trusty hourglass mineral veil primer. The latter seems to work best with it. Need to blot about 3 hours in (winter time so not really sweaty at all) and it seems to have gathered around some areas. Blots nicely. Coverage stays a solid medium all day.
After about an hour this oxidizes. Not in a good way. A bit on the orange side which is a shame because the shade is perfect before! Anyway not a Complete deal breaker. The deal breaker for me is the oiliness. After the first blot I just kept needing to blot. So for $119 AUS I will not repurchase. I would rather use the lingerie de peau which is not the perfect undertone but it offers better wear and is cheaper and doesn't turn on the side of orange throughout the day.


on 4/12/2016 12:22:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The best of the best. I have combination/oily aging skin, and this is the only high end foundation that provides me with long lasting skin-like coverage, exceptional oil control, and real rejuvenating effect. It does not accentuate my large pores and does not sit on my lines.On top of that it does not break me out at all. It is expensive, but a bottle lasts me for ages (more than a year- a pump is more than you need for the whole face). I have used the old version and I am now using the new one (2015 edition). I have tried many high end foundations (Lancome, Dior, Estee Lauder, La Prairie, Sisley) but nothing has ever came close to the results I obtain with this foundation. I apply it with my fingers,wait a bit, and then perfect it with a beauty blender. My Holy Grail.

3 of 3 people found this helpful.


on 3/26/2016 12:57:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

I have tried so many different foundations that seemed great when applied by the make up counter, but when i get home realise that it's not for me. And then i tried Guerlain's Parure Gold. The price is pretty high for a foundation but if i think about all my other unused foundations that i have bought in the past, it's totally worth it! This i have used until the bottle is empty and had to buy it again. The coverage is brilliant - not something that i use everyday as i usually go for something lighter, but it's perfect for evening wear. Everytime i wear it, i am always complimented on having radiant skin and it is the only foundation i will use from now on. Yes, the price is a little on the high side, but it's a great quality product and something that i won't discard. It's very rare i come across a product that i love and use to the very end so I am a Guerlain convert. Cannot recommend it enough - every girl needs their little luxuries and this is mine.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 2/20/2016 1:03:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I love this foundation you cannot see my fine lines and wrinkles and covers my melasma makes me look younger, it comes out excellent in pictures! The only con I have is it so pricey, but you can find it on overstock.com

3 of 3 people found this helpful.


on 1/7/2015 2:44:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i love love love this foundation ... it make ur face looks flawless and soft and it covers up acne scars , blemishes , redness really good. and its long lasting,
my fav product and i would definitely buy this again <3


on 9/3/2014 11:52:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love Guerlain products and this is no exception. im in MAC NC20. I use Guerlain Lingerie de Peau in 02 Clair, Les Voilettes in 02 Clair. But somehow when i go to the store, i got matched to Parure in 01 beige pale instead and it matched me well. I like that this dont feel heavy on the skin, it gives medium coverage. I have bad acne scars so it didnt cover the scars only the redness. I'll probably buy it again coz Guerlain foundations are the only ones i know that dont give my acne prone skin breakouts.

Update: I just use this for 8 hours for work, i had to drive under the hot weather to a meeting and when i come home my makeup is still flawless. Im impressed, so far no other foundation stay that way. I think i figure out why it lasted longer than other days, i usually use Guerlain primer but today i switched to MUFE primer, MUFE primer make it last longer. Then i put on the Guerlain perles and voyage on top to set the foundation.

4 of 4 people found this helpful.

Back to Top