Avon Reversalist Serum [DISCONTINUED]

Avon Reversalist Serum [DISCONTINUED]

4.5

41 reviews

92% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.7

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 2.7

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

ANEW REVERSALIST Renewal Serum WATER/EAU CYCLOPENTASILOXANE DIMETHICONE SILICA DIMETHICONE/DIVINYLDIMETHICONE/SILSESQUIOXANE CROSSPOLYMER BUTYLENE GLYCOL GLYCOLIC ACID CETYL PEG/PPG-10/1 DIMETHICONE THIODIPROPIONIC ACID THIAZOLYLALANINE SESBANIA GRANDIFLORA FLOWER EXTRACT AMORPHOPHALLUS CAMPANULATUS RHIZOME/ROOT EXTRACT PUNICA GRANATUM FRUIT JUICE PALMITOYL LYSYL AMINOVALEROYL LYSINE BORON NITRIDE GLYCERIN ISOHEXADECANE CETEARYL ALCOHOL PEG-30 DIPOLYHYDROXYSTEARATE TOCOPHERYL ACETATE AMMONIUM POLYACRYLOYLDIMETHYL TAURATE

Start your review


on 3/20/2016 2:40:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I sold Avon stuff for several years, and generally find their cosmetics and skincare (the upper range) to be pretty good overall. The problem I have with Avon skincare is that the next big release is touted as THE ONE - the ultimate solution, the fountain of youth, the final breakthrough discovery…...then 3 months later there's another “next big thing” launch. I suppose they have to keep offering new products, based on new developments and advances, but the frequency with how quickly the old is superceded by the new starts to build doubt in my mind about whether the previous product was really that great after all.
I've said all this because the Reversalist range could easily have been that “ultimate solution, final breakthrough discovery”. It's so good they could have just stopped right there.
I'm 55 now (how that happened so quickly I don’t know!!!) but thanks in no small part to Avon products (& many others) over the years, I don't even have visible crow's feet or naso-labial lines. This I think is simply due to having moisturized every day (& with dry skin, I had to) since my Mum bought my first bottle of Olay (or Oil of Ulan as it was called back then) when I was 14, and a lifetime of makeup and foundation wear (some of which contained sunscreen, some didn't) but which acted, nonetheless, as a barrier against the sun and environmental aggressors. My biggest problem now is gravity (which, sadly, I can't do anything about).
So - having been a “products” devotee for years (I reckon I could set up a stall at a market and still not be sold out after a month!!) I've tried lots of skincare. But nothing - NOTHING - has ever left my skin feeling so baby soft and smooth the next morning as a nightly application of this serum. I'm so sad to see it's been superceded, because its effects were extraordinary. A scan of the ingredients list shows glycolic acid as the fifth ingredient (so its there in significant amounts) but I've always suspected it had lactic acid in it as well because it has a milky look, consistency and smell to it. I have one bottle left and am currently conserving it by using up sample sachets I still have. And while I can't vouch for the other products in the range (though suspect they are of similar high standard) this serum was sensational. Definitely in my Serums Top 5 EVER (& probably sitting at No. 2 or 3 on that list).
(Don't know what I'd name No. 1 - haven't thought on it enough!). But this is definitely way up there.
Avon still has some residual stocks of it which you see from time to time in “Sale” brochures but it first launched back in about 2008 and I don't know how long they continued manufacturing it. The bottle I'm saving I purchased through an Avon Rep about 3 months ago. So if you can find it, its definitely worth buying.

4 of 4 people found this helpful.



Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

So after reading the reviews I decided to try this. Found it on Ebay for about $13 so didn't feel like I was having to put out too much money if it didn't work out. Well I have to say I am SO pleased with this product and the other Reversalist items. Currently I am using this, the night cream, and the emulsion glittery stuff and together they have made my skin look a lot better. I'm in my 40s, still have occasional acne, blotchy skin, some wrinkles, minor sun damage etc. This has somehow helped clean out my pores and just overall my skin looks better, more even and breaks out less. I also am using a lot less foundation and zero concealer, that's how I can tell my skin has improved. So anyway, have been using this for about 2 months, I just ordered my 2nd bottle of this serum tonight. Yes, the packaging is pretty ridiculous but not so bad that its that big a deal. everyone's skin is different so this may not work well for the next person, but for me and the prices I can buy the items on Ebay, I will continuing using this line.

3 of 3 people found this helpful.


on 12/8/2012 12:37:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

First of all i'm not concerned about wrinkles at all! I'm a young girl, but it's never to late, for prevention! I read the glorious reviews this product is getting here, and i say to me why don't give it a try? So i bought it on sale and starting using it and wow OMG it feels like nothing upon application, incredible matte feeling for hours, luminosity and a velvety smooth finish! It really improves my skin texture, and the most important does not leave a greasy feeling!!!! Being a serum for people over 35 years, in my humble opinion it's safe to use for every range of age. This is the perfect dreamed makeup PRIMER! My makeup goes on smooth with a perfect finish! Maybe you get fulled by the serum name on it but it's lightly enough to hydrate really good my skin. About the packaging it's a little over the top design but futuristic as well! ;) will see how it works during time, love it comes in a pump bottle, very hygienic. So, i'll stock up when it comes on sale again, ladies give it a Try, no regrets guarantee haha. (Can be used am/pm. During a.m. it's very important the use of sunscreen in conjuction, cuz the glycolic acid leaves skin very sensitive to sunlight)

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 8/29/2012 8:16:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I'm surprised by all the glorious reviews this procuct is getting. This has only about 3% glycolic acid. Not enough to realy make any kind of difference on ones skin. The glowing effect & tightening imression are simply brought on by cosmetic pigments. Highly fragranced. Thankfully, I got this for free because I was working for the company.

4 of 6 people found this helpful.


on 7/18/2012 9:52:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Love this! I bought this after searching high and low for a great serum. I have tried everything! Everything makes me break out or dries my skin out and I get redness and peeling. I cannot say how much this surprised me. I have been using it for a week now and just love it. It goes on smooth and dries quick. It doesn't clump when I apply foundation and stays matte for a long time. I have noticed fewer breakouts and my skin isn't as oily. It makes my skin look more even toned as well. I would definitely buy it again.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 6/19/2012 8:16:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I love this prodct.
It makes me skin smooth and plump looking. Although I have combination skin my makeup used to dissapear throught the day no matter what primer, setting powder or long wearing foundation I would use. This thing splved the problem for me unexpectadly.
It goes on smoothly and has a nice scent. I cannot comment on packaging as I have purchased samples on eBay but the fact that it has a pump is great. Dont really care much about packaging. I never buy into packaging hypes. What I want is RESULTS and this stuff delivers. I will repurchase.

Highly recommend!!!

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I tried this only because of the overwhelming positive reviews. I was NOT disappointed! It has been only 4 days and I see a marked improvement. Dry patches, blotchy ruddiness, uneven skin tone....ALL vastly improved. I WILL buy again...and I'll stock up on the sales.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 2/27/2012 11:45:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Ive been using this product for almost six months now. I must say, it is a really great product. Although I have minimal wrinkles, some on the forehead and fine lines under the eyes, it improved the overall texture of my skin and minimized lines as well. I have very dry skin and this serum helps keep me moisturized throughout the entire day. I have very bad dark under eye circles and if you have the same I would recommend the reversalist eye brightening system as well, which has done wonders for me.

The only thing - I ran out of this product and neglected to buy more for over a week, in that time my skin became very dry and the overall texture was worse then it had been before. All in all though, a great product. Buy it on ebay for $15-20 bucks.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 1/29/2012 4:03:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

It works! I use this to alternate with my other powerhouse treatments: Retin-A (prescription) and Estee Lauder Advanced Night Repair. The addition of this has really helped make my skin as stable and clear as it's ever been. I have great skin now!

It can be used as a daytime primer before your TM or foundation, because the texture is so velvety and diminishes the look of pores, but since its main active is glycolic acid, I would suggest using it at night instead. Once again, using any aha or bha requires daily use of suncreen. So if you use it as a daytime primer, make sure you follow it with a TM or foundation with built-in sunblock.

A lot of people complain about the packaging. I think its kind of amusing. Like a giant pill capsule. Ha.

4 of 4 people found this helpful.


on 1/7/2012 10:35:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I am using the serum for a week now and I can say it leaves my skin looking matte through the entire day. I have very oily skin in the T zone, and needed to spend absorbent on my forehead almost every hour. This didn't happend again, not even when I wake up. I can't see other benefits right now, because I am using it for a short time. The skin looks really very soft when I apply it, but after a while I think that feeling disappears. I use 2 pumps for the face and 1 for the forhead, every night and day before the moisturizer. I will update later.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.

Back to Top