L'Occitane Repairing Shampoo (Dry & Damaged Hair)

L'Occitane Repairing Shampoo (Dry & Damaged Hair)

3.9

32 reviews

71% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS


Start your review


on 8/14/2016 10:50:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

So I`ve been using this shampoo and conditioner in the travel size a lot, because I go to the hot springs in Japan and they`re very convenient to carry. They smell amazing (in my opinion), but just like the other reviewers I`ve noticed that the shampoo dried the hell out of my hair and the conditioner is so watery, it wouldn`t seem like it would work. However those hot springs baths are places to hang out with your pals and catch up, so I spend like at least 2 hours there, in hot steam, going from the sauna to the whirlpools, etc. So that conditioner soaks in my hair a good 2 hours. When I finally wash it out my hair is soft, smooth and manageable. Any other conditioner I have used at the hot springs has weighed my hair down, but I guess this one is so weak, that it needs those 2 hours of steam to work, lol! Anyway, I did try it on a regular business trip where it just sat in my hair in the shower for 5-10 min, and yes, in this case it did make my hair look like a haystack, just awful. The package is total crap, too: dropped the conditioner bottle and it freaking broke on me, so had to haul it around in a plastic bag. I will repurchase the travel size for the hot springs, but would never buy the full size.



on 8/14/2016 8:23:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Possibly the worst shampoo and conditioner I have ever used. It is labeled as for "dry and damaged hair" but what it really does is give you dry and possibly damaged hair. Hair will be a tangled mess after washing with it, and the watery conditioner will do nothing for it. I got this set in a small travel size, and brought it on holiday, which was a huge mistake because the dry summer weather plus this made my hair dry as straw...fortunately my Mucota air dune ex treatment conditioner at home restored it back to normal. Contemplating throwing the whole bottle away but the thought of the cost...use it as a shower gel maybe? In summary, stay away from this!!

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


To Read all 32 Reviews, Login or Join


Login with Google



on 5/7/2016 6:19:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Other

Eyes: Green

This is the worst shampoo I have ever used.

I normally have very thick and lively hair, but this made my hair very frizzy, dry and hard to work with, which a shampoo targeted towards damadged and dehydrated hair shouldn't do. Also, considering the fact that this is the most expensive shampoo product I ever bought, I am very disappointed.

Just putting the word out there to save peoples money.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 12/9/2015 10:41:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

The worst and the most drying shampoo I've ever tried, which is ridiculous considering this is marketed towards dry and damaged hair.

After using this with the conditioner from the line, I get extremely dry, frizzy, and tangled hair. I have dry and frizzy hair to begin with, but this shampoo makes it even worse! The conditioner is so good, this shampoo I'm not so crazy about though. The weirdest thing is it makes my hair get tangled in literal knots.

This shampoo is so expensive but after the first use, I immediately decided not to use it again despite how much I've spent on it.

This shampoo has got a very strong scent, I can only describe it as perfumey. It's almost like you're basically pouring perfume right on top of your head. I wouldn't mind if it delivers great results, but it just doesn't. Very disappointed.

4 of 4 people found this helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Have been using this shampoo for over a year now.. Im on my second bottle..its a good shampoo.. cleans the scalp well.. i love the smell of this shampoo.. I always use a conditioner after shampooing as my hair is on the drier side and this shampoo does dry out my hair..
The only con is its cost.. but until I find a better shampoo will stick to this one..
This shampoo ( 300ml) lasted for about six months for me..


on 5/29/2015 1:09:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Warm

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This and the matching conditioner are possibly the worst haircare items I've used in recent memory. The smell doesn't bother me (although the conditioner is stronger smelling than the shampoo) but fortunately it doesn't last once you rinse it out of your hair. However, once I started blowdrying my hair, my hair was incredibly static-y, tangled (as in actual knots at the ends, which is strange because I recently had my hair cut) and dry feeling. After sleeping on my hair overnight, I woke up to hair that was still static-y and dry. Fortunately I was using sample packets, but the results were so bad that I may not use them up.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 10/21/2014 10:37:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I bought this product based on all the great reviews here and I would just like to say that it was the biggest waste of money ever. 1. I don't like the smell, but that is obviously very subjective. 2. I didn't see any of the benefits praised here, like the hair being very nourished and healthy afterwards, at all. 3. On the contrary, I feel that it is not nice to apply, the hair feels dry even in the shower after applying it, it feels like it is stripping all the natural 'oils' from my hair, and afterwards my scalp feels dry and itchy! I even got red skin on my neck the first few times i used it... Certainly will never buy this product again.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

One of the best shampoos i've used. Does smell amazing, lathers easily, makes my bleached fine blonde hair look glowy and healthy, without wearing them down.

The pricetag is quite expensive, but since you don't need much of the product the bottle will last a long time!

I recommend to buy the 500 ml refill bag after the bottle is used up!


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Black

I used to love this shampoo. My hair is thick, coarse and slightly frizzy. At first I noticed this shampoo made my hair so soft and light. I used this with the matching conditioner. My hair was always shiny and smelled really good.. until late evening even after a long, hot sunny day. But after using for almost half a year, i began to realize how dry my hair had become and more strands were starting to get tangled. I switched to Kerastase Bain Nutri-Thermique in the end.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 2/13/2014 2:06:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

First of all even if this was a crap shampoo I would love it because of the smell!

Secondly it comes in a refill bag option which is a +

Thirdly - its a great shampoo, not too sudsy but feels really clean and my curly frizzy below the shoulder hair is always smooth and soft after I use it.

I am a shampoo philanderer, never loyal to any one for more than a few weeks but I keep coming back to this and the conditioner and the deep conditioner too.



Update 23 April 2014
There are few words more likely to send a cold shiver down your spine than "New and Improved Formula" written on a beloved product.

Having risked missing a flight home to dash in to the L'Occitane kiosk at the airport I was almost brought to tears when the shop assistant happily shared that dread phrase with me!!!

However my need was great and there was a bonus comb as an incentive so I purchased the new formulae, (Shampoo, Conditioner and Mask -together with the 'new' pump bottle as my previous pump bottles had both given up the ghost after several refills).
When I arrived home it was with trepidation that I opened the larger (less pumps required) pumps and washed and masked my needy hotel shampooed tresses.
- Prayers of gratitude that the scent has remained untainted.
- Pleasant surprise at how easily my dried out, rained on, matted curls combed through
and finally, when all was dried and ready for assessment - AMAZEMENT that the new version really is even better than the old one!!!!
Thank you L'Occitane - I wish I could give you even more lippies (now all you need to do is put the mask in a pump pack too...)

2 of 2 people found this helpful.

Back to Top