4.0

Created with Sketch.
610 reviews
75%
would repurchase
3.7/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


2.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

It looks decent and would have been a go-to going forward except for the fact that it majorly irritated my eyes regardless of whether I used it alone or with other makeup. I bought it and used it a few months ago and had to throw it out.

About reviewer (95 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Medium, Not Sure

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesBrown



1.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I was looking for a drugstore/cheaper dupe of the Chanel mascara I really like and read somewhere online that this Covergirl mascara would do the same at a fraction of the price. It does NOT! it is NOT a dupe for any Chanel or any good mascara. CONS - Does NOT lengthen, volumize, or make my lashes look better - I have never had a mascara that barely puts on any product when you run it through your lashes. It was horrible. I had to go through the lashes multiple times, not even so much to build them, but rather because the amount of product that was put on was so minimal. Never encountered such a thing with any other mascara - The application was so messy. Maybe it had something to do with the above point and how I had to struggle to get product onto the lashes. It made a mess of my other makeup and ruined the entire eye makeup. Just got all over my upper lids and below my eyes when putting it on. Again, never had this happen with other mascaras PROS - Cheap ... but still $$ down the drain in my case as I didn't like it at all - Didn't quite give me raccoon eyes (although a bit did end up on my undereyes. L'oreal voluminous was absolutely horrible in giving me raccoon eyes, I'd stay away from that one too btw) Overall - do NOT recommend Mascaras I do recommend - the orange covergirl - diorshow - chanel inimitable

About reviewer (154 reviews)

Age

SkinOther, Fair, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This smell really weird, and does nothing to my lashes. Wouldn’t recommend. It irritates my eyes as well.

About reviewer (81 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily, Other

HairBlack

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This is best mascara I have found to work on my eyelashes it really does what it says. Especially because I have short eyelashes. Love it!! Hope cover girl never stops making it

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This one is a really good mascara if your eyes aren't as sensitive as mine. It gives volume, it gives definition and length with zero clumps, it wears from day to night. But if I wear it for a day I have to go eye makeup free at least during two following because of how badly my eyes get irritated. It smells kind of funny. I'm tossing it, but I totally get what the hype is about. Worth trying.

About reviewer (667 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

My 5 star Holy Grail - totally waterproof, you can sleep in it, cry in it, and it never betrays your secret. I just put it on the very tips of my lashes, run a mascara comb or spoolie through them, and it seems to lengthen them, without giving them the dreaded spider lash look. No smudging, ever.....No clumping, ever. A great price, what more could you want (other than a more stylish wand, but who cares)? I've spent a lot more on designer mascaras which all had flaws, but this one is my favorite! Try it, and I think you'll really like it. Plus, we're advised by dermatologists and opthalmologisits, in the interests of eye safety, and avoiding infections, to regularly ditch the old mascara and buy a fresh new one. Since I use very little mascara, I would tend to hold on to old ones longer than recommended....not good for eye safety. This way, I label the mascara with the date opened, and ditch after 90 days. At this cheap skinflint price, I don't mind doing it, I know that if I accidentally brush my eyeball with the mascara wand (hasn't happened yet, knock on wood), the likelihood of an infection is substantially reduced. Oh yes, I never apply mascara in a car, even when hubby is driving at a moderate speed....too risky - you never know what another pedestrian, cyclist or vehicle will make a sudden movement !

About reviewer (230 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinAcne-prone, Olive, Neutral

HairSilver, Curly, Other

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I didn't really like this mascara.. Didn't lengthen much but for the price I guess it's alright.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I am very, very impressed with this mascara. I would actually rate this 4.5 lippies, 4 doesn't seem to do it justice. The ONLY downside to this mascara, and I'm just being a finicky fuss here, is that it doesn't seem to hold a curl as much as I would like it to. Other than that, it is pretty much a perfect mascara. The packaging is a tiny bit cheap. I know Cover Girl is reasonably priced and a drugstore brand, but I've seen them come out with nicer looking products. This tube looks a tad 80s to me, but more importantly it just "feels" like a more flimsy quality of plastic than many other mascaras. However, and this is the important thing- it has not cracked or leaked, so it is a non-issue to me as of now. The wand is perfect- not a huge monster, not a thin little stub a la Loreal's Telescopic. I have absolutely no issues applying this- it doesn't smear, it adds a good amount of volume and doesn't clump easily. After two coats, I am thoroughly satisfied with the results. My lashes look pretty awesome after applying this, and even though the curl lowers through the day, by evening they still look good. It is also worth noting I experience NO flaking or transferring from this formula. No raccoon eyes here baby! The formula is not wet (which leads to smearing and transferring) but not dry (which leads to flaking), it is the perfect Goldilocks middle of the road. I have tried many a mascara in my day, and many from high end brands, but this stands out as a favorite for the lower lash line because it is SO hard for me to smear this and it stays put. Usually, it is hard for me NOT to smear on the lower lashline. If this formula could be harnessed with Lancôme Hypnose Drama's curl-holding properties, I believe it would be my ultimate ride or die mascara. As it stands, I will continue to repurchase this because it guarantees full lashes, easy and quick application and no "surprises" throughout the day.

About reviewer (274 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Curly, Fine

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

I really liked this product. It did not leave my lashes clumped or dried out at all, while it provided full looking lashes. It also came off easily. The only con would be that it smears easily when applied, but it dries pretty fast. Compared to the first mascara I used (which I have forgotten the name) this was way better. Even though I'm not super dependent on CoverGirl products, I would recommend this to a friend. And I would definitely buy this product again.

About reviewer (5 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

This is my favorite drugstore mascara, and have repurchased for years. I have fine, medium length lashes that tend to look cakey very easily with thickening formulas. This one is buildable, so you can go natural to dramatic very easily, without looking clumpy or spidery. Another bonus - it doesn't end up under my eyes! A great overall mascara for everyday use.

About reviewer (11 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination

HairBrown

EyesBlue




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us