Maybelline color sensational summer sunset

Maybelline color sensational summer sunset

4.3

28 reviews

82% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Where to Buy



Start your review


on 5/4/2017 9:54:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

Love this color, and I think it would be flattering on just about any skin tone. It shows up as kind of a bright berry color on me. Love the creamy texture too!



on 5/3/2017 8:15:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I really like the unusual color. As others have said, it's a rosey browned-down red. It reminds me of a lighter version of my favorite rum raisin from Revlon. I see a slight sheen on my hand, but no shimmer on my lips. One point off because it's not long lasting at all, but do pretty!

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 1/6/2016 12:15:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Fantastic d/s lippie.Such a dupe for so many other high end lippies. One being Clinique ALL HEART. Several of Chanel and Nars. Tooooo many to dupe to. A complicated red mixed with a tad of berry and a touch of pink and a brush of brown. It's a good everyday/go to/throw it on and go l/s. It's not going to make a statement but it will make you look polished. I don't want to get in to if it's cool or warm. It's a reddish l/s and for $4.00 you can't miss. Yes, because I'm so spooked any more that things are going to be discontinued I picked up 3 tubes of this. I hate LE and discontinued lippies. Let's hope this sticks around! Enjoy and happy new year.

EDIT! IT'S BEEN DISCONTINUED...of course, just when I find a great l/s it's gone. Maybelline does this too often...I'm done with them...back to he makeup! I'll find a dupe.

4 of 4 people found this helpful.


on 10/24/2015 12:09:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Black

This lipstick is mauve with some brown and red. My natural deeper lip color given I have a tan Asian skin tone. I love the look! It has a slightly shimmer presence also. Such a complex yet neutral appeal. Smooth and very pigmented. I think it can go 4hours before reapplication.


on 10/21/2015 3:39:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

A good work appropriate shade. It's conservative, and I don't understand what people here are talking about it being a shade of red because I see this to be more mauve. There is a touch of frost to this lipstick but it is actually not overkill. I prefer a more matte or shine to a lipstick but I'd still be able to get use out of this one. I won't repurchase but it does lasts long on the lips. I gave it to my Mom.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 3/24/2015 10:00:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was looking for the perfect marsala shade; I wear lots of red lipstick but bright red isn't always suitable either. This Maybelline lipstick feels great and is inexpensive. My only qualm is that it's a bit too neutral for me but that's because I'm Indian so I have tanned skin. I mix this lipstick with my Illamasqua Lipstick in Howl and achieve the perfect soft red.


on 2/7/2015 8:32:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Silver, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Grey

I got this looking for something in the new "color of the year," Marsala. I am very pleased. I sometimes wear red lipstick, but there are many occasions where in-your-face red doesn't really work. This is still red, but muted, browned down a bit. The formula is very creamy, doesn't feather on me (though I don't have a big problem with that), and wears off evenly so it leaves behind an attractive stain, not a "ring around the mouth" (ick!) effect. It is NOT long-wearing, but since I can't use that type of lip product, it's fine by me. This is a very job-appropriate lipstick, classic and understated but your lips look fully dressed (not lipglossy and bright), and you don't need to reapply every 15 minutes. A winner!

5 of 5 people found this helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Color Sensational is another great drugstore lipstick. It runs just under $6 in Target. This is a creamy, full coverage, long lasting and non drying lipstick. I would say the finish is satin.... not too matte but yet not shimmery... somewhere in the middle leaning more towards the matte side. It has a mild vanilla scent that dissipates as soon as you put the lipstick on, I only smell it when I bring the tube to my nose and take a little sniff but once on I smell and taste nothing.

Summer Sunset is a gorgeous medium toned pinkish red with a very slight brownish undertone to it, it's more of a muted color as opposed to being bright. For reference I'm an NW20 ~ golden blonde hair ~ and green eyes. If you have my coloring and are more into lipsticks where as you can see saturated color on your lips you will love this.

3 of 3 people found this helpful.


on 11/2/2012 2:42:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Summer sunset is a red-apricot lipstick. It`s creamy,shiny with a little bit of shimmers,that does`t show that much! It last fairly long with a lip liner,It goes really well on the application. It goes really well with:any neutral eye shadows! Love it!


on 2/12/2013 7:14:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I like this product. It is very pigmented, and feels soft to my lips. It is not a heavy lipstick at all. The color compliments my skintone. It is not a in your face red in my opinion, which is good for me. Overall, it is a snazzy shade and a nice quality lipstick.


Popular Lipsticks


Lipsense Color
Lipsense Color
159 Reviews
Velvet Teddy
Velvet Teddy
318 Reviews
Kylie  Lip Kit
Kylie Lip Kit
126 Reviews

Popular Lipsticks

Lipsense Color
Lipsense Color
159 Reviews
Velvet Teddy
Velvet Teddy
318 Reviews
Kylie  Lip Kit
Kylie Lip Kit
126 Reviews
Back to Top