Essie Chinchilly

Filtered by skin tone : Fair-Medium
Essie Chinchilly
ChinchillyChinchilly

4.6

37 reviews

86% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS


Start your review


Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love the color, this is my absolute favorite for the the transition into fall. However, even with a base coat, 3 applications of polish (it is a bit thin and streaky) and a topcoat, it still chipped quickly, I would expect more from a $7+ bottle of polish. I will definitely shop for a dupe and try another brand, hopefully Revlon has a copycat color as over the last 30 years of doing my own nails, Revlon is still my favorite polish for color saturation, wearability, and price point (if on sale). Anyone know of a tried and true dupe?

2 of 2 people found this helpful.



on 12/19/2016 11:48:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I've had this color for years, but never really wore it, but decided to give it a go after trying "Sand Tropez" and not liking it at all (with my skin tone). This is a great purple grey. I didn't think I'd like it - but once applied, I loved it. I do not think that the Essie site description is correct - I wouldn't call this a granite gray at all - def. has purple tones. Even my boyfriend thought so.

Only downside - it took a full 3 coats to get a decent full coverage opacity. After two coats on my two index fingers, you could still see streaks and some nail peeking through - this was even with a base coat, and one nude coat underneath! Three coats worked great - and then I topped it with a shine coat. Unfortunately, I have a tiny chip on one index nail already - and it's hasn't even been 24 hours. :(

I'm rough with my hands/nails, so it takes a LOT for a nail polish to not chip. However, I love the color and the rest of the nails are holding up, so I may just touch up the spot and see how it does for a full week. Love the color though. FYI- Mochacino is Chinchilly with glitter.


on 9/15/2015 12:10:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Well I'am trying this out for the first time. I don't think the whole greige thing works well on my skin but this had great reviews. I tried master plan but pulled way too beige on me... Looked horrible so I will let you know how this works out. I do tend too look better in bright or dark (vampy) but trying to find a color that can take the transition into fall. Well luv it!!! I got so many compliments in this. A strange grey color with a hint on purple. I got lots if compliments. Will wear this into fall!! This is a cult color for a reason!!! Possibly one of the greatest grey polishes out there and trust me i know! I have been doing my nails 3 x a week for over 20 years and have over 300 polished from Essie, OPI to Chanel and Mac! This one is a keeper and a buy a back up one!!!!

3 of 3 people found this helpful.


on 9/12/2014 2:24:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Essie Chinchilly is a very pretty dove grey polish, which leans towards a soft lavender colour in certain lights. This neutral colour polish will go with anything! Applied smoothly in just 2 coats and stayed chip free until I took it off a week later. It was beautifully shiny but I added Essie’s Good to Go top coat for good measure!

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 2/20/2014 3:28:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Best colour for the office and virtually anywhere. I'm currently on my second bottle of this grey/lavender polish and I love it!! It's my go to polish for work, casual and dressy events. Can't rave enough about this. I agree that 3-4 coats are needed for full colour without streaks but I'm more than willing to do it for this colour.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 11/25/2013 1:32:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

very pretty color, but not the best formula. two coats still look patchy and needed the third. doesn't make my hands look dead. worth the effort. Essie got the shade just right

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 8/16/2013 1:43:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I've been avoiding this color. I weakened and went griege. omg, it looks wonderful with my jewelry, silver/gold. It does seem to change color slightly with differnt lighting I get the usually 3 days before chipping. the same with all my essie.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 1/8/2013 2:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Probably my favourite nail polish I own, for the price it was totally worth it. I own many other nail polishes by Essie (with mixed feelings) but this one was amazing. It is a very sophisticated colour, and looks good at any occasion - it is also so smooth, quick drying very ungloopy. I love it - highly recommend it!

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Amazing neutral shade-a subtle yet dynamic gray. Worth it!

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 9/7/2012 9:43:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Kinky, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This polish rocks! I love it so much :) Perfect dark grey/taupe colour with a hint of purple and it just looks so awesome! Funnily I have swatched it on one nail a few times and decided against it, but when I did a full mani, I was wowed with how good it was and thrilled to get compliments on my nails.

Formula is pretty good, I'm not totally skilled at the art of DIY manicure but this went on pretty much perfectly, two easy coats and it lasted perfectly for 5 days with no chipping. I do use the computer a lot, so it was showing a bit of tipwear by then, but nothing that had me worried.

Very happy, will use this colour again and again!

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


Popular Polishes


Miracle Gel
Miracle Gel
230 Reviews
Gel Couture
Gel Couture
41 Reviews
Ballet Slippers
Ballet Slippers
366 Reviews
Bubble Bath
Bubble Bath
369 Reviews
Mademoiselle
Mademoiselle
406 Reviews
Nail Polish
Nail Polish
244 Reviews

Popular Polishes

Miracle Gel
Miracle Gel
230 Reviews
Gel Couture
Gel Couture
41 Reviews
Ballet Slippers
Ballet Slippers
366 Reviews
Bubble Bath
Bubble Bath
369 Reviews
Mademoiselle
Mademoiselle
406 Reviews
Nail Polish
Nail Polish
244 Reviews
Back to Top