3.6

Created with Sketch.
176 reviews
57%
would repurchase
4.1/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a month ago

Sigh, it's so good but it's so expensive. I hate when really expensive products prove their worth, and you find yourself trying to rationalize the ridiculous cost. All cuz you want what you want and it works so dang good it even throws your grammar off! Made my pores practically vanish from the first use. Skin was tighter, firmer, brighter. It was like the perfect first date. But now it's empty and it's been calling my name ever since. Trying to see if this dupe everyone swears by (Pixie's) is as good. Meh, we shall see. It's certainly kinder to my pockets already.

About reviewer (448 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinVery Oily, Dark, Warm

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBrown



3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

I got this as a Sephora sample so I only used it for about 10 days. It's a thick, viscous cream that sits on top of your skin and feels slightly tacky. I don't know the brand other than it's expensive. My skin is mature (60 yrs.), combo, not a lot of sun damage or wrinkles, but I've been using lactic acid serums for a few months now (in the am, immediately after cleansing and before CoQ10 serum and moisturizer with sunscreen). It's got a rather pronounced fragrance, kind of botanical and chemical, and it tastes bad if you get it in your mouth (like sunscreen). I'm not inclined to get the full size just yet; I'm still testing out the cheap lactic acids you can get at TJMaxx or on Amazon.

About reviewer (440 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 months ago

**I recently read the beauty industry standard for repurchase is less than 30%. ** Ouch! I think for everyone on MUA it is likely less since we love makeup and skincare and all related things. Ive been on this board since I was in the "18-24" category, ha! so I def love my makeup and now skincare. So the product, got it once with a gift card when it was used on me during a makeover plus gift card situation. I love the thrill of makeup and color and brushes and instant gratification so dropping it on skincare was a shift for me. I used it up on and off over a yr but def i see a difference when i use it. Things just disappear. I've repurchased and I recommend it for sure. I am now in my 30s so depends on your needs, but i find it helps with clarity of skin, any blemishes or leftover of a blemish it helps heal and overall i find my skin is brighter and 'happier' in the morning. I apply once at night. You need a separate moisturizer and its best to warm a little through fingers. I can burn if you have sensitive skin but i find its very very mild. I recommend and def will repurchase a 3rd time.

About reviewer (238 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Relaxed, Medium

EyesGreen


1.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

I'm so disappointed in Good Genes. Various beautubers had hyped me up about this products, so when it finally became available in my country, I didn't hesitate and bought it. Only to find out it didn't do anything for my face. What a let down. I used it for two months but went back to The Ordinary products afterwards. Those do work.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

This will be my review on the European Version of Good Genes ( Glycolic Acid Formula). I really love it and works great on my skin. It really evens out my skin tone. It didn't break me out or stings my skin at all. I bought a 15 ML bottle from Italy's Sephora and it is retailing at 48 euros ( though i paid less with a 20% discount). The bottle lasted me for about two and a half months after using it only in the morning. And with that, i feel that it is quite pricey but hey whatever works for my skin, i wouldn't mind repurchasing it though not immediately as i would like to try their Vitamin C range first.

About reviewer (37 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Medium Brown, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

Good Genes smells a little unusual, herbal, like lemongrass. It's not horrible, especially if you're used to essential oils or other herbal products, and if you use it enough you honestly can't smell it anymore. I use it 2-3x a week on my very sensitive, acne-prone, very pale and redness-prone skin. I use 2 pumps on my whole face or 1 pump on my cheeks, chin, and jaw alone, where I've had mild to moderate cystic acne for a while and my skin is less sensitive. It does irritate my nose and forehead a little, so sometimes I avoid putting it there if my skin is feeling itchy or irritated. The product has been a miracle for me. I wouldn't have shelled out for it on my own, but I received a sample in a subscription box about 4 or 5 months ago. Good Genes decimated my cystic acne in less than a month and smoothed out skin colored surface bumps I had all over my cheeks and forehead (milia? closed comedones?). It has also significantly diminished red marks from healing acne as well, though this effect is slower and taken place over months. I also use it as a spot treatment occasionally, usually if another skincare product or makeup breaks me out, because I sure haven't been getting cystic acne anymore. It melts whiteheads/pustules overnight and kills the occasional cyst in a day or two. I will say, it's not cute to apply, it immediately turns my whole face bright red, but I go to sleep and wake up with soft, smooth, even-toned skin, not red at all. I would not recommend applying this in the morning and obviously use sunscreen every day while using anything with lactic acid in it. I don't know what to make of the price, whether this is overpriced or not, but I will continue to buy it and I guess that's how pricing of consumer goods works. It is expensive and I don't like that. I don't have a ton of disposable income, but I am willing to pay to feel good about my skin if it's worth it, and this is. Using it as I do, the 1 oz bottle lasts for a few months. I bought my bottle 3 months ago and it's about half gone. I am curious to try dupes or cheaper alternatives, and would be willing to do so. I have purchased lactic acid 5% from other brands with the intent to test them soon. Right now, my skin looks the best it's looked in years and people close to me have been noticing too.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Fair, Cool

HairBlack, Curly, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

This treatment does it all. I have been using it about a month every night after washing my face. I have noticed fewer wrinkles, especially on my forehead, and clearer, even skin. My skin is less textured since I stayed using this. Glycolic acid was too harsh for my skin but this is perfect. Ig is expensive and I wish it were cheaper, but I will continue to buy. I feel like I cannot live without it now.

About reviewer (28 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Curly, Fine

EyesGreen


2.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

This is a good effective product it does have a strong lemongrass scent that I got used it. This really used to be the only of its kind. Now cheaper alternatives exist. Furthermore, this product contacts DMDM Hydantoin which is a formaldehyde releaser due to this I would never buy it again. The company used to make outlandish claims which it seems like they have calmed down on. An email from 2015 "Thank you for reaching out and for your interest in our line. Good Genes contains the equivalent of 40% lactic acid, as it is an unbuffered and unneutralized pharmaceutical grade lactic acid.Please let me know if you have any further questions! " This is a lie as Good Genes has about 5% Lactic. Not only would you destroy your face using a 40 percent unbuffered acid daily it would also require a medical license.

About reviewer (158 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


1.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I found this product ineffective. It didn’t make my skin look any more radiant or bright. The scent is nice - very faint whiff of fresh lemon, nice thin serumy texture that spreads easily but that’s about it. At this price point, I want to see some visible results and I 100% didn’t. It’s a very gentle product so perhaps that’s why I didn’t see any visible results. There are so many better brightening products in the market at a better price point.

About reviewer (135 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Medium

HairBlack

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

So I've used Good Genes for a year now and have went through two bottles. YES, this product does give you glowing and radiant skin, however I found the cream formula was too thick for me, this product never really sank into my skin, no matter how little I used. I did not notice much exfoliation effects, I still had some small bumps and PIH, but besides that my skin was pretty good and I loved the radiance this product gave me. This also helped to heal some of my acne. Some people say Good Genes smells chemically or kind of gross. To me, it smells like lemongrass. The packaging was pretty good. It comes in a sturdy, glass bottle with gold accents. However for a $100+ product, I expect the pump to be better. The pump can get a bit crusty. Honestly, I do not consider this to be a true chemical exfoliant. It is more of a radiance and moisturizing product to me.

About reviewer (15 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Tan, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.