Coppola Keratin Complex Smoothing Therapy Treatment

Filtered by skin type : Combination
Coppola    Keratin Complex Smoothing Therapy Treatment

4.0

16 reviews

87% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Where to Buy



Start your review


on 9/26/2014 10:46:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Stick with the "original" Keratin Complex Smoothing Treatment, its wonderful!!! The new glycolic acid version made my hair smell like rotten sauerkraut for over a week!!! Yuck!!! The original is more expensive and takes longer, but it's worth it. I look for salon specials or Groupons (Groupon.com) to get the best price.

6 of 6 people found this helpful.



Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Someone please help!! I just received a treatment from a professional stylist with Keratin Complex - a new product in the line which uses glycolic acid and is supposed to be a style-and-go treatment - i.e. wash whenever you like after it's straightened. She specifically recommended this product for me because I was interested in a keratin, but didn't want to wait the typical three days before washing. I just visited the company's website to confirm - they say it's possible to wash as soon as the treatment is done. The stylist finished at around 5:30 and I got my hair wet at around 9:30. I noticed a terrible smell - so bad in fact, that I thought maybe the toilet was backed up or that something was wrong with the water in the shower. I can't describe the smell - something akin to a pile of moldy wet towels, wet dog hair, and feces. Disgusting! I've washed my hair twice and conditioned and piled on good-smelling products. Drying helped, but the smell hasn't completely gone away and was as bad as ever after shampooing, until I blow-dryed. My hair's condition has improved, but my God, I don't care if she has to destroy it to get out this tenacious stench, nothing is worth this!

Has anyone had a similar experience and figured out how to get rid of the smell? If so, please PM me and offer advice - I'm desperate! I'm so disappointed and devastated by this, and it smelled absolutely amazing after she'd flat-ironed it in the salon before it got wet. I was just dumped before Valentine's Day and got this treatment in order to feel better, and now my hair smells like s*&% -- literally. Thanks a lot Keratin Complex, you'll definitely be hearing from me.


on 8/23/2013 1:56:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have been using this product (Coppola KT) since 2008...and I prefer this to a relaxer any day...I am black and have coarse curly hair and this has been the best product for my hair without using a relaxer. My hair stylist did try at one point a different product, the "bioionic kerasmooth" because it was a faster process than the Coppola Keratin Therapy! Wrong answer for my hair, the Bioionic kerasmooth broke my hair off and gave me patches...I ended up cutting off all of the long hair I had grown from the Coppola KT in order to get my hair back healthy. When I went back to her and she saw the damage she did a protein treatment (two separate times) and when the timing was right we reintroduced the Coppola KT back to my hair and it is growing back healthier again! It doesn't mean it works for everyone but it has been a great product for me. I usually get the treatment done every 3 months, sometimes I've pushed 4 months, but I can tell the condition of my hair once it's time for a new treatment it is dry on the ends and my new growth or roots are really frizzy so my hair knows when it needs a new treatment and I get it done...perfect!

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 12/7/2011 6:10:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I'll start of by saying, in this area, this treatment runs about $300 a pop. Luckily, I got it on one of those internet coupon sites for only $89, so I thought I'd give it a try.

The process was pretty simple. Washing my hair, then applying the complex with a coloring like brush, let it sit, then blow dry and straightening my hair. The no getting it went or tucking/pinning hair for 72 hours was a bit of a pain, but nothing that was intolerable.

It's been six weeks now since the treatment, and I have to say I do enjoy the benefits of this. My hair doesn't dry stick straight, but there is absolutely zero frizz and it's softly waved. My hair used to dry to the size of a small, frizzy, curly afro. It used to take me an hour to blow dry and straighten my hair, now I can get it done in half an hour. I've also had no problem curling my hair. In fact, my hair seems to hold curls better now.

I have only two complaints. First, being cost. This isn't something so brilliantly wonderful that I'd spend $300 on it every two months. Luckily, if you're handy and have a friend that can help, you can buy a bottle of the stuff online for half the cost of one treatment and get 2-4 treatments out of it depending on how long and thick your hair is. Secondly, I've noticed that my hair now gets oilier faster than before the treatment. I trained my hair/scalp to be able to wash my hair only once a week, and it was in excellent condition. Now, by day four, it's pretty flat and oily and I have to wash it twice a week. Still not that bad, but a minor inconvenience.

Overall, I give it 3 stars. Not a super amazing product, but considering it's ease of application and the ability to buy this and do it yourself, it's a nice option.


on 5/29/2011 7:38:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

i have very curly coarse fine hair. In the humidity it gets even worse. I have done this treatment 3 times now. almost every 6month. I LOVE it. Can't say enough. Its the best.usually it takes me 40 minutes to blowdry my hair straight.But now it takes 15 minutes and i dont need to do much.It such a relieve.the best thing i have ever done.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 3/6/2011 7:08:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I'm not sure if I'm categorizing this correctly but I recently got a Keratin Treatment after hearing all the rave reviews about it. I have boofy frizzy hair that looks awful if I leave it to dry naturally and I was recommended this product by a hair stylist at a photo shoot. Anyway, I went to a place that used the Global Keratin brand but when I got there they informed me that GK had just recalled all the old product a couple of days ago because it had too much formaldehyde than what is legal in Australia. The hairdresser said that the new one they replaced it with isn't as good and won't really help with boofyness, but more just with frizz and softness. I almost left but my $175 deposit kept me firmly planted to the salon chair.

After a big stuff up on the salons part they realised they didn't have ANY type of the Keratin left and had to get it sent by a taxi, whilst I waited in store for 2 and a half hours. Again, I kept telling myself it would be worth it to have gorgeous soft, silky smooth hair. When it finally came, the hairdresser was very rough with putting it into my hair so now unfortunately I have a lot of broken damaged strands that contribute to unattractive fly-aways. Also they told me to leave the Keratin in for only 48 hours which is contrary to everything I had read (4 - 7 days).

So in conclusion, the result - It is softer. It is a bit easier to manage, not AS boofy but not smooth either. Does not straighten hair at all. There are lots of fly aways from damage during the process and there wasn't as much shine as I was told I would have. It might be a bit brighter but not noticeably. Over all it would be an good treatment just to help moisturize dry hair, but for the price I paid all up (including the shampoo and conditioner you have to get) which was $420 It was DEFINITELY NOT worth it. And I guess the bad experience at the salon I went to didn't help. I'm thinking I should have just left it in longer and not listened to the hairdresser and maybe it would be better. If considering this, make sure you check that it has formaldehyde in it or it will not work as well.


on 12/18/2010 6:05:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I had this treatment done by my stylist two weeks ago and my hair is a-mazing. I have thick, wavy hair that was previously unruly, frizzy, poofy... basically all of the things that make hair a pain in the a__ to style. Previously, I used a huge Spornette round brush to blow dry my hair into sumbission - a half hour process. Now I can blow dry with my fingers (unbelievable) or a basic vented brush and my hair is glossy, bouncy dry in 15 minutes or less. The process itself took about 3 1/2 hours and the formula made my eyes water. As my stylist sealed the magic potion into my hair with the flat iron and I started seeing the results, I felt a little worried - I didn't want STICK straight hair! But, 3 days later when I finally shampooed, I was shocked and amazed. My hair is so manageable now- not stick straight, but luminous and smooth. I'm so excited I'm giddy. Yes, it is very expensive ($350 for me), time consuming and the 3 days of not shampooing or getting any water at ALL on your hair are torturous but it so very, very worth it.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

keratin straightening costs me $350 at the hairdresser, but i bought the clarifying shampoo and straightening treatment on the internet and it cost $70 per treatment. $255 including postage, whereas three treatments at the hairdresser would be $1,050! it is really simple to apply and you can use your ghd. keratin's straightening iron is around $150 but the only difference is 20 degrees in heat. instructions are on the back and if i can do it, anyone can

3 of 3 people found this helpful.


on 9/4/2010 7:48:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Grey, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have had 3 Marcia Texiera BKTS and one off brand professional salon Treatments in the last 2.5 years. I tried the Coppola Keratin Complex Smoothing Therapy Treatment today and I have to say so far so good. I had no issues what so ever with the Maricia Texiera treatments bu tthe off brand didn't do so good. The salon professional blocked three hours for me with no other "inbetween" clients. One thing that was different that after he applied the keratin soliton he put a plastic shower cap on my hair and let me set for thirty minutes. No fumes or smell came my way. I will update after I live with it for a few weeks.


on 8/19/2010 3:25:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

Lengthy reviews usually seem unecessary and a bit boring to me, so warning, this ls long, but I LOVE THIS STUFF and can't say enough about it! It is expensive and I am normally frugal, but I am willing to pay for this treatment whenever I need it!

IT is the best beauty treatment or service or product (whatever you would call it, or all of the above) that I have ever tried, including skin, hair and nail treatments. I'm not a whipper snapper either, I have tried a few things over the years. I had this done at a salon 6 weeks ago. I work with the hairdresser who did the treatment (I am not a hairdresser myself) so when he told me that in his opinion it is the best thing to happen to his industry in years, and it transforms hair like mine, I listened. As I say, I know him and work with him, it wasn't a sales pitch, it is what he truly believes. How could I not try it after hearing his raves?

I have very, very thick hair, that if left to dry naturally is an uneven concoction of quite nice big curls in some areas tighter spiral curls in others and a good dash of hair that doesn't even look like hair but fuzzy frizzy corn husk stuff thrown into the mix for good measure. Sometimes people with straight hair tell me they wish they could have naturally curly hair. Well sometimes curly hair does NOT look like that evenly distributed mass of glowing curls we see in the mags. It can be like mine, a dull, coarse, patchy mess of varying textures.

Pre the keratin treatment if I spent QUITE some time blow drying and then straightening my hair it could look really quite nice. I have received many compliments on my hair over the years. It CAN look thick, smooth, bouncy and shiny and I have never had to work to create volume in my hair that is for sure! But it took a lot of time to achieve that healthy look, and the moment I experienced any humidty or if I should sweat even a tiny bit, my hair would start to get a slight s curve, lose some shine and shrink up/puff out. Even just a little bit of puffing/shrinking doesn't look good and negated all my straightening that morning! Doesn't matter what serums and lotions and potions I tried, my hair was DIFFICULT.

I have always been envious of women who have hair that looks silky and shiny naturally, and who don't have to worry about sweat (I would look AWFUL after working out, my shoulder length hair would look four inches shorter, sticking out all over the place) or humidity. Well, now I am that person!

It seems my hair WILL NOT frizz or shrink, and my drying/styling time is cut easily in half. It shines! It really does feel like a different head of hair! I do have to use the straightening iron, blow drying alone is not enough, but it doesn't take near as long to get results, and those results last!

UPDATE MARCH 9th 2011

I got the keratin treatment again in early Feb, so it lasted way more than three months for me, although my hair in January was NOT cooperative and the last couple of weeks, well it was a royal pain. How did I live without Keratin all those years? Keratinized again my hair is smooth and easy to dry and style. Same great results as the first time. Never want to be without this treatment.

4 of 4 people found this helpful.


Popular Hair Treatments


Viviscal
Viviscal
62 Reviews
Silk Therapy
Silk Therapy
1516 Reviews
Dabur Amla Oil
Dabur Amla Oil
52 Reviews

Popular Hair Treatments

Viviscal
Viviscal
62 Reviews
Silk Therapy
Silk Therapy
1516 Reviews
Dabur Amla Oil
Dabur Amla Oil
52 Reviews
Back to Top