Coppola Keratin Complex Smoothing Therapy Treatment

Filtered by age: 30-35
Coppola    Keratin Complex Smoothing Therapy Treatment

4.4

10 reviews

90% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Where to Buy



Start your review


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Someone please help!! I just received a treatment from a professional stylist with Keratin Complex - a new product in the line which uses glycolic acid and is supposed to be a style-and-go treatment - i.e. wash whenever you like after it's straightened. She specifically recommended this product for me because I was interested in a keratin, but didn't want to wait the typical three days before washing. I just visited the company's website to confirm - they say it's possible to wash as soon as the treatment is done. The stylist finished at around 5:30 and I got my hair wet at around 9:30. I noticed a terrible smell - so bad in fact, that I thought maybe the toilet was backed up or that something was wrong with the water in the shower. I can't describe the smell - something akin to a pile of moldy wet towels, wet dog hair, and feces. Disgusting! I've washed my hair twice and conditioned and piled on good-smelling products. Drying helped, but the smell hasn't completely gone away and was as bad as ever after shampooing, until I blow-dryed. My hair's condition has improved, but my God, I don't care if she has to destroy it to get out this tenacious stench, nothing is worth this!

Has anyone had a similar experience and figured out how to get rid of the smell? If so, please PM me and offer advice - I'm desperate! I'm so disappointed and devastated by this, and it smelled absolutely amazing after she'd flat-ironed it in the salon before it got wet. I was just dumped before Valentine's Day and got this treatment in order to feel better, and now my hair smells like s*&% -- literally. Thanks a lot Keratin Complex, you'll definitely be hearing from me.



on 2/25/2012 10:29:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Keratin Complex Infusion -Keratin Replenisher

I just found this product. I'm a lover of all of the Coppola Keratin Hair products. This does exactly what ot says I'm not overly fond of the scent but it's light and disappears after I use my flat-iron.

I have long thick naturally curly hair (think Skakira) and I straighten my hair and Bleach it...Also I use my flat-iron regulary. Coppola's
line of Keratin Shampoo/Conditioner's and Therapy products are my new must have. My Hair looks and feels healthier and stronger.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 1/30/2012 12:07:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I've struggled with my super curly, super frizzy hair since virtually the day I was born. Growing up in the 80s/early 90s, my choices of straighteners was pretty limited. I tried at home relaxers (just don't...ever), flat irons, hot rollers, you name it. Nothing ever, ever worked for me. About two years ago, I finally plunked down the money for a Chi and was pleasantly surprised to find a flat iron that actually straightened my hair (my how flat irons have evolved!). However, even with the Chi, I still battled with the frizzies and the curl coming back. It also took me a good 45 minutes to completely straighten my hair.

Last summer I got a wild hair (no pun intended) and decided to get my hair colored professionally. I (stupidly) chose a very expensive "high end" salon to get this done. While there, the colorist and everyone who came in contact with me kept going on and on about this keratin complex treatment and how beneficial it would be for my hair. Since I had some disposable money at the time, I decided to go for it.

The first time I got it done I went back to the same high end salon and paid $400. This is a ridiculous price as my hair is barely shoulder length. While I do have lots of hair, it is basically very fine but super curly (think Mariah Carey in her Vision of Love days). The whole process took three whopping hours, but the stylist who did it couldn't have been nicer. Overall, I was very, very pleased with the results. My hair was smooth, silky and so easy to straighten. Luckily for me, I didn't have any adverse effects. My treatment also lasted a bit longer (about four months) as I held off on washing my hair constantly.

After deciding to get the complex again, I knew I had to find a more affordable salon. Since the complex itself is getting more popular, more places are offering it which means better prices for consumers. I highly suggest to anyone interested in getting this done to shop around. High end salons are great if you have money to burn and are concerned about a "name", but they do virtually the same work as smaller salons. I'll gladly trade the trendy atmosphere and loud music to save a few hundred bucks! After some research, I found a salon close to my home that was offering the complex on special for $99. I got the complex done a few weeks ago and again, I'm completely thrilled with the results. Even without the special fee, the salon I went to offers this service for $250. Still pricey but more affordable than high end salons.

In my opinion, this complex is an absolute God-send to those of us who have unruly hair. I would encourage anyone interested in it to thoroughly research it, pick a reputable but moderately priced salon and go for it. Also, be aware of the side effects of the chemicals and bear in mind that this isn't going to completely straighten your hair. If just makes what you have a whole lot easier to manage.

4 of 4 people found this helpful.


on 10/5/2011 3:57:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I have been getting the Coppola keratin treatment for over a year now, and I get it done every 3 months and I love it. It is life changing in a very positive way. It leaves my dry, coarse, wavy hair look beautiful, healthy and shiny. The only thing I don't like is the price point, it is quuite expensive, especially here in California. The good thing is that earlier this year, I found someone who could do the treatment for only $150 via my endless google searches (www.keratinhomeservice.com) and I couldn't be happier. Unlike the Brazilian blowout, which I used to get, the Coppola brand doesn't make my hair fall and it doesn't look greasy. Coppola makes my hair look naturally healthy and most importantly, frizz free.

3 of 3 people found this helpful.


on 5/29/2011 7:38:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

i have very curly coarse fine hair. In the humidity it gets even worse. I have done this treatment 3 times now. almost every 6month. I LOVE it. Can't say enough. Its the best.usually it takes me 40 minutes to blowdry my hair straight.But now it takes 15 minutes and i dont need to do much.It such a relieve.the best thing i have ever done.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 12/18/2010 6:05:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I had this treatment done by my stylist two weeks ago and my hair is a-mazing. I have thick, wavy hair that was previously unruly, frizzy, poofy... basically all of the things that make hair a pain in the a__ to style. Previously, I used a huge Spornette round brush to blow dry my hair into sumbission - a half hour process. Now I can blow dry with my fingers (unbelievable) or a basic vented brush and my hair is glossy, bouncy dry in 15 minutes or less. The process itself took about 3 1/2 hours and the formula made my eyes water. As my stylist sealed the magic potion into my hair with the flat iron and I started seeing the results, I felt a little worried - I didn't want STICK straight hair! But, 3 days later when I finally shampooed, I was shocked and amazed. My hair is so manageable now- not stick straight, but luminous and smooth. I'm so excited I'm giddy. Yes, it is very expensive ($350 for me), time consuming and the 3 days of not shampooing or getting any water at ALL on your hair are torturous but it so very, very worth it.


on 10/17/2010 5:18:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I LOVE the results of this product. I had the treatment done two weeks ago on my fine but thick (fine strands, but lots of it) hair. My hair is wavy and typically has lots of pouf and volume. I normally have to put product in to tame it, and tie it back while it dries. I have it balyaged (painted highlights) about once every four months.

The results of this product are that my hair strands are much smoother and they finally lay down flat. My hair looks much healthier than before and has more shine. It still has body though most of the curl is gone.

However, the one caveat to this product - I have always had very healthy hair. Other than the balyage treatments, I do not damage my hair much. I will occasionally partially blow dry it but do not flat iron or curl and always use Kerastase shampoos and deep conditioners which strenthen and moisturize better than any other products I've found. The person who cuts my hair checks the cuticles each time I come in and always remarks that my hair is super healthy. Until yesterday, when I went in for my usual trim and she found my hair strands to be very weak and to tear easily when running a comb through.

I've noticed over the past two weeks I have some broken hairs, and my hairdresser noted that I had split ends (the first time she's ever seen split ends and I have gone to her for years).

While this treatment makes your hair look insanely healthy, it actually does the opposite. The chemical that penetrates the hair shaft weakens it. I asked my hairdresser to rate it on a scale of one to perm, and she said it is actually worse than a perm.

I love the results so much, I will continue having keratin treatments unless it becomes apparent that all my hair is breaking off and noticeably more thin. If the damage is cumulative after multiple treatments I may be forced to reconsider, but at this point I love it so much that I would rather discontinue highlights if I had to make a choice between treatments to minimize damage.

All in all, I am very happy with the results. I wish this didn't damage the hair shaft. If not for that, I would consider it an absolute miracle product.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 3/30/2010 10:57:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've been having my hair rebonded aka chemically straightened 2 or 3 times a year since 2003. My hair is fine & resembled a frizzy birds nest in its natural state (before I got a clue and started rebonding & taking care of it by using salon products)

My HD had been using weaker straightening solutions on my hair the last few times I'd had it rebonded as he didn't want the condition to deteriorate from all the dyeing & straightening he does to it which I'm thankful for as my hair is in great condition considering how many chemical processes its gone through but consequently the last 2 times its been straightened its still maintained a natural wave which is when I thought I may as well try the coppola keratin treatment as it would offer the same results with no damage.

My HD doesn't offer the service so I researched the treatments application and was fairly confident I could apply the treatment myself especially as there is no chemical processing time so no chance I could over process and chemically burn my hair.

6 months after my last rebonding when I had a lot of regrowth I bought a bottle of the treatment along with a few coppola extras (shamp/cond/replenisher) from strawberrynet and gave the treatment ago. It was easy enough to do and I waited 72 hours before the initial wash.

Results: As anticipated, My hair is now wash n wear, ready to go with no frizz and feels so soft with a lovely glossy shine to it.

I had read a few negative remarks about it on another forum (from girls whom hadn't had it done and couldn't understand why one would want it) but I think its due to ppl mistaking it for a straightening treatment not a SMOOTHING treatment. So if you want your hair to retain its natural wave with out the frizz and feel so soft & glossy with zero damage give this a go.


4 of 4 people found this helpful.


on 3/11/2010 6:39:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I just had this done recently, and I'm very impressed with it. I started out with long (mid-back), thick, very dense, 3a/3b hair. To begin with, it was uncolored, unprocessed, with lots of natural shine - overall, very healthy. The problem, of course, has always been frizz (and therefore an ingrained fear of humidity), poor manageability, coarseness, and thus the inordinate amount of time and effort needed to achieve a salon-quality blowout. Normally, it took me an hour, using a CR134-PR brush and a pro dryer, and I had to be very patient and focused.

When I started going to the gym on a daily basis, I quickly realized that I did not want to hang around the locker room for an hour styling my hair, and that I did not like having to wear my hair curly (and often back, for this reason) every single day.

After getting the treatment, my hair is now 2a/2b, it air dries soft and silky (like a little kid's!), and a 60 minute blowout now takes me 20 minutes, tops, with minimal effort and perfect results. I'm happy to have retained the volume and fullness, while eliminating the frizz. I have much more flexibility, style-wise, and when I let my hair dry naturally it doesn't lose 3-4 inches to curl anymore. Honestly, my hair is 100% more manageable.

People who do not have naturally curly hair might find proclamations of "This treatment changed my life!" to be dramatic, but it really can make a huge difference.

UPDATE: After a 10 minute walk in a drizzle with blown out hair and no umbrella - no frizz! I'm in disbelief!

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 9/16/2009 10:59:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I had this treatment done about 6 months ago when my stylist recommened it. I have very thick curly hair and a lot of it. My hair frizzes and poofs so badly sometimes that I look like slash or hendrix.....sigh. Anyway, I'd say it took them about 3 hours to do the treatment and then I had to keep my hair dry and straight for 2-3 days which meant no shampoo or pony tail or hair tucking, but it was all worth it. My hair was absolutely flawless and literally turning heads for the 2 1/2 months that followed. It wasn't even low maintenance it was No-maintenance. I just let it air dry with no product and I had perfect frizz free curls and if i wanted it straight it was silky in less than half the time it used to take me. This treatment is supposed to last 4 months, but on my hair it didn't last that long. I would highly recommend it, but it's quite expensive. Depending on where you get it done it can run you $200-$400. Overall, I would do it again as I think the results definitely outweigh the price tag.

3 of 3 people found this helpful.


Back to Top