3.6

Created with Sketch.
23 reviews
73%
would repurchase
3.4/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I like this parfume. But only spray a little on the wrist. The heavy scent of Gardenia is giving me a headace, when I spray on both my wrists. It´s a great spring and summer parfume just as Diamonds and Saphires, yes Im an Elizabeth Taylor-parfume collector. But I don´t think it will work as well in the fall and winter. I´ve bought the 100 ml, because it was on sale, with the other "Diamonds and...." series, so I bought them all.

About reviewer (21 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesBlue



4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I have ticked that I would not repurchase, because this was actually a gift, and not quite the right fragrance for me. This is an intensively fruity floral that somehow never manages to smell too sweet. This is old school fruit, similar in character to Patou For Ever or Femme by Rochas, mixed with plenty of creamy white floral notes, and lots of decent quality base notes to keep it from turning into candy floss. There's also a touch of green in there as well, probably because of the hyacinth and sage. It's a very bright perfume that stays light and sharp on me from beginning to end. It never becomes creamy or soft at all, at least not on my skin. It smells more expensive than it is and it's staying power for an eau de toilette is impressive. Some people on Fragrantica have compared it to Truth or Dare by Madonna. I can certainly see the similarities, but whereas Truth or Dare smells harsh, synthetic and screechy on me, Diamonds and Emeralds smells bright and almost fizzy instead. Beware, though, the first five minutes can be pretty rough. When I first spray it on, all I can smell is a harsh chemical cloud. After that disperses I am left with a bright, zingy fruity floral that smells like a tropical cocktail made with freshly squeezed tropical fruits, champagne and no added sugar. I swear I can smell guava in here, even though it's not listed. All in all, it's decently made and good value for the money. I will use up this bottle in spring, but probably not purchase when it runs out. I have too many perfumes as it is. Edit: I kept wondering what this reminded me of. I kept thinking it smelt so familiar, as if I'd worn it years before. Today I was out shopping and not wearing perfume, so I decided to spray myself with Estee Lauder Spellbound, a fragrance I used to wear in my 20's and 30's ........... and there it was. Not exactly the same, but in a very similar vein. Granted, Spellbound is warmer, smoother and better blended, but there are definite similarities. They share a lot of the same notes - carnation, rose, amber, vanilla, musk, orange blossom, tuberose, jasmine and lily of the valley. There were even released close together, Spellbound in 1991 and Diamonds and Emeralds in 1993. It's as if Diamonds and Emeralds is the younger sister. Spellbound is mature, elegant and at home at the theatre or an expensive restaurant. Diamonds and Emeralds is busy flirting at Club Med. Sophia Grojsman created both Spellbound, and also Diamonds and Rubies. Is it just possible she also had a hand in creating Diamonds and Emeralds? After all, they were both released in 1993. Who knows.

About reviewer (816 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

Bottle #3 of Elizabeth Taylor's fumes I now own, and I'm happy I do. Blind purchases all, and somehow I just could feel the trust she put into making them. These are fragrances that are well-made, well-formulated and just plain smell good. They are becoming classics in their own right. Diamonds and Emeralds begins as a creamy soup of a myriad of flowers. If you're not into a prominence of florals. walk away from this perfume. If you are, step into a heavenly delight. This is a fragrance that needs to be either sprayed lightly on your wrists, sprayed in the air and walked through or sprayed on a cotton ball and dabbed. Either way, judicious spraying is the hallmark of using Diamonds and Emeralds for its best effect. It is heady with creamy floral notes that swirl around you in a bouquet. If flowers could talk, this would be them euphoniously conversing. And talk well they do at this major floral expedition that bursts out well around you. For me, the roses, tuberose, gardenia and carnations are bursting at full bloom. The base brings patchouli and musk, along with tonka beans, amber and vanilla to mellow this power-house. It stays strong for hours on end, until you wash it off. Another idea is to spray it on a scarf instead, where it will last for days. Creaminess abounds, but this time, in a more subtle way. There is a green crispness to Diamonds & Emeralds that reminds me of when you snap fresh, organic greens and your kitchen begins to take on the clean fresh smell of snap peas, or any type of greens for that matter, as you are diligently breaking the ends off. The fresh aroma is inviting of what's yet to come. Now think of a cream sauce you're preparing for those fresh vegetables, one that's light, peppered with just a few spices, more of a french sauce and it's simmering on the stove. The windows are open and the breeze brings in snippets of the flowers you've planted this past spring. It's not a sensory overload, just everyday living and you're right in the middle of some delectable aromas. Now open your eyes and you're wearing Diamonds & Emeralds. Confident, day-time women that understand a fragrance will appeal to this scent, I believe. A great value for your money. Available in both drug-store and department stores in the USA, where Elizabeth Taylor wanted women of all socio-economic backgrounds to enjoy her perfumery. Top Notes: Apricot, Orange Blossom, Gardenia, Mandarin Orange, Peach, White Rose, Hiacynth, Sage, Water Lily. Middle Notes: Magnolia, Carnation, Tuberose, Lily, Jasmine, Lily-Of-The-Valley, Rose. Base Notes: Tonka Bean, Amber, Patchouli, Vanilla, Musk.

About reviewer (369 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

Beautiful scent. If you like florals, you will like this, it is sweet and florally. This proves that you don't have to spend a fortune to smell terrific. I like the bottle shape and the diamonds at the top, looks classy. I got this as a blind buy from TJMaxx for only $10, I did research the reviews first however before buying. Got the 100ml bottle and this will last me for a long time.

About reviewer (265 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Tan, Neutral

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

I LOVE THIS!! I first smelled Diamonds and Emeralds when I was very young. Like 7 or something. I knew I loved it the moment I smelled it but wherever I looked I could never find it. I went to the States and finally found it at TJMaxx. Thank god I found it at some place like TJ's because I got it for like $12 compared to $30 for a 3.3 oz bottle! When I got back home I immediately spritzed some on. What I love about this is that a little goes a long way, that way the bottle lasts a lot longer which is great. The scent is a beautiful classic of florals. It isn't overwhelmingly gross like White Diamonds but the first few moments are really harsh, but as the scent dies down it goes to an almost flirty scent combonation of floral and fruity. I feel like I can wear this at a formal occasion and to school. The lasting power is awesome too! I put some on my wrists and the scent stayed for 4-5 hours which is better that A LOT of the perfumes out there nowadays. I think this smells sophisticated yet fun, at least the dry down of it. If you guys are planning to buy this, definitely check out Ross, Marshall's, TJMaxx or Winners before checking a perfume store :)

About reviewer (1 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinAcne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

9 years ago

Wow..i am surprised how much I love this fragrance. There is something very ladylike about it. It reminds me afternoon high tea. It has a interesting tropical (coconut custard) smell to it that I really like. It is very feminine and I am a fan of these types of perfumes. I wish it has a bit more staying power on me, though. I would buy this again.

About reviewer (44 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair, Not Sure

HairRed, Other, Other

EyesHazel


1.0
Created with Sketch.

9 years ago

Oh dear, what was I thinking...? To me has an odd note of White diamonds mixed with diamond and rubies rhubarb and custard note and fir me that doesn't work. Felt artificial and over bearing, and as if they had rushed a formula by integrating disparate aspects of other Taylor scents. Will be passing it on.

About reviewer (46 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBlond, Other, Other

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

9 years ago

I couldn't believe how soft this scent was, doesn't smell anything like White Diamonds. Diamonds and Emeralds is a soft floral oriental, sprays on a bit strong, but dries down soft sweet and feminine.

About reviewer (414 reviews)

Age

SkinOther, Other, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

11 years ago

I have sentimental feeling for this perfume. My late father bought this for me when I was a freshman in college. I remember I didn't like the smell, yet I used up the whole bottle. Strangely, my male friend complimented me, he sniffed my shirt so close (almost terify me) and said "oh you smell so good", well this happned 14 years ago in college..soback to present, I found this perfume on the lowest shelf in TJ Wright, reminded me of my dad whom I missed him so much, I bought it anyway. I sprayed it almost everyday and I notice when I fresh this in the morning, the smell is strong in the beginning..but gradually after mixed with my "chemical smell" of my body, it turned out softly sweet which suprise me and make me like it more...I am planning to buy and stock up the bottles.

About reviewer (48 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOily, Olive, Not Sure

HairBlack, Curly, Coarse

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

13 years ago

This is a delightful floral-fruity-coconut perfume that is so distinctive, there's not another one like it. I bought it dirt cheap at Perfumania with my daughter, along with the rest of the Diamonds collection. You won't smell exactly like everyone else's floral-fruity-gourmand perfume.

About reviewer (107 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesGreen




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us