3.1

Created with Sketch.
57 reviews
46%
would repurchase
3.9/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


3.0
Created with Sketch.

5 months ago

It smells like dirt during its die down. It’s strong and a bit generic smelling. There’s nothing standout about this perfume. It’s not worth the money!

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Olive

HairBrunette

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This is a powdery floral on initial spray but dries down to a soft floral musk. The wear is soft and long lasting. I love how unique this scent is and the bottle is so elegant looking while sitting on my shelf. This is one that I wear a lot during the day. Its perfect for day wear.

About reviewer (255 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Medium, Neutral

HairOther, Straight, Medium

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I am quite surprisd by the harsh criticism of this perfume. I think most of the negative comments are because people expected to have something more...I can certainly understand that feeling. After all Guerlain has raised the bar of expectations with such classics like the voluptous Shalimar , the ever seductive Samsara and the weirldy wonderful Mitsouko. In comparison, Idylle seems like the boring step sister, in a house full of ingénues. However, when judged as a perfume on it's own merit, I can't help but love the fragrance for what it is. A warm, musky floral in the vein of Narciso Rodriguez For her and Sarah Jessica parker Lovely. I compared Idylle on one hand and Narciso For Her on the other hand. They share that musky quality I love however Narciso rodriguez when compared to Idylle smelled more "spare". Like a beautifully furnished room that looks good but upon further inspection, the curtain fabric is cheap and the carpet is a Knock off. A good Knock off nevertheless. There's a clear difference in the quality of the ingredients used for both fragrances. Idylle's are definitely better. Narciso had a sharper quality and Idylle is warm , rich, soft and deeeeeeepp. The florals in narciso were sharp while idylle's florals were smoooovve, the musky base was soft and encompassing. However it was at no point cloying. I adore this perfume. It's feminine, soft, musky and fresh. It's definitely not bombastic like Shalimar however, it's beautiful. If you like florals, and love musk you'll like this. It's a pretty, easy to wear feminine floral that as you'd expect from Guerlain is very well made and tenacious. I need a bottle!

About reviewer (118 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinVery Dry, Dark, Warm

HairBlack, Kinky, Fine

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

When Idylle first came out its mass-market placement led me to dismiss it. Fast forward a couple of years and I received the edp as a gift and experimented with it for the first time. There was something in it I liked and I kept coming back to it but I didn't get the chypre connection, although I find the floral-fruity aspects more dry than sweet amd very pleasant. Then the opportunity arose to try the parfum. There I got the chypre connection much more and a delicious plummy note. I wish the parfum came in a larger bottle. So far I have gone through one bottle of edp and one of parfum and am now on my second parfum and a bottle of edt, which I like more than the edp as it's a bit more ethereal. This is not my usual type of perfume, which is more powdery, leathery, aromatic, but I love it for its dry floral elegance and, especially in the parfum, tip of the hat to fruity chypre. If it were just for the edp or edt I would give it four stars but because of the parfum, five stars it is! Four stars for the packaging because adding a larger size parfum would merit another star.

About reviewer (15 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Medium, Warm

HairOther, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

It took me a while to warm up to Idylle. Guerlain is one of those perfume houses that has a certain gravitas. One expects serious, elegant perfumes to come from this classic French house. So when Idylle was launched in 2009, many perfumistas were puzzled. There's no Guerlinade here; no dreamy tonka-vanilla drydown. Idylle is a musky, sweet floral in the vein of Narciso Rodriguez for Her EDP. In fact, you could repackage Idylle as a NR flanker and I bet nobody would know the difference. In Idylle, floral (with rose and muguet figuring heavily) and peach notes dance over a musky base. It's nothing that hasn't been done before, but what makes Idylle special is how well it's done. The notes come together in a smooth, sweet swirl that smells so good, it's kind of addictive; the lasting power is impressive, and it lacks that harsh opening note in Narciso Rodriguez (and Lanvin Rumeur, another similar fragrance) that seems to smell a bit like nail polish remover. For this reason, although I love NR in all of its forms, I find myself reaching more often for Idylle when I want a musky floral fix. The drydown is clean and soapy, like the best-smelling shampoo in the world. In short, this fragrance is feminine, easy to wear, and good for just about any occasion. Wear it to work; wear it out to dinner; casual or dressed up, Idylle is an all-arounder.

About reviewer (145 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Not Sure

HairBlond, Other, Other

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

Wow this has such a low rating. I don't think it is that bad! I have read some very harsh comments. I am not good at explaining perfume notes but I would consider this to be a sweet and soft floral. It smells very 'pretty' and 'elegant' and I feel that it turns me into a radiant princess. So maybe it isn't as sophisticated as Shalimar or Mitsouko, but I still find it lovely. The only thing that bothers me is that it doesn't last very long and the sillage is soft. I don't like to be that woman in the room who everyone can smell but I do like to be that woman you can smell when they stand next to you. Idylle unfortunately doesn't make that for me. To be fair, a lot of fragrances nowadays aren't that strong or long lasting but there are a few who do that deserve my attention more. I do not regret Idylle at all but it won't be something I repurchase.

About reviewer (169 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Curly, Coarse

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

so sexy....

About reviewer (10 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Tan

HairBlond

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

One of the worst Guerlain scents I've ever tried. No Guerlinade here, just a safe, forgettable floral that smells like toilet cleaner.

About reviewer (470 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOily, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

7 years ago

I'm one of these people that is still seeking their signature perfume, I thought I had finally found it but .............This is my second bottle of this perfume would I buy it again , I'm not sure to be honest. My husband says its ok , but he's not mad about it ,a couple of friends have made comments but I just am not sure it has the wow factor , on me anyway. I love the bottle , but agree with other comments that the lid is annoying, not the best. I do get an occasional waft of this if I'm wearing a scarf, but I'm looking forward to trying something new, which says it all really!

About reviewer (22 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

I didnt' get roses or anything else but huge white floral. It's a nice huge white floral, but that's about it on my. Pass.

About reviewer (1714 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Other, Fine

EyesBrown