Milani Infinite Liquid Eye Liner

Milani Infinite Liquid Eye Liner

4.0

232 reviews

75% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Isododecane, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Dimethicone, Mica, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Sorbitan TristearatePropylene Carbonate, Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Glycerides, Phytosteryl Isostearate, Caprylyl Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Hydrogenated Palm Glycerides, Hexylene Glycol, BHT, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499). /- May Contain: Ultramarines (CI 77007).

Where to Buy



Start your review


on 12/1/2017 9:31:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got this to try as a dupe for Liquidlast, which was my HG liner for times when I wanted my liner to last all day.

I should preface by stating that on a 1-10 skill level of applying liquid liner, I'm a solid 3. I don't even attempt to draw a wing or any of that. With Liquidlast, I just glob some liner as close to my upper lashline as possible, take a moment to marvel at what a mess I made, then just blend it in toward my lashline with my finger. It takes under a minute and I have a nice, lived-in line that lasts all day.

My usual method does not work with Milani. First, the brush is longer, flimsier and even harder to work with than Liquidlast. It went on thick and goopy, yet sheer/watery in spots, and got all over my lashes. Being more of a painterly person than precise, I don't mind working it into submission with another brush or my hands, but I needed an arsenal of brushes, q-tips, a black pencil, makeup remover, and a lot of time.

In spite of all my efforts, I just never felt like my eyes looked as pretty as when I use the Liquidlast, even though the products are very similar. Both are strikingly black and wear like steel. I think the Mac is much more willing to smudge in a pretty way before it sets, and blend onto my skin when I work with it, where milani requires me to draw perfectly with no room for mistakes, like a watercolor. If I touch it, it just seems to get worse the more I play. Sheer patches, unsightly smudges, shaky lines, etc. Some days, I caught a glimpse in the mirror and couldn't wait to get home to take it off.

I also have a really sallow olive skin tone that hates and sort of warmth and looks best in cool tones. I feel like the Mac has a cooler blue-black tone to it that works with my complexion and brings out the hazel in my eyes. The difference in the two colors is so subtle though, I can't imagine that being an issue for most people.

I think this is an excellent Mac dupe if you fit into that category of being able to do wings and exotic eye looks and all that. If not, I find the Liquidlast to be more forgiving.

I would go as far as to say that if you have extremely oily lids - this and Liquidlast are your only real options. This stuff wears, doesn't fade and doesn't flake, but I have no problem removing it with oil free eye makeup remover.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.



on 9/3/2017 1:19:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I hate touching up my makeup every few hours, or having makeup on that fades throughout the day. I want to put it on and have it last, and love truly waterproof products. But problem is, most that claim they are waterproof are not. However, this eyeliner WILL NOT come off, even when swimming for hours. It is truly waterproof and does not budge! It has excellent staying power and does not flake or fade either. You will need a good eye makeup remover to get this off. If it is one product I have to have, it is this one. I also found no problem with application, and I am not that good at applying eye liner as I don't see very well without my glasses on.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm on my second tube of this liner and I can safely say that I have no reason to ever try another unless this is discontinued (in which case I will be extremely upset and hoard these like my life depends on it).

I've tried MANY eyeliners, from drugstore to mid-range to a couple high end, and this is by far the best I have ever used once you measure all the factors.

it is SUPER black. the blackest black liner I've ever used.

it is the most long-lasting liner I've ever used. water won't budge it. I have worn it for 18-20 hours and it is still a rich black and the wing is still in place.

I actually have difficulty removing it with oil. I have to let it sit for almost a minute and then I can smear it off. I've had the best luck with micellar water. soak a cotton pad with micellar water, then press the soaked pad onto your lid for 10-15 seconds. it should wipe off easily.

the applicator can be improved, however. almost daily, I will stab my sensitive inner lash line (trying to get a thin, precise line) with the end of the brush and cause my eyes to water. there is also a learning curve because the liner itself is thicker than a traditional liquid liner. I find it to be more of a liquid/crème than just liquid. because of the thicker consistency, it dries down faster than other liners. I actually like this quality because there's less chance of me smearing it or otherwise messing it up once I'm happy with my wing.

I have showered with this liner on, been caught in rainstorms with this liner on (I actually added a picture of myself after getting caught in the rain), sweat it out in the gym and fitness classes with this liner on, I have cried with this liner on, and it stays. it does not budge. I have wiped at it, I have scratched at it, and it is still there.. it is truly long-lasting and is my most dependable and favorite makeup staple.

Milani really knocked it out of the park with this liner. it is rich black, it is really long-lasting, it is waterproof, and it is really affordable at about $7.99-$8.99 and easy to find at your local drugstore. it is worth a shot. if you are looking for a good eyeliner and have a little bit of patience, you are in for a real winner.

8 of 8 people found this helpful.


on 11/9/2016 1:04:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Black

I hate to rain on everyone's parade but this eyeliner was a disaster for me!

Biggest problem I had was the consistency and application. This liner's formula is so thick and goopy that it is impossible to work with. I have tried multiple ways. The way I normally line my eyes is first I curl my lashes THEN put eyeliner, otherwise the liner will be removed or messed up from the curling process. I applied this liner to the root base of my lashline which caused all my lashes to clump up and not separate! I cannot apply it further from my lashline otherwise there will an obvious gap and that is not pretty. Also with curled lashes, its hard not to get it on my lashes because the formula is so thick and sticky. I have tried not curling my lashes, applying this and then curling, but it still causes my lashes to clump up from the base.

When this is applied, you will NOT get it off. Very waterproof, smudge proof....this is the most long wearing liquid liner I have ever come across. Even using eye makeup remover wont get it off fully. I appreciate that. But I still cannot use or apply this and it does more damage than good.

I wont buy again unless there was a thinner and less sticky formula.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 7/4/2017 12:43:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This eyeliner is pigmented and dries matte. In my opinion in can be kind of thick compared to other liquids I’ve used but I would rather have this than a liner that is runny and smearing during application. My lashes are naturally very curled and they always get in the way so when I use this product so I have to pull my lid taught to apply. I was able to create a wing fairly easy because the brush is very thin and pointed. At first the brush was stiff and hard and kind of poked when using it but I washed it and it’s better.

I am usually lazy with removing makeup so I don’t like to buy waterproof products but I didn’t read the package completely until I got home. On my eye it took a lot of work to remove with a regular makeup wipe. I had a swatch of it on my hand and even in the shower using a body brush and soap it didn’t want to come off. I’ll be heading out to find an oil based makeup remover.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 2/8/2017 11:23:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Colour is good and it definitely lasts, but the consistency and application is awful. Very goopy, difficult to control and very easy to get into/clump up your eyelashes.

Will not repurchase, but not giving up on Milani eyeliner! Few more kinds to try ;)


on 3/18/2016 3:55:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really like this liner. I have it in brown. I normally use gel or tarte smoldereyes skinny but this might convert me to a liquid for certain times. Good color and nice applicator. Color is a little sheer / translucent but it might be my application skills ;-). I have tried Kat Von D and like this one so much better and can buy three milani for the price of one Kat liner.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 4/22/2016 4:17:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

A reliable, enduring liner for teary eyes.

Some companies market "waterproof" eyeliners that are composed mostly of water, and are not really waterproof. If they remove easily with water and light rubbing, then they won't be tear-proof on your eyes. I have learned this the hard way. I have been disappointed by so many eyeliners that I've lost count. To me an eyeliner is only waterproof if it withstands tears and wiping the eyes without fading, crumbling, smudging, smearing or transferring.

I bought Milani Infinite Liquid Eye Liner in the color Everlast, which is Milani's black. I did a side-by-side comparison with the amazing MAC Liquidlast Liner. Both MAC Liquidlast and Milani Infinite Liquid Eye Liner are both truly waterproof. As you can see below, the formulas are similar:

Ingredients of Milani Infinite Liquid Eyeliner:

Isododecane, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Dimethicone, Mica, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Sorbitan Tristearate Propylene Carbonate, Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Glycerides, Phytosteryl Isostearate, Caprylyl Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Hydrogenated Palm Glycerides, Hexylene Glycol, BHT, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499). +/- May Contain: Ultramarines (CI 77007).

Ingredients of MAC Liquidlast Liquid Eyeliner:

Isododecane, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Dimethicone, Disteardimonium hectorite, Sorbitan tristearate, Ascorbyl palmitate, Caprylyl glycol, Hexylene glycol, Propylene carbonate, Hydrogenated palm kernel glycerides, Hydrogenated palm glycerides, Phytosteryl isostearate, BHT, Phenoxyethanol [ /- Mica, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Carmine (CI 75470), Chromium Hydroxide Green (CI 77289), Chromium Oxide Greens (CI 77288), Ferric Ferrocyanide (CI 77510), Manganese Violet (CI 77742), Ultramarines (CI 77007), Yellow 5 Lake (CI 19140)]

On my eyelids, MAC's "Point Black" ink appeared to be slightly cooler and blacker (blue black as opposed to brown black) than Milani's ink, but the difference was negligible. When I wore Milani on the left eye and MAC on the right eye, no one could tell that I was wearing two different liquid eyeliners. They're both very dark and black.

I prefer MAC's brush applicator to Milani's. However, Milani's eyeliner is $7.99 and MAC's is $21. I don't know if I like MAC's brush thirteen dollars better, if you know what I mean. So I use my own eyelining brush, Shu Uemura 2R, with Milani's liquid.

Milani's Infinite Liquid does have a thick, somewhat "goopy" consistency as others have noted. That's because it doesn't contain any water, and that's one of the extraordinary things about the formula, which is truly waterproof. I personally don't find it harder to work with than a gel, and I will happily tolerate a thick texture in order to ensure that once it sets, it won't move.

PROS:

1. Once the ink has dried, it does not smear, move, transfer, smudge, flake, split, or bleed. It really is waterproof. Can be worn in the rain, to the beach, or when you might cry a lot.

2. Milani is a cruelty free brand, which probably matters to you if you are vegan or just don't like the idea of animal testing.

3. A cheaper alternative to MAC Liquidlast.

4. Safe for sensitive eyes.

TIPS:

If you don't like the brush applicator, which I don't, use your own brush. I use Shu Uemura 2R but the cheaper Real Techniques eyelining brush works very well and has synthetic bristles that are easy to clean.

Paula's Choice Gentle Eye Makeup Remover on a cotton round takes this off. Or you can use Josie Maran's Argan Oil, which works even better. Or coconut oil, if you have it in the kitchen. Or baby oil, if you can't find any of those. Also, Sephora makes Targeted Eye Makeup Remover Swabs, 20 for $5, if you travel a lot and don't want to pack a bottle of eye makeup remover and a separate pack of Q-tips. A Sephora Swab is great for a quick fix if your application isn't flawless.

I apply this eyeliner carefully and let it dry before I finish my creasework and final blending. That way if I blob some onto my eyelid I don't have to wipe off all my eye shadow and start again. Once this is completely dry, it won't budge.

CONS:

1. Not ideal for beginners who lack skill or patience.

2. The brush applicator could be improved.

3. Because it's waterproof, you need to keep oil or makeup remover handy. But that's a small price to pay for how well this lasts.

Yes, I absolutely would buy this again for the reasonable price and Olympic level performance. This is actually waterproof. It doesn't just call itself that. It passed my eye drop test, my shower test, and lasts all day and all night even on my watery eyes where so many others have failed.

20 of 20 people found this helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Grey



If there's one thing I can say about this product, it's bulletproof. I bought it thinking that it could replace my Maybelline Line Stiletto (pfft, not a chance). I was shocked when I first put it on and when I went to wipe it off, most of it stayed on my lids and I looked like a panda! I had to get out my makeup remover (I normally use makeup wipes but those weren't cutting it) to get this stuff off my eyes. As a top lid liner, it really sucks; if you make a mistake (which, given that the applicator is a BRUSH--- seriously, who thought that was a good idea--- you will inevitably faff up at least once), the formula is very unforgiving. For water lining, however, this is the product you want. I wore this once and (accidentally) fell asleep. When I woke up, it was still absolutely perfect. It hadn't transferred to my lower lid, so I didn't have that L from DeathNote look that a lot of pencil liners give me. I've only had this liner for a few days, so I'm still forming an opinion on it as a whole. I'm actually wearing it right now, and it has lasted me a good six hours on my waterline. One complaint I have is how freaking goopy the formula is. I have really long eyelashes, and even if I take the excess product off of the applicator, I still get a nice glob of liner stuck on my lashes. Over all, I think it's an okay eyeliner. The applicator is tricky and the formula is a little cumbersome, but if you want an eyeliner that will stay on your waterline without any chance of transferring, I highly recommend this.

3 of 4 people found this helpful.


on 4/30/2016 11:12:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have the oiliest eyelids, but after I put this on and let it dry, it does not budge for anything. This stuff is truly waterproof; I've taken showers and washed my face with it on multiple times, and it never comes off. Case in point: when I started using this eyeliner, I stayed at my boyfriend's place but had no eye makeup remover. I was used to other formulas that easily come off, so I rubbed and rubbed at it, first with my fingers, then with a wet napkin, and while some came off, most of it stubbornly stayed on. Eye makeup remover, oils, and moisturizers will easily remove it, however; I bring those with me, now.

Application is the only difficult thing. I'm a veteran winged eyeliner gal, and it still took me a little bit to get used to the gloopy consistency. Definitely not for beginners. Now I can do a cat eye in a bit over a minute, so for the price and the longevity, it's worth getting.

3 of 3 people found this helpful.


Back to Top