3.4

Created with Sketch.
48 reviews
58%
would repurchase
3.7/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


1.0
Created with Sketch.

6 months ago

It is official for me. Living Proof makes my hair feel like straw. Sorry I bought into the hype.

About reviewer (13 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinVery Oily, Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown



1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Received both the shampoo and conditioner as a gift. My Sephora friend has always attempted to push this line on me and I've resisted, just going with a gut feeling. Now I know why. I wouldn't recommend it to my worst enemy. Anti-frizz? Try pro-frizz immediately even when you don't have it. I've only had one other shampoo react so badly with my hair and that was a drugstore brand(not saying drugstore brands are bad- I pick and choose from low to high end all the time), but this is definitely not worth the money charged. I could not easily comb thru after using the conditioner and my hair is only chin- length. Fragrance is ok. Slip is harder than I expected. After blow-drying, my hair looks so dry and unmanageable, I am forced to use ridiculous amounts of styling product to over-compensate for the dryness imposed by Living Proof. I used the left-over shampoo/conditioner to hand-wash sweaters so as not to waste it.

About reviewer (369 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Love, love, love this product. I have fine, colored, wavy hair that frizzed all the time. Colored red with purple highlights. Summers were the worst. I use Stop Frizz Gentle Shampoo followed by this conditioner. I then put their Prime Style Extender in my hair and some root lift and blow dry or dry in velco rollers. I no longer have frizzy hair...even in the summer! No other product has done this for me and I've been searching for help for over 10 years. Buy this product with the shampoo and style extender. First start with their pre-shampoo. You won't be sorry!

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairRed, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

I tried this at a friend’s house. It probably isn’t exactly right for my hair type (fine, long, straight), but still...left my hair feeling filmy, weighed down, and not properly moisturized/deranged. A never buy for me!

About reviewer (17 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrown, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

I was not a fan of the shampoo from this line. But I the conditioner is nice. When I use this after using my AG Colour Savour shampoo and follow this with my Davines Relaxing Fluid, I am left with full, but less frizzy hair. Now is everything silky? No. But I was even a at a hotel one time washed and dried my hair with said combo, went to bed and even woke up with darn good bed head and didn't need to do anything but readjust my hair that morning. It also allows for second and third day hair which is always a bonus. Now, I don't think this is perfection. But I broke down and bought a full bottle after trying it via travel sizes in the southern humidity. I think it is incredibly over priced. But this is a nice conditioner. I have very, very fine wavy to curly hair. (2a or b)

About reviewer (1201 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Garbage. I can't believe this goes for the price that it does. Thankfully this came in one of those monthly subscription boxes so I paid a fraction of the price. Pros: - Smell—subtle and fresh, BUT doesn't last long - The bottle is designed with a flat top so you can flip the bottle upside down—ensuring that you can get every last drop of the shampoo Cons: - Does nothing to stop frizz. I have naturally straight hair but when it's humid, can get a tad bit out of control. Ends up making my hair look drier than normal. I've also used this w/ the conditioner which also is crap. - The price. $20/bottle is outrageous for shampoo that's garbage. But even if it wasn't still outrageous pricing for something that's being used daily. Save yourself the money.

About reviewer (97 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinNormal, Olive, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I actually enjoyed this for my long, colored, wavy hair! The scent is very nice and I need a small amount to condition my hair. Pricey for a small amount

About reviewer (1297 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Over the years, I have tried way too many product for my frizzy hair. I have really thick, wavy and frizzy hair. I don't really have curly hair but the frizz makes it look so. Yes. It's that frizzy. But this conditioner did what others didn't . It tames the frizz and makes my hair appear soft and manageable. I had undergone smoothening treatment for my hair and this product really helped me to manage the difference in moisturization of my normal hair against the smoothened hair. I only wish it gave more shine to the hair . This along with John Frieda's anti frizz serum works best for my hair.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Dark

HairBlack

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I am someone who spends far too much time and money on the hunt for conditioners which will control and soften my thick, coarse, unruly curls, and its rare any one product checks the boxes for me. I was VERY surprised how well this conditioner performs, and how soft it left my hair. Although it's a bit spendy, I believe it's worth it. I put off trying this conditioner out for a loooong time. I felt it was far too expensive for daily use because of its size; my hair is long and thick, down to my butt, which means I go through conditioners much quicker than most. I also figured it was overhyped and may not be formulated for my kind of hair anyhow since all of the photos and adds depicted gals with thinner and shorter hair than I have [Read: No Latina's or mixed women so I didn't figure it would do sh*t for my Puerto Rican mane]. Anyway, the other day I decided to give it a try and I was/am not disappointed! I am pleasantly surprised... The immediate slip you get from this is the tell-tale sign of its high quality IMO, and it wasn't a deceiving silicone-ish type silkiness either. I was also amazed that a little goes a long way - I barely needed any of this to cover/work through my hair, which is highly unusual. When combing my hair in the shower, my hair was noticeably less tangled and it was a lot easier to glide through than usual, which also resulted in less breakage. When my hair dried, it was left very soft, manageable, and the curls were very well defined even though this isn't advertised for curly girls. It was a pretty humid day when I first used this so I skipped the additional products in order to see if this could stand up as advertised, which it did! After running around doing errands for 2 hrs and then hitting a bar where I sat outside as the wind blew like crazy for another 3 hrs, I came home to find no additional frizz and I was sans the usual "poof head". I only have two complaints about this conditioner, one of them may just be my own quirk of insanity and have no baring for anyone else... Problem 1: The price. I really do love this but I do feel at $26.00 for 8 oz, that's rather steep. A more realistic price point for this would be around $18. On the flipside, the 24 oz size is $49.00 and when compared to the smaller bottle that's a pretty good deal at 3X. Now that I know how much I dig this product, I will go for the larger size which I feel is better and more realistic, again considering as I said earlier that a little goes a long way. Problem 2: This smells like raid to me. Raid - you know, the crap you spray to kill ants. To be fair, I said this to a couple people and had them sniff my coils and they told me I am crazy to think this. So perhaps that's just my odd sense of smell. At any rate the smell did dissipate - scent crisis quickly averted. I highly recommend trying this if you struggle with frizz and have thick or curly hair. Yeah its spendy but I can honestly say this is a product wherein you really do get what you pay for. And that's a rarity as those who spend $$$ on hair products are well aware. This is excellent stuff and I am looking forward to trying other products (for curls, the leave ins, etc) from this brand.

About reviewer (497 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Curly, Coarse

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Immediately after I washed and blow dried my hair, I didn't see a great (if any) difference from what I get from my usual hair products - like L'Oreal Professionnel and TIGI, that are still expensive brands, but still significantly cheaper than this one. Yes, it did look good and somewhat tamed, but it wasn't the "wow, I cannot recognize my own hair" effect I expected to get, and it wasn't very different from what I get with my TIGI conditioner which is half the price. It was my second day hair that impressed me, though. It still felt as soft and looked as voluminous as if I had just washed it. I don't think any of my previous conditioners have achieved this - my second day hair usually gets back to its straw-like dry and shineless self. Overall, it is a great product but I expected much more for its hefty price. I would buy it again, but only after I try some other products in search of my HG.

About reviewer (49 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Straight, Coarse

EyesHazel