3.7

Created with Sketch.
15 reviews
60%
would repurchase
3.6/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I love it! My hair is thermally reconditioned (permanently straightened), bleached in spots and naturally very dry. I'm pretty picky when it comes to hair masks but this one delivers the moisture *as long as I leave it on long enough*. Some masks will immediately give slip, can be washed out in a minute or two, and leaving them on for extended periods doesn't seem to be of any additional benefit. This one doesn't feel like much when it first goes in my hair. It is thick but takes some time to absorb. If I used this for 3 minutes and rinsed, I would rate it as 3 stars. It takes a while, but my hair literally drinks this stuff up, which it doesn't do with all masks. I need at least 15 minutes with it, preferably with heat. This is my favorite treatment to leave on overnight.

About reviewer (307 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Olive, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

WOW! My hair is very fine and color treated....I am not a women of color but my hair needs moisture and protection...MY HAIR ATE THIS UP LIKE THE YUM YUM YUM it is!!....I have been using olaplex 1,2 and sometimes 3 (which is an emulsion of 1&2) and my hair stopped breaking and is wicked STRONG but needed a little umph...this was it...smells like delicious...works great for me!!!!

About reviewer (47 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairRed, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

Was a little skeptical to try at first because it is recommended more for textured hair and usually the ones I've tried within this category tend to weigh down my hair more than I like. But the more I smelt it the more I just had to have it. It smells intoxicating of vanilla(i am more of a fan of these types of smells..alongside coconuty and teopically like sun tan oil) like a rich deep sexy pretty vanilla smell that faintly lingers on the hair. Just enough to catch a whiff when I swish my hair. It costs about 14 bucks at target which is pretty decent for how good this works on my hair and the amount of product for how little I need! Its a nice creamy almost cake battery like consistency and spreads through my hair beautifully. Melting away tangles...i only use a little bit on ends and work a little up towards my roots where all my fly aways from breakage are. I leave it in under a plastic cap and warm towel for roughly around 45 minutes. When I rinse with cold water my hair feels like butter. Just the right amount of moisture...not weighed down at all ...actually a little more body and movement to it. When its air dried its silky smooth and shiny waves!!!!!and the SHINE omg it gives beautiful shine to my burgundy hair! I use this in rotation with a few other deep treatments weekly so its lasted me a very long time. (macadamia deep repair masque and joico k Pak intense hydrator) .. I would recommend to all hair types...i have medium long length hair with finer strands but ALOT OF HAIR (like break hair ties in the regular trying to put it up so much hair) its very dry if not properly cared for on the ends and very oily roots(this doesn't weigh down or build up on my hair and doesn't cause greasy slick roots, although I clarify weekly) also I have a few split ends and my hair is breakage prone. I would by this product time and time again!!!!!

About reviewer (9 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOily, Fair-Medium

HairRed

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I guess I'm one of the few who actually likes this stuff! I have long thick hair that is a bit damaged by both coloring and almost daily heat styling. I've been wanting to try Carol's Daughter products for quite some time and when I saw this and a few other items on clearance at Target I bought them all. I washed my hair with my usual shampoo (Biolage Hydrasource) and worked a pretty large amount of smoothie through my hair. I let it sit for about 5 or 6 minutes and rinsed. It did not leave a super slippery feeling on my hair but it wasn't difficult to comb. The real results didn't become apparent until I dried my hair. My hair is wavy and after blowdrying it straight my ends are often frizzy looking and require a pass of my flat iron to look smooth. Not this time, my hair was smooth and shiny. Frizz was reduced to almost nothing and my hair still had some movement and body. The smoothie is a bit heavy and might weigh down fine hair but on my thick hair it worked like a charm. A friend actually asked me if I had gotten my hair trimmed because the ends looked healthy. The only thing I don't love is the fragrance, it's nice but a little bit too strong and sweet. I didn't notice it lingering for long so it's not a deal breaker for me. This has definitely earned a spot in my hair mask rotation and I will buy it again!

About reviewer (134 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesGreen


2.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

Not a good deep conditioner....it didn't do much for my hair. I saw no difference

About reviewer (104 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

7 years ago

Although this product is suppose to be for African Americans, I find it's the perfect deep conditioner for my medium fine caucasian hair. I use it about once a week, and I love how soft and silky it makes my hair feel. I love the sweet vanilla scent too. I would definately encourage anyone to give this a try. You might have to adjust how much and how often you use it depending on you hair type, but I think it's worth experimenting with to find the right routine for you.

About reviewer (545 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair, Cool

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesGreen


2.0
Created with Sketch.

9 years ago

I started with the Black Vanilla shampoo and was relieved that it didn't eat my scalp alive. I was even more excited that it left my hair soft and free of tangles. I figured the condish would be just awesome and ran out and bought it. After a couple of uses, I ended up with a broken out scalp and neck. It did leave my hair looking really nice, though. At this point I am going to just let my hair tangle up into one big dread lock because I am tired of wasting money on products that don't work for me and having an angry scalp.

About reviewer (127 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlond, Curly, Fine

EyesGreen


2.0
Created with Sketch.

10 years ago

Smells super yummy! like vanilla oatmeal or something, i love it. But really its not that amazing. No mind blowing conditioning of healing effects. doesn't detangle well like it claims. Its just EH..not worth the 20 bucks. Plus you only get 8 oz..pshht thats BS

About reviewer (397 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Curly, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

10 years ago

I was suspicious of this at first -- I was looking for a replacement for the Fekkai Shea Butter conditioner they recently discontinued in Sephora stores (it's still online but I needed something immediately, down to the last drop). My hair is strong, naturally wavy and thick but heavily bleached. The associate promised this stuff wouldn't make my hair too greasy so I decided to give it a chance. I've used it three times and my hair is SO much more cooperative! I like this better than the Fekkai stuff. However, what seemed to work the best and conserve the most product is to use a basic conditioner (Fekkai Glossing for me) and use about a nickel sized dab of the smoothie with it. I do wish it came in a tube but at least with the tub you're able to use every last bit. Also, I love the smell. If you use this in small amounts the tub should last awhile, I will definitely repurchase as long as my hair is this heavily processed.

About reviewer (183 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

10 years ago

I like this product. I'm a Caucasian with fine, processed hair, with just enough natural wave to make my hair frizz. This really makes my highlights pop, give me lots of moisture, and tames the frizz. I use it with the Black Vanilla shampoo and the Black Vanilla spray conditioner. I only give it 4 stars, because I can't use this trio everyday or my hair goes flat; seems to be a bit much with time. However, it works nice in my rotation, and the price point is good for the results. I'm also using Ojon's Tawaka, Ultra Hydrating, Fekkai's Color Technician series, and Bumble & Bumble Super Rich if that helps. These products don't seem to deaden my hair quite so easily, hence the 4 stars for Carol's Daughter. However, I like the product, the results, and the price. For now, at least.

About reviewer (298 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us