DERMAdoctor Poetry In Lotion Intensive Retinol 1.0

DERMAdoctor Poetry In Lotion Intensive Retinol 1.0
image 1

4.4

25 reviews

80% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 9/20/2015 7:16:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

A lovely Ulta rep was sweet enough to send me home with a sample of this - enough to last me a few consecutive nights to try before I buy (1 oz. is $75 and is waaay above and beyond the price bracket I normally pay for skincare products). Although I'm only 21, I've favored retinol products to help diminish acne scarring and improve my skin texture and tone. Check into it!

So unto Day 3 of using Poetry in Lotion, I've only felt a slight burning sensation - normal for retinols - and very gentle peeling and flaking. Flaking skin is an expected outcome for me and is by no means a complaint - I follow up with exfoliation and really good sunscreen. Usually the flaking is patchy and awful and looks as if you have too much peach fuzz, but PiL keeps the flaking minimal and my skin still feels hydrated.

It's not as strong as I'd like it to be - I've used Skinceuticals Tri-Retinol which was considered one of the best before taken off the market - and even drugstore ones like Neutrogena's Anti-Wrinkle Night Cream. I expected 1.0% of retinol to be very potent than what I'm acclimated to, as the Skinceuticals Tri-Retinol was about .625% of retinol.



on 5/23/2015 9:58:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Recommended by the Sephora representative. Although not as strong as Peter Thomas Roth Retinol PM has terribly irritated my skin. It will take me at least two -three weeks to recover. Going back to PTR. Poetry in Lotion is going back to Sephora.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


To Read all 25 Reviews, Login or Join


Login with Google



on 3/24/2015 4:54:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Other, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am 68 years old with dark circles and wrinkles under my eyes. This product has lightened my circles and has begun to diminish the wrinkles. I am able to use this product every evening .

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other

Eyes: Green

This is one of my favorite face products ever. Like some previous reviewers,
I have tried prescription-grade retinol products in the past and have had pretty decent results
but also dryness and flaky patches. I have also tried numerous other products that claim to
even skin tone or reduce spots to no avail. I use this product mostly for the purpose for fading some stubborn acne scars. Using this has been the one thing that has made a noticeable difference in my skin. Although the results do take time, I have noticed significant lightening of
my spots as well as clearer skin in general.

Also, this product, even when used frequently, does not irritate or dry out my skin.
Yes, this is more on the expensive side, but I would repurchase this again and again ( and I have!).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/16/2013 3:52:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I decided to give this a try because its paraben free and does not test on animals. Im glad I did, I have oily combination skin thats clog prone. Im in my late 20's so my skin is not that bad, I've got large pores and some fine lines. I dont use this often but im goin to start using this 2x a week, ive had good results with this my skin always looks better after using it, I just need to becareful with how often I use this, when I first tried it I used it 3x's the first week and it was too much my skin started peeling.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Other, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Other

I had been using Skinceuticals retinol and decided on a whim to try this because it was supposed to contain anti-irritants to calm skin down. It does not cause my combination skin to break out nor does it irritate my skin. Have not noticed any difference in fine lines and wrinkles while using this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/1/2012 7:21:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is a strong retinol 1.0 treatment. After an initial rough start with this product, I was ready to give it up. The directions say to use every other day, which I did twice. I then developed a beaming red chemical burn, that lasted for a week. It flushed so red that total strangers were asking me if I was O.K. Not a pretty sight.

If it had not been a $75.00 product from Sephora I think I would have thrown it out on the spot.

When the burn subsided, I noticed my skin looking more even toned and glowy....so I gave it another shot. This time, I applied it once every 7 days. When it still looked O.K., I moved it up to every 6 days, etc.

I now am using every third night, and my skin looks amazing. It's
glowing, and my pores are much smaller. There is also a nice improvement in the fine lines around my eyes. My Dr. asked me what I was using on my face to make skin look so healthy!

Another point...the directions state to wait 20 min. after washing your face before you apply. This is an important step (and one I think I ignored the first time around)

So glad I gave this another try! Hg product for sure.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.


on 1/13/2012 11:46:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I've been using this for 2 weeks now along with the Wrinkle Revenge 1. Not sure which product is doing this for me but for the first time in many years, the texture of my face is very smooth. I normally have breakouts on my chin when that time of the month is near. Not this time, I have no breakouts whatsoever. I have some acne scarring on my right side cheek that has always bothered me. That is disappearing. For the first couple of days, I had some drying along the sides of my nose but that disappeared. I love this stuff and can't imagine not continuing to buy it.


on 1/13/2012 10:26:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Great ptoduct that is really working. This is my first experience with Retin-Retinol formulation of any kind and I have no irritation or flaking. I have combo skin with few wrinkles and this product really helps to even out my skin tone and smooth my laugh lines. First I notices the difference with the skin tone (almost right away) then, the fine lines on my forehead and around my mouth started to soften down. I been using it for about a month now and will repurchase. Paying $72 for the product that actually works makes sense to me. I can also recommend Dermadoctor website that has the most informative skincare articles. If you are looking for retinol product, try it by getting sample from Sephora andf make sure you wear 30+ sunscreen as this product make you skin sensative to the sun (you face will feel itchy if you dont use sun protection)


on 12/18/2011 7:20:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have used prescription Retin-a for years and was really tired of all the flaking and redness. Decided to try this and I LOVE it. It works as well as the prescription without all of the irritation of the prescription. I try to use it everyday but typically switch back to every other day (recommended). Definitely a must try!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Back to Top