3.7

Created with Sketch.
126 reviews
70%
would repurchase
3.5/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

7 months ago

I own 4 instylers because it is the best hair tool in the world. Everytime I see one at Tj Maxx or a thrift store I buy it because I never want to be without it. The two way one is nice but it isn’t necessary!! I can get the same look no matter which way it rotates. I’m in Cosmo school and I love the marcel but no curling iron gives me the beautiful curls this one does. This tool is amazing IF you use it right and it took me a bit to figure it out! I recommend Chloe Boucher video on her instyler curls. the video is called “big voluminous Hollywood waves”. She teaches how to use it very well and ever since I saw her video it has changed my hair life! It will give you big glam curls that last all night! No other iron lasts on my hair. I have the small one for when my hair is short and the big one for when I have extensions. The trick is to take larger sections and hold them for a while wrapped around the hot iron part. Too small of sections and sometimes it can get that fish hook. I uploaded a picture of the beautiful curls it gives me. Once you figure out how to use it I promise you’ll never regret buying it. I’m saving to buy the new version! Even my old school purple one is still kicking and it’s close to 10 years old

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinVery Dry, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown



4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This has been one of my favorite hair straightening tools for a long time. I like that I can straighten my hair but also give my hair a blow out look to it. Minus one lippie because I would have to dry my hair first and then use this, and I like being a minimalist.

About reviewer (351 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Very good hair straightener. It does not do all the things advertised by the company well. It is not good as a curling iron. Works better on my nautrally curly hair than a regular flat iron.

About reviewer (15 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Medium Brown

HairBlack

EyesOther


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

This is just okay it does minimize the amount of damage being done to your hair but it's not as nice as a lot of other curlers and straighteners. It works really well at the beginning then when it gets a bit of wear and tear on it it doesn't work as well but other than that it's great as long as you're careful not to mess it up. I got it for Christmas of 2011 and loved it. Now I still have it and I still like it but I don't love it.

About reviewer (86 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOther, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I had my instyler for over five years and loved it, as a straightening tool. If you're buying it as a 2-in-1 product to curl and straighten you'll be disappointed. The curl is hard to do, and very loose. More like a wave. Works fantastic as a straightener, I don't use flat irons anymore.

About reviewer (15 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Dark, Warm

HairBlack, Curly, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

If you look at my profile pic, you will see that I have bleached blond fine hair. This has always been a problem when it comes to straightening irons and super heated appliances. I purchased my InStyler for about $120 Australian, so I was pretty determined that I was going to get some use out of it. Now here's the thing. Your hair must be completely dry when you use it. The first time I used it, my hair was touch dry. I had used a hair dryer until I was certain my hair was dry. Because It still had a tiny bit of moisture in it, I could see steam coming off my hair as I ran the InStyler through it. This was on the lowest setting!!!! The end result was horrible and I almost gave up. The next time I used it, I washed my hair the night before, making sure to condition really well and put product in. When I woke up, my hair was completely dry and I tried the InStyler again. Wow! What a difference. This time there was no steam and the hair actually looked smoother. So here are my tips, particularly for ladies with fine, damaged or bleached hair. The first tip is to use the lowest setting. It is still pretty hot, but the higher settings are going to cause damage. My second tip is that your hair must be completely dry. Completely dry means no moisture at all!!!! My third tip is to run the InStyler through each section slowly. I know it seems counterintuitive to leave a hot appliance on bleached or damaged hair, but it means that you get the result first time without having to run it through your hair multiple times. I do love my InStyler and will use it from now on. I figure it is better for my hair than my blow dryer and it is really quick if you wash your hair the night before. It takes about 10 minutes to do my hair.

About reviewer (83 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Not Sure

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

For me this is only a one lippie product. On my uber fine waves, it was burning my hair even on the half way setting! I have never had this issue even with my Sedu flat iron. It also worked no better than my Sedu. So my crazy fine wavy locks looked fried and blah. Not for me at all Now, for my cousin who has Rosanna Rosanna Danna hair...super, crazy out of control thick coarse hair....it works wonders at taming her mane...even better than any flat iron ever could. Her hair is left glossy and smooth...better than I have ever seen it in her 43 years. So that is that. I wouldn't touch this again with a 10 foot pole for my fine & tender locks. But I would definitely recommend it to those with hair like my cousins.

About reviewer (1199 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

A TON of hype for this product. it's a little ridiculous. After seeing the ads over and over i finally bought it myself. Huge waste of money, burns my hair and leaves it looking shapeless and dry. Simply a bad product. Ive had it for 2 years now... and every now and then i take it out and try it to convince myself maybe i didnt use it right, such a shame i never use such an expensive product. and then im reminded what c*** it is. so just advice for the rest of you ladies, dont buy this.

About reviewer (14 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

SERIOUSLY this hair styler changed the way I do my hair for the rest of my life. I could never figure out a way to blow dry my hair voluminous and bouncy like the hairdresser, and so I bought this. Best decision of my life. It is so easy to use and makes my hair look blow dried perfect. My hair is naturally wavy and very thick and I have no issues with this tool.

About reviewer (17 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesGray


2.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

When I first got this, my medium-long, thick, slightly wavy hair was all one length. Since it tends to get frizzy and I'm not the biggest fan of flat irons, I decided to give this a try. This doesn't really do what I'd call straightening. Straightened hair tends to look like it's actually been ironed. It's flat, sleek, and smooth. This tool did tame my frizzies and fly-aways pretty nicely, but it doesn't give that flat ironed look. There's much more volume with this than with a flat iron. So if that's the look you want, i.e. reasonably smooth but with lots of volume, definitely give this a try. If you're looking for actual straightening, you're probably better off with a proper flat iron. Since I got this, I got my hair cut. Had some of the length taken off, though it's still past my shoulders, and I had textured layers put throughout. And now, this product isn't that useful to me, unfortunately. The layers make my hair much less prone to frizzing up (the layers curl instead; when the hair is long, the weight prevents the curling and just gets frizzy-puffy), so I don't need this for that, and, as I have never managed to get the "curling" aspect of this device to work for me, I can't use it to shape the layers (and I have the 1.25"/32mm version and the barrel is too big to do much for the shorter layers). I've been using curling irons, hot rollers, regular rollers, and all sorts of other hair appliances for 35+ years now, but I just cannot seem to get the twirling motion needed to make a curl with this thing. I can use a clipless curling wand perfectly, no problem, so I definitely know how to wrap the hair, but this? Nup. Can't get a curl with it. Have reviewed a number of websites and I don't even know how many YouTube videos trying to figure it out, and it's just not happening. Well, actually, on a couple of occasions I've managed to get a bit of a curl going, but any curls or waves I do manage to get don't last long, sadly. So as a curler, I have to say this is pretty useless for me. I know some people absolutely love it and can make amazing beachy waves and who knows what else, but I just can't seem to get it, sadly. So, for me, there's no way this is worth the full asking price. It's okay to get rid of frizzies and does a reasonably good job of that, but that's all I really used it for, and it's actually not my favourite tool for doing that, mostly because this, with the rotating motor, is on the noisy side (my favourite tool for smoothing my hair is an ionic heated round brush). This is an okay tool, but I'm glad I got it second hand on eBay rather than paying full price for it new. If I had paid the full price, I'd feel really ripped off. I may, one day, work out how to do waves/curls with it (I'm going to keep trying!), but like all products from this company, it's way overpriced and somewhat overhyped.

About reviewer (301 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair, Cool

HairGrey, Wavy, Other

EyesHazel




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us