3.9

Created with Sketch.
14 reviews
71%
would repurchase
4.3/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

This stuff is amazing. It honest to god works! I have pretty thin lips and although this stuff isn’t going to do the job of lip fillers, it does make them more full. They actually FEEL like different (plumper) lips. As for the price ....$20 is pretty decent. We spend more than that for lip gloss plumpers that you have to reapply throughout the day. This is just when you wake up and go to sleep and it keeps doing it’s thing all day. I am hooked for life!

About reviewer (8 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesGreen



5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Maybe I was sold too quickly... but I'm sold. I have been using this for short of two weeks and can see a difference in the lines that were forming on my lips - this includes when my lips are bare, and under my favorite MAC matte lipsticks. The visible difference in such a short amount of time does lead me to think that the difference is simply cosmetic trickery, but regardless, I will keep using. While I need a lip balm over this, I am always worried that a product like aquaphor will "neutralize" the effect of the PTR Unwrinkle product, so I like to apply and then wait a bit before layering a lip moisturizer over. This is the first Peter Thomas Roth product that I have used, and it is also the fastest acting (non-prescription) skincare product that I have tried. I will be purchasing the line's eye cream next, and am hoping that in combination with fillers and Botox, I will see great results.

About reviewer (7 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Dark

HairOther

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

I've been using this stuff faithfully every night for about 5 years, and I can say that although the results are subtle, they are there. I started when I noticed dark and/or glossy lip products feathering in the tiny vertical lines around my lips- the vermillion border, since I've always wanted to throw that into a sentence :) I read up on lip treatments, and was interested in the PTR product specifically because of the high percentage of peptides in the ingredient list. I'm not sure that there is a huge amount of data on peptides as a proven treatment for fine lines and wrinkles, but it's better than being charged an arm and a leg for a product that only moisturizes, and there is at least some published material that suggests a degree of efficacy in the role of topical peptides as an anti-aging treatment. At any rate, the fine lines around my mouth are effectively non-existent now, and I no longer have any issue with lip products feathering. If this product *didn't* work, you'd expect at least no change, if not an outright increase in lines after 5 years. Of course, there is no plumping effect, but if you expect a topical product to change the shape of your mouth, you need to check your expectations anyway. It's not extremely moisturizing, but I usually counter this by slathering on some occlusive balm over it before going to bed. My only other complaint is that it's very difficult to tell how much is left in the pump, and suspect that quite a bit of product is left when the pump goes out. It would be nice if there was a clear plastic window to see the level of product left, but since I'm otherwise happy with the product, I just knocked a lippie off the packaging score. I do appreciate the airtight pump, and consider the packaging issue to be very minor.

About reviewer (81 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinVery Oily, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I love this product. I have dry skin and I apply this at night, sometimes during the morning too and its keeps my lipsticks smooth. I bought this last year and have been using it for almost 1.5 years now its lasted me that long! I used it all winter and didn't suffer from peeling lips once. It doesn't FEEL overly hydrating...its strange, its a little tingly but it must be working because usually I experience peeling lips a few times every winter. I have a thinner upper lip and since using this consistently, I feel like its a little more full from being constantly hydrated. The packaging sucks and there's a learning curve to not push too much out. You have to be ginger with it. I will definitely buy again.

About reviewer (42 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinVery Oily, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I love this lip product, but I don't think of it as for chapped lips. It is really more of a lip moisturizer so you don't get vertical lines. It works great for that. Perhaps it is a bit of a lip plumper as well, since it gives you a bit of a tingle. In fact, it would probably sting if you had capped lips. I use it as preventive care, a moisturizer for the lips, and I have been able to stave off any noticeable wrinkles. Perhaps it is genetics, but perhaps it is this cream. I like to think that, because then that means I got my money's worth!

About reviewer (27 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinVery Dry, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Curly, Fine

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I have chronically dry lips and am starting to get vertical lines in my lips from age, so I thought I'd try this. Unfortunately it did absolutely nothing for me but leave a nasty white film on my lips. If I used lipstick within a few hours of applying this, the lipstick collected in my lip lines- it looked horrible! As previous posters have stated, about half a pump is all that is necessary to cover your lips. I'm glad this product works for some people, but it was not worth the waste of money for me. I did use the entire bottle.

About reviewer (33 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairRed, Relaxed, Medium

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

My lip is not dry or problematic. But I just bought this for fun. I used it but I did not really see any difference it makes. One thing I might have done wrong is that I only put it on my lips not around the mouth along the lip line areas. Maybe?? So I am not sure if it does anything if you have normal lips. I think I will only recommend this product to someone who like my friend, always has chap lips and her lips are always peeling. If you are like me, you probably do not need this. Good luck girls!

About reviewer (28 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

I have used and compared this lip product with quite a few others and so far, for me, it's the best of the bunch. The other ones I've tried include (but are not limited to) Kanebo Total Lip, LipSmart, Dr. Perricone, Dr. Kaplan, ReVive, Guerlain, YSL, Chanel, Dior, Aveeno, Aveda and a few others I can't recall off hand. This stuff is just great and I will buy it again! Comes in a nice pump bottle and just the right amount comes out so there's no waste, either!

About reviewer (380 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinVery Dry, Fair, Neutral

HairOther, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel


1.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

I've been using this product for about 7 weeks now and see absolutely no improvement for lip wrinkles, which, is what the product advertises. I wasted my money on this product. Should have read the reviews before buying!

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairRed

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 years ago

This is a miracle product for me. It keeps my lips moist and exfoliates them without irritation. Before using this my lips were chronically dry and chapped. I developed reactions to other products, probably because I was putting them on about 30 times a day. With PTR Un-Wrinkle, I use it twice a day as suggested and my lips are moist and plump. I don't use this for wrinkles, so I don't know if it fulfills that promise but it's great for gentle hydration and exfoliation. After you put it on there's a tingling sensation for about a minute which I like because I feel like it's working. The pump dispenser is great because it's hygienic, although one pump gives you slightly more product than you need but it absorbs so easily, a little extra isn't a bad thing (try 1/2 pump, I think that's perfect for one use). The price is a little high, I bought it at Sephora for $30 for .34 fl oz.But since it's the first thing that's worked on my lips in ages the price doesn't really bother me. I will definitely buy this again!

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Dark, Warm

HairBrunette, Curly, Other

EyesBrown




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us