Bobbi Brown Long Wear Cream Eye Shadow in Malted

Bobbi Brown Long Wear Cream Eye Shadow in Malted
Long Wear Cream Eye Shadow in Malted Long Wear Cream Eye Shadow in Malted

4.9

16 reviews

93% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS


Start your review


on 11/23/2016 5:25:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is my second pot of Malted. I am NC20-NC25 and this is a light neutral color on my lids. Generally, I like the formula and its long wear, the packaging forces you to use a brush only and that is a bit harder than being able to use your fingers. It is really long wearing - no problems with creasing on my oily-normal skin. It fades a little after 6 hours or so.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.



on 4/26/2016 2:37:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Silver, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Grey

Wow. I really really wanted to love this; I bought based on reviews here. I'm giving it 3 lippies for not being irritating. But...no matter how carefully I apply it, powder shadows don't blend well over it. Really made a mess Saturday morning, of course when I was in a rush and couldn't start over. Maybe I'll try it on its own, or with just a wash color (rather than a dark crease, where blending well is important). But thus far, the best I can say is Meh. Especially since I have plenty of primers that do allow proper blending, I can't see myself reaching for this very often, which is very disappointing considering the high cost.

2 of 3 people found this helpful.


To Read all 16 Reviews, Login or Join


Login with Google



on 12/9/2015 4:22:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I went through an entire glass jar of this and bought a second one. Bobbi's cream shadows are wonderful. The cream, non-shimmer shades do not flake or crease. Some of the metallic shades do not wear well and look messy; they have a different formula that is less reliable. Malted, Bone, Cement, and Shore are all excellent skin shades for fair complexions that provide a natural base for your lids. Those shades look like flesh rather than makeup. You can apply one of these colors and be done for an au naturel look as if you woke up with perfect lids looking gorgeous, or you can apply darker colors over it. I have frequently gotten by with just Malted and a medium brown crease color, eyeliner, mascara. Sometimes I apply powder shadow over the cream shadow or I take a cream shadow stick (her retractable eye crayons) and smudge it over the outer third of the lid with my fingers. Bone is the lightest and is a great base color but has a definite yellow undertone. Malted is a little darker but still very light and is pinker than Bone or Shore, but not as pink as Ballet Pink. Ballet Pink ended up being too pink for me even though I did use up a jar of that as well. I find that the darker colors I've owned are not as versatile, are harder to blend and I don't use them up. However, I've gone through countless jars of Bone and at least three jars of Shore. Shore is a yellow-based beige that is slightly deeper than Bone. Shore is similar to Cafe Latte in Illuminare's mineral cream shadows. Bobbi Brown's cream shadows have a perfect long-wearing formula that does not fade or crease. I hated BeneFit's cream shadows. They did not wear well and they creased like the devil. I miss Bobbi's Navajo, which was a cooler shade of ivory than Bone. It was discontinued. I used to have both and alternated based on my other makeup and wardrobe selections. I bought Bobbi's Cream Shadow Brush to apply these, and because of the jar packaging, I find this is the best method of application. When you are down to the last bit of product at the bottom of the jar, the rounded brush is excellent for digging out the last precious smidgen of color.

11 of 12 people found this helpful.


on 9/1/2015 6:56:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I am nw20, deep soft winter (almost black hair, brown eyes). I have been wearing Shore as my one stop shop eye lid brightening look for years (hide veins & darkness in deep set eyes). In the winter though, it felt too yellow, so I tried Cement. It worked well during the winter months; it looked slightly gray but it worked in the winter. I never chose Malted because it looked too brownish when I swatched it on my hand, even though in my head I knew it was the slightly more pink toned of the three "my lids but better shades" (Cement = neutral greige, Shore = neutral but skewing ever slightly yellow beige, and Malted = neutral with a slight pink beige tone). But for this fall/winter, I decided to try Malted. I don't want to speak too soon, but I started wearing this in August and it looks perfect. Malted is the perfect happy medium between Shore and Cement. And quite honestly, I am afraid I may never touch my Shore again. Malted still gives me a bright eyed look, but gives an iota bit more contour to my eye in the summer months. Once my full paleness takes over it will match my skin tone.

I usually just wear one of these, liner and mascara and let my blush and lip provide the color. This look gives me big bright Disney eyes (plus I am horrible at eye shadow application) and it works so well to take the focus away from my dark under eye circles. I love these Bobbi Brown neutrals for this purpose. Whether you skew greige (Cement), pinkish beige (Malted), slightly warmer (Shore) or more brown (not sure what shade to rec'd here but they have amazing shades), these cream e/s give you a clean, simple polished eye. These shades are how I always start my day. If I want to add other shadows later, they play very nice with layering. I am not a huge BB fan, but I LOVE these they are my HG. And I love them way more than MAC Paint Pots (none of the neutral colors sit right way too yellow or way too pink), Benefit Creaseless Creams (way too shimmery and no basic mattes as of this review), and Maybelline Color Tattoos (2nd choice probably). The BB Long Wear Cream e/s are always creamy and easy to use even after sitting around for a year! I'm a fan of these...can you tell?

4 of 5 people found this helpful.


on 7/31/2012 5:43:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Love this shade! I tried Shore first and tried very hard to love it, but it always ended up looking like I was wearing concealer on my lids. Malted is the perfect shade--maybe slightly more pink (in a good way) and just looks like nice, even lids when worn alone. Easy to layer other shades over this, as it is very neutral. Perfect in every way.

4 of 4 people found this helpful.


on 5/3/2012 11:57:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've had this product for a few years, and it's my go-to summer shadow. It really doesn't budge, and could even work as a primer/base. On really hot days it might crease in my lids, but only after a long day.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This pale neutral colour really "wakes up" lids in the most natural and flattering way. Typically these lid colours are too yellow or pink. This one does have a smidge of a pink undertone but to the right degree. I pair this with Berry Noir in the crease and the new long lasting Mahoghany liner which is very close to Caviar gel liner but without any of the hassle. This look is the perfect balance for a red lip.

6 of 6 people found this helpful.


on 3/31/2012 4:17:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Never in a trillion years would I have chosen this shade for myself, but as I explained that I was looking for a shade that would knock back the darkness on my eyelids but not look artificially bright, the SA at the counter recommended I try this. Had I not let her apply it, I would have never believed how incredibly effective this is at doing just that - my eyelids but oh so much better. (I thought I was more of "Shore" type) Prior to this product, I had to use 3-4 (corrector, primer, shadow, sometimes powder) to achieve a similar effect - and that would inevitably crease within a few hours. If I want to brighten the area, I can add some paler eye shadow but on its own, its really great as well. Adding a touch of shimmer in the inner corners really brings this to life. (I get the type of look that the model in the Brightening Nudes ad has). Inevitably, I need less concealer as well - always good!

I am NC/NW20 and find the shade more "pinky nude" than "mocha beige". This is the one product I am willing to let awful packaging slide because its just so effective at cancelling my eye circle/darkness. If you too suffer from this, don't let the unexciting nature of the colour distract you - please do try it to see if its as successful as it has been for me.

9 of 9 people found this helpful.


on 6/12/2011 2:02:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I originally gave this 5 lippies, changed it to 2 lippies, now I'm changing it back to 5 lippies. I thought this was creasing on me, but it turns out that you have to put on a light coat for it not to crease. If I do one light coat, wait awhile, then put another light coat over it, it won't crease. Malted is a matte cream shadow. On me, it just shows up the same color as my skintone (I'm an NC25 for reference). These cream shadows seem to hold the color of whatever powder shadows I apply over them better than a regular primer. There is .12 oz of product in this compared to .17 oz in a MAC paint pot.

6 of 6 people found this helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Malted is the perfect neutral color for my lids. When I want to look like I am not wearing any shadow, I wear Malted. It never creases on me, and keeps my oily eyelids from causing my powder shadows to crease. So, sometimes I use it as a base for powder eye shadows. Malted makes my eyes look like the rest of my skin. My eyelids have darkened from age, but when I put Malted on, it looks like the way my eyelids looked in their 20's. This is such a versatile color because it can be used more than one way; I will definitely repurchase this product.

6 of 7 people found this helpful.

Back to Top