Bobbi Brown Long Wear Cream Eye Shadow in Heather

Bobbi Brown Long Wear Cream Eye Shadow in Heather
image 1

4.3

20 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/6/2016 11:30:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Nice grayed violet shade, neutral, but found I just didn't reach for it enough. Not enough contrast for blue eyes. And I have an issue with this formulation drying out long before I"m done with it.



Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

It's a lovely shade, that on my slightly pinkish skin provides a very natural, work-appropriate eye look, especially for autumn/ winter. For me it works better than grey. It also lasts a long time (about 10 hours) without creasing and is easy to blend.


To Read all 20 Reviews, Login or Join


Login with Google



on 1/19/2013 10:06:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Bone cream shadow on brow. This on lid. Cream shadow stick in violet plum around eye smoked out makes my hazel eyes look GREEEEN.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/6/2012 2:57:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I toyed with the idea of getting one (or two...or three, as it transpired) of the Bobbi Brown Long Wear Eyeshadows just recently, and convinced myself that Orchid would be the perfect shade for me - until I saw Heather on a girl with an NC25-ish oriental skintone and realised just how flattering it was. Being of half oriental/half caucasian descent with NC20-25 / fair-medium warm tones myself, I knew then that I had to get my hands on Heather!

What I love about this colour is the easy-glide, slippable, non-crease texture and the gorgeous, yet subtle, tones. Heather is a very slightly warmed grey-purple that perfectly neutralises the reddish tones of my lids and makes my dark brown eyes look really fresh and striking. It applies like a dream; I apply with a brush for a heavier swatch of colour, or with a finger if I am in a rush/for everyday wear, and both are a breeze. If I layer too much on it starts to look a little dark and bruisy, so I do prefer to have a light/medium wash. Paired with a black liner and mascara this is without fail my daily staple - subtle enough to wear to work, but offering a refreshing alternative to browns/greys. Paired with Sand Dollar on the inner corners of the eye this is a really flattering shade.

The product comes in a small glass bottle, essentially a squared version of the BB eyeliner pot - but with a smaller neck. As some have already mentioned it is tricky to fit a fingertip into the pot once you've depleted the product beyond the top of the neck, which is a bit of a nuisance.

The product does not transfer, and lasts around 5 hours for me without a primer - and I do have oily lids. There is no product left on my lids by the end of the day; however, it does wear quite evenly, and I have never experienced any creasing or clumping.

I heartily recommend this shade to anyone with a skintone in the region of NC20-25, as it's a beautiful colour that is universally flattering to all eye colours. I personally doubt that this colour would be as flattering to cooler skintones, where it might clash a little with the pink undertone and look a little dingy.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 6/17/2011 2:09:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I LOVE this cream eyeshadow color. It was recommended to me as a good "everyday neutral" color. I use it a wash on my lid over "shore" cream shadow, which I use from lash to eyebrow to even out my discolored, reddish eyelids . I get PERFECT results. I have VERY oily lids. If I use a tiny bit of eye primer (LORAC, excellent stuff by the way) it lasts until I take it off, usually 14-16 hours later. A couple of times I forgot to use primer, and it was very very slightly creased. I would say you don't really need to use the primer. You do have to work with it quickly because it does set rather fast. Love the glass jar, but prefer a snap-close lid to close the lid between layering the buildable color. And yes, it's a good everyday neutral.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/5/2011 3:19:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is almost the same color as Urban Decay's Heist eye shadow. This is a purple/gray matte cream shadow. I originally gave this 5 lippies, changed it to 2 lippies, now I'm changing it back to 5 lippies. I thought this was creasing on me, but it turns out that you have to put on a light coat for it not to crease. If I do one light coat, wait awhile, then put another light coat over it, it won't crease. I feel like the idea of matte cream shadow is genius. These cream shadows seem to hold the color of whatever powder shadows I apply over them better than a regular primer. There is .12 oz of product in this compared to .17 oz in a MAC paint pot.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/11/2011 3:27:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Other, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I didn't like it! It was very pale and sickly... it looked grey. Not too pigmented, had a very powdery, streaky finish. I don't like the packaging, the jar is small and makes it hard to get the product out. It claims to be a warm mauve, but I feel it has more of a cool undertone.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

I simply love this colour on me. I own three BB cream eyeshadows in Black Pearl, Pink Oyster and Heather.

Heather is truly the most wonderful long wear cream eye shadow from Bobbi Brown. There is something in the formulation that makes this shade the most trusty cream shadow in my collection!

Pros:
1. Lovely colour on me (I'm Chanel Foundation #40)
2. Does not budge at all!! After a long 10-11 hr days, creasing is minimal (at the very worst)
3. You get a lot of product in one pot
4. Buildable colour

Cons:
1. Price a little expensive

I highly recommend this product! It is lovely on and my go-to colour when I am literally rushing out the door.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/26/2010 12:52:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Heather is my favorite cream eyeshadow (along with Slate). It seems that reviewers either love it or hate Heather, so I am guessing anyone darker than fair-medium is giving it a pass. To be sure, it is subtle. On me, Heather is a soft, neutral greyed plum that is much lighter in intensity than the powder version. It is matte but not flat, and its cream-to-powder formulation is lovely to work with, stays put all day without creasing or rubbing off, and does not dry my lids, like MAC Paint Pots do. For a subtle, everyday look, I wear Heather on the lid, blended up into the crease. It doesn't get much easier than that.

I prefer that my cream shadows be packaged in glass pots because cream shadow in plastic pots dries out more quickly. Plus, I'm just sick of plastic everything. That said, the mouth of the Bobbi Brown cream shadow could stand to be a little wider to accommodate more of my fingertip. (The packaging for Benefit's Creaseless Cream shadows, for example, is ideal.) It can be rather tricky when the product is getting low not to get any under my fingernails. I own the BB cream shadow brush, but I hardly ever use it because I prefer to apply cream products with my hands, as the warmth from my skin helps blend the product more seamlessly, and I can apply it in several sheer layers. I said I would buy again, and I hope I get the chance before they discontinue it after reading a review that said Heather had been d/c in the UK. Boo!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 12/26/2010 7:16:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Got this for Christmas, thanks to ebay, as it's now discontinued in the UK. All I can say to that is WHY? It's a beautiful slightly silver-toned neutral pale purple; no overt shimmer but it has a very subtle glow to it. Have found that it wears beautifully, easy to apply with a finger, flatters my hazel eyes and pale skin that can't take too much colour. It layers well so you can control the coverage. I'm bemused that such horrible looking colours as orchid and steel have been kept over this. (Well, yes, I'm sure they suit lots of people, but I'm sure this does as well.) I would repurchase - if I could.
EDIT: since writing this, I've noticed Heather back on the UK website from time to time (it comes and goes). Go figure - they replied to an email saying it was discontinued. Glad someone seems to have changed their mind.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Back to Top