Allure magazine

 Allure magazine

2.4

30 reviews

33% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Where to Buy



Start your review


on 8/6/2018 4:45:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Michelle Lee is a genius! I've been loving this magazine since she took over. It's the only magazine I read anymore.



on 8/6/2018 4:36:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Allure has never been better since Linda Wells left. My only complaint is that they can't fire her again.


on 8/6/2018 3:49:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Since Linda Wells left as editor, this magazine has gone steadily downhill.
Articles that are worthless in the real world. This is a beauty magazine.
I want articles that are useful, like before.
Not obtuse, hip, politically correct stories They are boring and who
really cares? And each issue keeps getting
thinner and thinner. Stop trying to be so politically correct and get
back to being a beauty magazine!


Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I started reading Allure 21 years ago when I was 15. As others have said, it is nothing like it used to be. Linda Wells founded the magazine and she was a wonderful editor. I literally learned how to apply makeup by reading her magazine. I learned a lot about other things too. If they’re now just trying to target a younger audience, they didn’t need to! Like I said, I bought, read and enjoyed it just the way that it was (and should still be!) when I was 15, 21 and 31.
If I wanted to read about sex toys and relationships, popular movies and celebrities, I could read Cosmopolitan. Unfortunately, Allure is now just another Cosmopolitan. We don’t need that, we already have it and many other magazines like it. I will definitely not renew my subscription. The only “beauty advice” printed is just glorified advertisements paid for by manufacturers to have their products praised.

12 of 14 people found this helpful.


on 8/3/2018 3:56:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

Yes I agree with all the other reviewers here that Allure's best years are over. Michelle Lee has taken a remarkable magazine and destroyed it. Not only have the best picks and in-depth descriptions on new products and cosmetic science been stripped out, but most of the the biggest advertisers (Estee Lauder) have dropped Allure too. I am letting my subscription lapse as well as it's not even worth a dollar an issue.

8 of 10 people found this helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I could not agree more with the comments here about Allure Magazine. I have been reading this since high school, which sadly was over 20 years ago. I lived for the tips, tricks and beauty transformations. I lived in a rural area with no shopping, so I would literally cut out pictures of the beauty products featured, and save them for when I went to a city where I could shop for them. (How did we live before the internet?)

I credit this magazine for helping me cope with the awkward years where I was trying to find my makeup style. As the years progressed, I would read every page interested in the latest science and beauty breakthroughs, and then continue my research on line. I have spent a fortune on beauty products that were "coveted" or "cult favorites" according to Allure. Some worked out, others not so much, but there was always the possibility of finding that one product that would transform. I enjoyed the monthly column by Linda Wells. With all her access to the best, she somehow seemed humble and like someone I'd like to chat up in the elevator.

Cut to her departure, and the magazine has taken a complete nose-dive. The Beauty-related advice and information that once filled the pages has become useless drivel injected with politics and nothing but ads. I attributed my lack of interest in the magazine as a subtle acknowledgement that I had aged out of Allure. However, despite my age (mid-40's), I would think I was their target audience. I am beyond a beauty enthusiast, I am obsessed with makeup, skincare and hair care and I have more disposable income to spend than I did in my 20's. All those anti-aging creams and potions are firmly in my wheelhouse. (Oh, wait, Allure actually banned the term "anti-aging" from their pages). Yet, there is absolutely nothing in the pages I can relate to. I have kept my subscription for the past year or so out of nostalgia, but it is time to let it go. I wish there was a way to save the magazine, but New Beauty offers more of what I want in a Beauty Authority.

11 of 12 people found this helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Used to be a huge fan of Allure Magazine. Now in the last year or so, I hate it. Does not have beauty articles or new products as it's focus. It is almost an afterthought now. Seems it is geared toward lip piercing 20 year old readers who are trying to find their purpose in life. An Ebony magazine Jr.

I am all in favor of diversity, but this is not the magazine for that. It is supposed to be a beauty magazine with tips and ratings, now it is so far out there with irrelevant bland articles, it has lost its' mission as a go-to magazine for beauty information.

I did like the celebrity stories/interviews when they featured old photos of them, and the stars would comment about their old pictures. That was fun.

Now the photos are close ups of freckles or frizzed out hair of people I have never heard of.

Am cancelling my Allure subscription, it has become useless.

11 of 17 people found this helpful.


on 5/18/2018 9:29:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I only would read the October issue for the best of beauty products in skincare & makeup 💄 for the year! It's really the only month that's worth reading 📖! ! I think 💭 I once had a subscription for it as a free offer from some Clinique bonus gift 🎁 I got! But otherwise would never pay for a subscription of a magazine for nothing I useful but looking at advertisements! LOL


on 10/9/2017 6:31:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I've read Allure faithfully for years, but since Linda Wells is gone, this magazine has really gone down the tubes. It use to be a beauty magazine. Now it's very political. It's all about vaginal steaming and planned parenthood. I don't feel like I'm getting insider beauty advise anymore. The product selections are obviously advertisements. The magazine has become very thin. This use to be my favorite magazine, but not anymore. I've let my subscription lapse.

17 of 24 people found this helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Dying print media and no wonder.


Where to Buy



Back to Top